We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Church Court Cottages
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Arrived after 6 hours drive on a day when a month rain had fallen over Cumbria with 3 very excited dogs for our first UK holiday -it was with some trepidation when we entered Herdwick Cottage for our very soggy weeks stay.
However it was a cosy warm and comfortable barn conversion and had all we needed including a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge, yes it was too small but we knew it would be because the owners Mark and Pat had offered us a larger cottage months before hand-but it was exactly as advertised and spotlessly clean. There were some lovely walks for the dogs in the local area and within a short car drive away, and Gamblesby itself is a pretty little village where everyone speaks and are genuinely friendly and the scenery in The Eden Valley is to die for.
Mark and Pat had put together some wonderful guides with places to see in the local area which must of taken forever to complete, my only comment here was that some detail
is a bit out of date and needs updating - but we planned every day trip with what is included in these guides from Hadrians Wall to The Lake District just a short drive away.
Another thing to note is that our phone network (3) had no signal in this area and there was no Wifi or 3G in the village (possibly a good thing for a relaxing holiday!) just minor irritations on an otherwise lovely break despite having rain on all but one day including The great storm on June 28th which turned the village lane into a fast running river!
The owners are great hosts and even walked their dogs with ours- the dogs loved it and enjoyed loads of soggy walks even we had fun- I would recommend these cottages to anyone they have an excellent website which is full of every detail that you need Thanks to Mark and Pat and the villagers of Gambleby for making us and our dogs feel very welcome!

Room Tip: The four cottages are all very well appointed but take the owner's advise and they will recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

The barn cottage is a lovely, cosy cottage with a gorgeously warm log burner. Ideal for cosy evenings relaxing after long walks in the beautiful surrounding countryside.
Ideal location for visiting the lakes with our three dogs.
Lots of informative ideas available for days out and the hosts, mark and pat, couldnt of been more helpful and welcoming.
We will definately be returning later this year to sample more of the lovely countryside.
Lots of lovely local pubs nearby if you want to eat out, but to be honest the barn is so well kitted out that we didn't need or want to!
This was the perfect place to see in the new year 2012!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed here with my friend, we needed a nice peaceful get away for the new year, and this certainly was a great choice! We had a nice warm welcome (even though it was raining)!
Mark explained a few things to us, and let us know if we had forgotten anything, that they would give us any supplies needed! They gave us a lovely bottle of wine, nice and cold in the fridge, and explained to us that there was plenty of things to do, even at this time of year. There was a folder with very useful information in, but if we needed that extra info, mark and pat were always on the line/in their home for us!
The scenery was wonderful, and everyone was friendly.
Definately recommended if you want a nice peaceful get away, and even for walks or exploring.

Will certainly be back sometime!

Thank you so much mark and pat for a wonderful start to the new year.
Shauni and abigail

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shauni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My wife and myself stayed at Hawthorn cottage for 4 nights, it was much more spacious than we expected from looking on the internet, a really comfortable and clean holiday, mark and Pat gave us a very warm welcome , and a great bottle of wine in the fridge. we did not have a dog with us, but if we had there was some very nice walks everywhere. We cannot speak highly enough of our stay. Thank you Mark and Pat, you are doing a great job. We plan to return, Keith and Chris Tindell

Room Tip: Hawthorn cottage was for us the best choice as everything was on the ground floor, and my wife has t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Booked into the Church Court with my Girlfriend and 2 Dogs, Mark and Kat welcomed us and showed us where we could take the dogs to stretch there legs. The accomodation was a home from home with everything you could wish for and a great bottle of wine in the fridge. The views and wals in the are are amazing and Marks knowledge of the area was exceptional. I would Highly recomend any one to stay here as it is a paradise in the lakes without the over crowding of the national park. Go on book it now and maybe we will see you there.

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerekJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We have just spent a fabulous week here in the Eden Valley. And we almost missed the rain! Mark and Pat are great hosts - on our arrival Mark gave us a tour of the village (which is tiny and a delight). We were with my sister and her husband and my sister and I had birthdays while we there there. Mark arrived at the door with highly unusual and very delicious birthday gifts!

We stayed in the Barn, it's comfortable and has everything you might need - including a log fire (which we didn't need to light) but I'm sure looks cosy on a cold day. Also lots of games for both adults and children.

The Eden valley is gorgeous, rolling hills and beautiful scenery. It's on the edge of the lakes so quiet and peaceful but not a long journey to any attraction.

We ate in The Crosskeys, the Fox Inn and the Shepherd's Inn in Malmerby and enjoyed all our meals - a word to the wise though - the meals are HUGE so if you aren't a big eater then a starter will be enough.

I would recommend Church Court Cottages to anyone wanting to stay in Cumbria - the Cumbrians are a friendly bunch and you will be made very welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shipsatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed for 5 nights with our dog Dora. As soon as we arrived Mark greeted us and walked us up the lane so she could stretch her legs. He introduced us to his own dogs and made us very welcome. We stayed in Herdwick and it was the sweetest doll's house of a cottage. Warm and cosy with everything you could need, I could even have baked a cake if I'd felt inclined. The wine in the fridge was a nice touch as was the venison sausage. There was so much info in the cottage about places to go and Mark directed us to some lovely places far from the crowds. Dora thought she was in doggy heaven! She is only 6 months old but settled as if she'd always lived there. There were water bowls in the cupboard for dogs and we took her bed with us. Our mobile phone got no reception so family couldn't reach us which meant for 5 whole days we just chilled. I hated coming back to the real world and will definitely be going again.

Room Tip: Herdwick is best for a dog if only 2 of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmeliaBadelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Church Court Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Court Cottages

Address: Gamblesby CA10 1HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Gamblesby
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gamblesby
Price Range: £60 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Court Cottages consist of four beautiful red sandstone cottages situated together around the courtyard, with a parking space for each property. They are located in the peaceful village of Gamblesby, (Eden Valley) near Penrith. Dogs welcome. Ideal for families, couples and larger groups. Bookings can be taken for one or multiple cottages (discounts apply). Short breaks and longer stays available all year round. Individual cottages sleep 2 or 4, with a maximum occupancy of 11 for all the cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Court Cottages Gamblesby/Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing