We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Church Court Cottages
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at Barn Cottage for two nights and found it to be absolutely fantastic. The facilities exceeded our expectations and the cottage was beautifully furnished and spacious. The owners were extremely welcoming and helpful and provided lots of information on the local area and beyond. The Shepherds Inn in nearby Melmerby is a great pub. We would definitely recommend the cottage and look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Church Court Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

Booked this break last min, for a break before work starts again on Monday 7th. We stopped at the Barn which sleeps four and took the dog, which was fantastic to go on holiday and take our dog as we have a rotti most places will not accept him, even though he is very well trained and a gentle giant. The propriotors could not have been more helpful and friendly. The property was lovely it had everything in it you could possibly think of. Even though Gamblesby has no shops or eating places the next village on at Melmerby has a great pub called the Sheppards Inn and the food is very nice. All in all very relaxing and we will be going back for a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Had a four night 5 day break at Church Court cottages in September 2012. We stayed in Herdwick cottage which is very cosy, Immaculately clean and tidy. The village of Gamblesby whilst having no shops, Cafes or Restaurants is a lovely quiet village with lots of scenic walking on the doorstep and great for a good nights sleep . Great pub meals in Melmerby and Langwathby both pubs sharing the same name of the Shepherds Inn. Pat and Mark are the perfect hosts and make you feel comfortable on arrival. All in all Church Court is a great choice of accommodation and a great base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Converted Barn beautifully done. Immaculate. The Eden Valley is gorgeous and tranquil. We loved feeling we had the place to ourselves in July, when other parts of the lake district are overcrowded. Mark and Pat sent along a map of the area complete with detailed information on local attractions a few days after we booked. This helped us plan, and get a feel for the area before our holiday. No need for extra time spent researching. The bottle of wine and real coffee maker were nice touches. We visited the highest cafe and highest market town. Went on many great walks. We couldn't find Lacy's caves, but we lunched at the watermill and spent a happy few hours around the druid stone circle - which was bigger and lovelier than expected. We enjoyed the Bakery in Melmerby. And the Shepherd's Inn is a fine pub. Again, the food exceeded expectations. The pork fillet was the best meal I've had in ages. Unfortunately, I think the current owners may be moving on soon. I've been to many places that claim to be friendly.. this area really is, and in a refreshing way. It is clear that the owners want Church Cottages to be first class experience, and that they want their guests to enjoy the Eden Valley. Success on both counts. We'd like to return for a longer stay in the future.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liamaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Arrived after 6 hours drive on a day when a month rain had fallen over Cumbria with 3 very excited dogs for our first UK holiday -it was with some trepidation when we entered Herdwick Cottage for our very soggy weeks stay.
However it was a cosy warm and comfortable barn conversion and had all we needed including a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge, yes it was too small but we knew it would be because the owners Mark and Pat had offered us a larger cottage months before hand-but it was exactly as advertised and spotlessly clean. There were some lovely walks for the dogs in the local area and within a short car drive away, and Gamblesby itself is a pretty little village where everyone speaks and are genuinely friendly and the scenery in The Eden Valley is to die for.
Mark and Pat had put together some wonderful guides with places to see in the local area which must of taken forever to complete, my only comment here was that some detail
is a bit out of date and needs updating - but we planned every day trip with what is included in these guides from Hadrians Wall to The Lake District just a short drive away.
Another thing to note is that our phone network (3) had no signal in this area and there was no Wifi or 3G in the village (possibly a good thing for a relaxing holiday!) just minor irritations on an otherwise lovely break despite having rain on all but one day including The great storm on June 28th which turned the village lane into a fast running river!
The owners are great hosts and even walked their dogs with ours- the dogs loved it and enjoyed loads of soggy walks even we had fun- I would recommend these cottages to anyone they have an excellent website which is full of every detail that you need Thanks to Mark and Pat and the villagers of Gambleby for making us and our dogs feel very welcome!

Room Tip: The four cottages are all very well appointed but take the owner's advise and they will recommen...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The barn cottage is a lovely, cosy cottage with a gorgeously warm log burner. Ideal for cosy evenings relaxing after long walks in the beautiful surrounding countryside.
Ideal location for visiting the lakes with our three dogs.
Lots of informative ideas available for days out and the hosts, mark and pat, couldnt of been more helpful and welcoming.
We will definately be returning later this year to sample more of the lovely countryside.
Lots of lovely local pubs nearby if you want to eat out, but to be honest the barn is so well kitted out that we didn't need or want to!
This was the perfect place to see in the new year 2012!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed here with my friend, we needed a nice peaceful get away for the new year, and this certainly was a great choice! We had a nice warm welcome (even though it was raining)!
Mark explained a few things to us, and let us know if we had forgotten anything, that they would give us any supplies needed! They gave us a lovely bottle of wine, nice and cold in the fridge, and explained to us that there was plenty of things to do, even at this time of year. There was a folder with very useful information in, but if we needed that extra info, mark and pat were always on the line/in their home for us!
The scenery was wonderful, and everyone was friendly.
Definately recommended if you want a nice peaceful get away, and even for walks or exploring.

Will certainly be back sometime!

Thank you so much mark and pat for a wonderful start to the new year.
Shauni and abigail

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shauni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Church Court Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Court Cottages

Address: Gamblesby CA10 1HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Gamblesby
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gamblesby
Price Range: £48 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Court Cottages consist of four beautiful red sandstone cottages situated together around the courtyard, with a parking space for each property. They are located in the peaceful village of Gamblesby, (Eden Valley) near Penrith. Dogs welcome. Ideal for families, couples and larger groups. Bookings can be taken for one or multiple cottages (discounts apply). Short breaks and longer stays available all year round. Individual cottages sleep 2 or 4, with a maximum occupancy of 11 for all the cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Court Cottages Gamblesby/Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing