We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Definitely No Bats in the Belfry!”
other travellers have booked this property
Old St John's Church...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space... Summer colour...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space...
Summer colour...
Vaulted ceiling above the kitchen...
Plenty of space to relax.
Double-sided fireplace for those cosy nights.
The well equipped kitchen..
The dining area and former pulpit.
The 'snug' area.
The 'master' suite is in the spire of the Church.
The bathroom contains a sunken bath.
Enter a caption for your photo
Middle room - this is a TWIN room (can also be arranged as a super-king by request).
The downstairs double bedroom.
How things used to be!
Aerial view of the church and gardens...
View from the spire offering an unbroken 360 degree view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gamblesby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa S
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely No Bats in the Belfry!”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was an opportunity for a group of old friends to get together for a chillout and a catch up, and this was not only the perfect accommodation, but also the perfect quiet, tranquil location.

The property was beautiful and initial contact for making arrangements was very quick with the owners.

A very remote location, I would probably say that if you're looking for a place that is a little livelier then this is perhaps not it, but for walking in the country and spending time together, it was just perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: A hot tub would have been the icing on the cake! :)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelly1987...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed here 13 March -16 March 2015 this was a break away with friends for my partners 30th birthday and we couldn't have asked for a better place, the church really is a gem, three double bedrooms with en suite, the space inside is huge and all finished with a high standard,the kitchen is well equipped and the clenliness is 5 out of 5 it has everything you need it really is a home from home, from booking the owners are helpful and send over a info booklet, which really helps the wine on arrival was also a lovely touch we really don't have anything negative to say about this place we are all eager to return thanks again for sharing this amazing place we received above and beyond what we was expecting

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb & Unique Experience”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Everything was above our expectations. The rooms and facilities were clean and we never lacked for anything. Did not go out much because we enjoyed the quiet village setting so much. Close enough for a visit to The Lakes for the day and a very memorable setting in peaceful surroundings. We liked the uniqueness of the renovated church and enjoyed hearing about the history of it's renovation. Great facilities for large groups of up to eight people. The kitchen is well appointed with everything you need to cater for large families or groups of friends. Fully enjoyed the visit.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay in this fantastic church conversion situated in a little village just outside Penrith.

The church is warm and welcoming and is beautifully decorated. A brilliant place to go if there is a large group of you. Phil and his wife have created very special place here and we will return.
One of the best holiday's we have had as a family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Whole experience
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186534Sha...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed here as a party of 6 and it was very nice. It had everything you needed for a holiday away from home. There was plenty of information left for us for getting out and about. Would return for a weekend again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archietom
1 review
“Fabulous stay in a unique building”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay to celebrate my father in laws 65th birthday, and thought it would be nice to stay somewhere unusual. Having trawled through the Internet we came across Old St Johns Church, and decided it seemed the perfect place to celebrate the occassion, and we were not disappointed. The church has been beautifully converted, and has a fantastic modern living area with everything you would want provided. The 3 en suite bedrooms are very spacious and with the ground floor study also having a sofa bed, the 8 of us were easily accommodated ( 6 adults and 2 children). Although the church is located in a quiet village, it doesn't take long to drive to Penrith or Ullswater, and there are some good pubs in the surrounding villages and we enjoyed a nice meal in the Sheperds Inn in Langwathby. We only wish we had booked to stay longer, however we will almost certainly be returning at some time in the near future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“beautiful building with everything you could wish for provided”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Was a privilege to stay in such a wonderful old building. Has all the mod cons you would wish for inside and the owners were very helpful. Brought lots of admiring comments when people saw the pictures on Facebook. Had some really good nights sleep and so peaceful would recommend to everyone and ideal for a large group of people (8).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the rooms
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing