We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming and cosy”

The Old School - Tebay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School - Tebay
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tebay
Certificate of Excellence
Tel aviv
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“charming and cosy”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

we had such a lovely stay! we were lucky to have a very big room. it was vey spacious and cosy and comfortable.skylight windows from which you can look at the sky. very clean. very comfortable big bed. nice bathroom. nice dining room with a very familiar air to it. dinner was great and breakfast too. probably the best home-baked bread i have ever eaten! baked by steve, the host.
lovely, friendly and attentive hosts!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
21
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had just come back from Ireland where the hospitality was .great The Old school in contrast felt a bit like the marie celeste.I was lookiing for a budget b&b.The Old School offered no tv, no wi-fi, no biscuits in the room , the meet and greet was almost non existent- fair enough if this was budget,but what was on offer was not clear .i was quoted 49 pounds by the husband but charged 70 by the wife! This was despite the fact we had chosen only to have tea and toast for breakfast..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eggbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leucadia, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived Orton soaking wet. Our host, steve, picked us up at the Chocolate Factory at the appointed time and brought us to Tebay to his B&B. He was very helpful letting us dry our clothes in front of the fire, making us tea and a great dinner. In the morning he drove us back to the trail.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayanNawa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi, glad to have been of service. We aim to please even if it is just wringing you out and hanging you up to dry! Hope you enjoyed the rest of the walk. Steve and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were booked here by Macs on our C2C walk and were very disappointed to be so far from the lovely village of Orton where we had finished hiking for the day and instead to be located in Tebay several miles away and right on the M6. This may have influenced our feelings about this B and B. The room we were given was small and bare while the lounge and dining areas were fairly cluttered although not messy as one previous reviewer found. There was a strange odour on the ground floor and corridors and the building was quite hot as the chip heater in the lounge doubled as the water heater so had to be running despite the warm weather we experienced. The building is currently undergoing renovations which may improve things , just now it has a slightly run down feel. We ate at the local pub which was atmospheric but expensive with a screen blocking the lovely view looking back to the lakes and a full view of the M6!
Breakfast at the B and B was fine and the owner kindly drove us back to Orton to resume our walk.
Overall this was our least favourite stay on the coast to coast , partly because of the location and partly because we did not find the accommodation appealing. Other walkers told us the George in Orton was fine although apparently Macs has received negative reports about this pub in the past which is why they book the school house in Tebay for their clients.

Room Tip: if you are walking the C2C and plan to break the journey from Shap to Kirkby S tephen it's much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffKarenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
HI, we're sorry you didn't have an ideal stay. In answer to your point about staying in Orton, you are right in that it is a beautiful little village however it has very limited accommodation. With the CtoC being so popular it is very difficult to accommodate everyone which is one of the reasons Macs use The Old school located 2 miles from Orton. The other reason is that we do offer good value for money and bend over backwards to look after our tired, often soggy, guests.
We are located near the M6, ideal for many travellers, however we do not overlook the motorway and are not affected by noise.
Our apologies if there were cooking smells. We do cater for evening meals and have a tea room so bake fresh every day. It is our aim to keep the building smelling nice eg burning scented candles after cooking.
Most of our guests, when surveyed, prefer to have rooms free from trinkets and clutter leaving room for their own belongings. Downstairs we aim to reflect the Victorian heritage of the building hence the embroidered tablecloths and china tea services. I understand this may not be to everyones taste.
We try to reduce the carbon impact of our business in many ways. One of these is the biomass boiler. It does heat water but we have a back up gas boiler. If we are aware of the room becoming overheated we do turn it off but usually opening the window is adequate. A north facing room in Tebay needs all the help it can get! It is also very useful in getting walkers gear dry and ready for the next day as a fellow review has commented on alongside this review.
I am unable to comment on your experience at the Cross Keys pub as we are not linked in anyway. We offer an evening meal menu which is home cooked using local ingredients and is good value for money.
It's always upsetting that people haven't enjoyed their stay so you have our apologies. Steve and Jo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Having just spent all day walking in over the moors in pouring rain on a coast 2coast walk we ( my wife and dog ) all soaking wet to the skin, literally arrived at near by Orton to be refused refugee in the pub. A call to Jo was meet with an ideal response, she was there to rescue us within a matter of minuets. A towel and old blanket provided for the dog was just the first many nice touches that were given . On arrival she assisted us with sorting all our wet kit and even did a load of washing for us. Nothing was too much trouble . A friendly comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pato011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi, thanks for the review. It was rather a wet day. Hope the rest of the walk was less damp. Steve and Jo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very average accommodation.
Very over priced compared to the orher six weeks of accommodation we had during our six weeks in England. We had to ask twice for a new roll of toilet paper.
Lounge room was messy and did not appear to be cleaned or tidied during our two nights stay. We had intended staying three nights but left after two.
Breakfast was adequate but nowhere near the standard of the other bnbs we stayed in some of which were less than the price we paid here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 948Jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi Jennifer. Firstly may I say how sorry we are that you were so disappointed. We always try to please our guests and are unhappy when we fail to do that. I will try to run through your complaints one by one but I am unable to place your booking as i cannot remember anyone who left earlier than their planned stay, please accept another apology, even after checking our bookings for July. As a result I will have to be a bit generic!
Firstly you complain that the accommodation is overpriced. We aim to offer value for money. Our rate is £30pppn with good deals for family rooms and group bookings. We are one of the lowest cost accommodation providers in the area offering clean, comfortable, homely rooms which our guests mostly love.
I'm sorry you had to ask twice for a loo roll, as I can't remember the incident I can make no excuses, only apologise - must have been a "senior" moment!
As to the lounge being messy, we endeavour to keep all rooms clean and tidy at all times. However the lounge is a public guest area and subject to lots of use at times. All public areas are checked daily - usually more than once. I'm sorry it wasn't up to standard during your stay.
I am especially suprised and disappointed that you were unhappy with breakfast which is included in the room rate. We offer a choice of cereals, juices, proper leaf tea, our own special blend coffee, local sausage, free range eggs, bacon, fresh tomato and mushroom, toast, butter, jam and marmalade as standard. We also provide croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurt, porridge and will try to provide most things on request. We cater for gluten free, dairy free and vegetarian diets. We have even cooked curried vegetables and spiced omelette for guests. We are sorry we were unable to please you on this occassion.
As ever it is impossible to rectify mistakes and address problems once the date has passed but I hope that our apologies go some way towards easing your disappointment. Jo and Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

called in for a cuppa after walking up the lovely valley of borrowdale. (the one at tebay) My huband is a coilic and was pleasantly surprised they had a good choice of cakes as their daughter is coilic also. teapot and cups all mismatched china but nothing is better than a cup of tea out of china and with the best water in england.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember03312015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the walking and very pleased that you enjoyed your refreshments afterwards. We do like to think of ourselves as welcoming to all customers including those who have specific food requirements and indeed tend to feel our speciality is gluten free foods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tebay
1.3 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
4.0 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
13.9 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
14.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,114 reviews
16.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School - Tebay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School - Tebay

Property: The Old School - Tebay
Address: Tebay, Tebay CA10 3TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Tebay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tebay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old School, Tebay, is a friendly Tea Room and guest house in the beautiful Eden Valley. Situated between the Lakes and Yorkshire Dales we are ideally located to offer good access to many fantastic locations. With the M6 only minutes away this is a perfect stop off point for the weary traveller. For those wanting a longer stay there are many places to explore from the central location. Accommodation The Old School offers an excellent standard of bed & breakfast accommodation ranging from single through to large family rooms. For the larger group up to 30 people, there is the option of B&B, fully catered or self catering. All our rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and en-suite bathrooms.The tea room is open every day except Tuesday from 10:30 am through to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old School - Tebay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing