We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Irshad Z
Solihull, United Kingdom

Amazing Safari

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Aug 2018
What an amazing place. Perfect in every way! We were on holiday with our two daughters (10 and 12) and stayed in the family tent. Had the most fabulous three days at this camp. The staff are all amazing and our guide Peter made the whole experience unforgettable.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
£29
Get rewarded with One Key
    10.3 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotels.com
    £97
    Fully refundable
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      £97
    • ZenHotels.com
      £102
    • Tripadvisor
      £97
    16.4 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £20
    • Vio.com
    17.4 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
    Expedia.com
    £24
    Fully refundable
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      £24
    • Tripadvisor
      £24
    • ZenHotels.com
    17.3 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      £76
    • Vio.com
    22.9 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      £179
    • Priceline
    26.1 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
    Restaurant
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      £107
    • eDreams
    14.4 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Main Hotel Lounge and restaurant
    Priceline
    £78
    Fully refundable
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      £78
    • eDreams
      £78
    • Lol.travel
    14.1 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    7.6 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    View more hotels in Lamuria
    Reviews (309)
    Filter reviews
    309 results
    Traveller rating
    294
    13
    1
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    294
    13
    1
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews ol pejeta safari experience game drives water hole hot water bottles watering hole three nights family tent northern white rhino guide peter attention to detail herd of elephants wonderful hosts amazing experience the entire staff fresh flowers intimate experience
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    58 - 63 of 309 reviews
    Reviewed 26 August 2018

    We had a great stay, very good accommodation and facilities, a great location on the bank of the dam and very welcoming, accommodating and knowledgeable staff, both in the camp and on the game drives. The game drives themselves were exceptional and exceeded all our expectations, with some fantastic sightings including both black and white rhinos.The food and its presentation was phenomenal.

    Date of stay: June 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank 609dougc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 August 2018

    What an experience. One of the best safari experiences ever and the staff were amazing, the food was gourmet and spectacular and the staff couldn't do more for you. A proper luxury tent experience. When it got cold in the evenings, they even put hot water bottles in the beds. They took care of every want and need.

    Room tip: Cold in August so take warm clothes.
    Date of stay: August 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank nagagoogi1000
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 August 2018

    My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the camp in July 2018. We loved chatting with the friendly and helpful managers, Louise and Andrew, as well as the other guests at mealtimes! The food that was prepared for us was fresh and delicious. I was impressed with all the variety and how dietary needs were handled. Especially yummy was Curry night (Sunday)! Our tent room was very luxurious and so comfortable with an amazing view of the water and animals. We had a wonderful and knowledgable guide (younger) Peter and thoroughly enjoyed our game drives. We were very happy to have the experience to see (and pet) the last 2 remaining Northern white rhinos and the blind black rhino (Baracka) in the Ol Pejeta conservancy. I would definitely recommend that others come to this wonderful camp! Splotch the dog was precious especially when "hunting" a hare!

    Date of stay: July 2018
    1  Thank JulesHaze
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 August 2018

    We couldn't decide whether to take in the vast landscape from the rich leather cushioned seats on the veranda of our tent, or the chairs inside the tent, or the hammock that was hanging invitingly right outside our tent. Our family tent was large, elaborately appointed and beautifully furnished. Yet, despite the canvas, it had a homely feel to it, with small details such as a hand-written welcome card at turn-down and hot water bottles creating such a personalized feel.
    Our two year old could not get enough of Andrew, the lodge manager! They walked around the lodge holding hands like old friends, exchanged countless stories that ended as soon as they began (considering the attention span of a toddler) and spent the evening sprawled out on the floor of the tented restaurant leafing through pictures of wildlife. While my husband and i enjoyed sun-downers by the fireplace, all we could hear was Andrew animatedly asking, "and which animal is this...?", then our son would excitedly say, "it's a gi-waa-ff!!" On and on they went.
    It would have been nice to have more options for breakfast, but the three course lunch and dinners made up for what was missing on the breakfast table. I had requested diabetic friendly meals, and was delighted to be served almond breads and other low carb options.
    If you are keen on the game, June is not the best time to visit; all the rain means food is plentiful and the animals do not wander far to look for it. You will be seeing very few of them.
    Whether you're travelling as a couple, as a family, for some solo R&R, or a birthday celebration like we did, you will be right at home at Kicheche. Andrew & team, thank you very much!

    Room tip: The family tent is incredibly large- it's practically two bedrooms.
    Date of stay: June 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Brigitta_N_Travels
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 August 2018

    This was our first African safari experience as a family and it did not disappoint. The conservancy is wonderful - we had many amazing black and white rhino sightings. It was rare to see another jeep, which made the experience so special. The landscape is spectacular - with Mount Kenya as a backdrop, sunsets and sunrises were breathtaking. Our guide Peter was fantastic - a very good 'spotter' and also incredibly knowledgeable and great fun. A highlight (among many) was seeing the conservancy's only wild dog hunt and eat its prey. The camp is just beautiful. The tents were very comfortable, spacious and clean and furnished with beautiful furniture, rugs and cushions. There was a gorgeous view of the watering hole from our tent, and one day we watched an elephant drink and walk across to our side. The camp hosts Louise and Andrew were delightful, great company and very interesting to talk to. A big thank you to them and all the staff who were so friendly and helpful. The quality of service, experience, and food here is outstanding. We combined a stay at this camp with one at the Kicheche Bush camp - between the two we saw every species of wildlife you could think of. It's an excellent combination. Highly recommend!

    Room tip: All tents have beautiful views and are well spaced apart for privacy.
    Date of stay: July 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Charlottejeb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews