We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peakrill
Buxton, United Kingdom

Brilliant experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Jan 2019via mobile
Have had a great 3 night stay at this camp which was amazing. The whole package was so well put together with the Safari Link flights it all worked seamlessly. Andrew, th camp manager really made us welcome and is passionate, not only for his work but about the whole team at Laikipia. And as for Simon our guide, he was just amazing also with a passion, such knowledge and a great sense of humour. If you ever meet him, ask hi. How many strips a zebra has. Will never forget that breakfast with a herd of elephants crossing the river I front of us. The hot water bottles in the beds and on the game drives too were great. As for the a perfect beef wellington one night says it al. Maw you thanks guys.
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
10.3 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £134
  • Hotels.com
15.1 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £79
  • eDreams
16.4 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £94
  • Expedia.com
    £106
14.4 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.6 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.5 miles from Kicheche Laikipia
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lamuria
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
294
13
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
294
13
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ol pejeta safari experience game drives water hole hot water bottles watering hole three nights family tent northern white rhino guide peter attention to detail herd of elephants wonderful hosts amazing experience the entire staff fresh flowers intimate experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2018 via mobile

The only problem with this camp is we didn’t want to leave! The setting is idyllic and serene (except for the birds squawking at night) and the service is excellent. Our tent was huge and beautifully appointed. It’s one of only six, so guests really have a sense of exclusivity. The physical beauty of the camp is extraordinary. Guests can breakfast or lunch at the main tent while gazing out at the huge watering holes, where animals turn up frequently. One morning, a small herd of elephants stopped by for drinks. At night, sounds of many different birds and various mammals fill the air. It’s really kind of magical.

Each tent has running water and a nice shower. You have to let the water run a little to get warm enough but it’s a minor inconvenience. The room had two terry robes, which is a nice touch. The bed was extremely comfortable and you get lots of blankets and covers, which is most welcome, as it can get pretty cold at night, as well as in the early morning. The hot water bottle tucked inside the sheets before bedtime give added help. If you like, you can request a tray of coffee and a tin of biscuits be brought to your tent in the morning at whatever time you designate for wake up. The terrain is very green and lush, in contrast to the Mara North Conservancy, with its yellow grass and big open fields, dotted only here and there with acacias. Ol Pejeta gets a lot more rainfall than in the Masai Mara.

Andrew is the camp manager, who keeps things running smoothly. He’s very bright and also charming, which makes him a delightful table companion who joins guests for each meal. Breakfast and lunch will probably be buffet, with cuisines varying from day to day. Dinner, though, is splendid, starting with the chef himself coming out to announce the three-course menu. It really gets one’s mouth watering. The food is of the highest quality, easily rivaling anything one would get at a 4- or 5-star restaurant in a cosmopolitan city. White or red wine is offered at dinner, or guests can enjoy any kind of fresh fruit juice desired, as well as sparkling water. Coffee or tea is offered with dessert, which is always something memorable. A fire is started every evening in both of the two wood-burning fireplaces. It’s very comfortable and cozy in the main tent after dinner. The staff is all incredibly gracious and helpful. They work very hard to see to guests’ every need. They seem honored to serve the people staying there, which is a lovely feeling. They really did pamper us. I have had a tough time adjusting to “normal” life now that we’re home.

Peter was our guide and he had a keen sense of where to find the best game, which is plentiful. This is especially so with rhinoceros, which do particularly well in this part of Kenya. Speaking of which, it’s well worth it to schedule a visit to the nearby rhino enclosure, which shelters rare Northern White rhinos, and a gentle, blind black rhino named Baraka (blessed in Swahili) visitors can feed Baraka with their own hands, and also touch him. He’s very well-mannered. While you’re out that way, make an extra trip to the sanctuary for chimpanzees. They come to the sanctuary as orphans and are well-cared-for for their lives, as chimpanzees can’t be reintroduced in the wild.

Camp Kicheche Laikapia is like a little corner of heaven, here on Earth. I heartily recommend it to anyone looking for some adventure and some pampering.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 900nataliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

The Kicheche camps came highly recommended and didn’t disappoint this campus amazing the quality of accommodation, food, guides and staff is unbelievable! Luxury tents and Food with incredible views over a damn watching elephants play in the water every lunch time! Would recommend this as the starter for safari before moving to the main areas such as the Mara! The Rhino and the anti poaching setup is incredible! I strongly recommend using the Kicheche camps for your safaris.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank paulhZ2095UR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Enjoyed our 3 nights here at this small intimate camp with just 6 tents with the communal dining area overlooking a large lake. You eat communally which when you have lovely people staying (as we did) improves the experience. Staff and service was on the whole excellent with the food being wonderful. Remember that as this camp is on a plateau it gets cold in the early morning and in the evening, so much so that the staff leave hot water bottles in your bed at night and in the car for the morning drive. Quilted ponchos are also provided which help keep you nice and warm. We had some great sightings including many rhino as well as a lion kill. Worth a visit to the Rhino Sanctuary to see the worlds last two Northern White Rhino, as well as a blind Black Rhino.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We had an amazing three night stay here at Laikipia. The standard of Kicheche camps is very high and Laikipia doesn't disappoint. The facilities are brilliant, everything you need. We traveled as a group of 3 from 3 generations but this didn't cause any problems, all needs catered for. The water bottles are a nice touch and have been well used since.
Would highly recommend the junior rangers course if travelling with children over the age of about 8. Great value for money, very educational and all the rangers are so enthusiastic. Having taken the oath it has inspired by son to pass on the conservation message and he is doing an assembly to his school in October.
Andrew and Louise run a very efficient camp with the assistance of helpful friendly staff. The location within the conservancy is perfect for game viewing, Peter was an amazing guide for us and interacted beautifully with my son. He was very knowledgeable and keen to pass this on.
I have to say though, the thing I have come away amazed by is how well 160 rhinos can play hide and seek!
Would highly recommend.

Room tip: I believe they are all of the same standard - so all recommended
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MJSmith3327
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Our first time on safari - and first class all the way! Manager Andrew couldn't have been more helpful, with many stories around the campfire. Luxury tent with hot and cold water and flushing toilet and shower made life very comfortable. Food was excellent as were the staff. Our driver made game drives very interesting and worthwhile. But suggest in winter visitors take lots of warm clothes. At 6AM the air temperature was very nippy! A wonderful experience.

Room tip: Only 6 tents, all are good, well separated for privacy.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longgone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews