We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly five star experience”
Review of Raffles Seychelles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly five star experience”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I travel for business three weeks of the month and so have had the opportunity to stay in some of the best hotels in the world. Whilst we look for something a bit different in our leisure time, five star standards are still a must and this resort didn't disappoint. The villas were magnificent and pristine. Of course the resort is new so the condition of the rooms should reflect that but everything has been built to the highest specs from the marble bathrooms, the wooden floors the high tec room controls and the superb plung pool with panoramic views. Ah yes, the views, sumptuous looking out to the island of curieuse and the beautiful blue waters in between. The butler service ( which comes with each villa) was attentive whilst not intrusive. The staff were all friendly and the service was prompt (rare for Seychelles). The resort had two restaurants and the food was equally good in both. The spa offered an array of treatments (my wife tried out a variety of treatments and raved about them afterwards) whilst the gym area was wonderfully equipped. There is a huge double pool with amble sun beds. The beach is also stunning although perhaps a bit small for the resort if occupancy is high. We had an amazing time. It wasn't cheap but we didn't expect it would be. The one thing that might dissappoint people is that the structure from the outside doesn't blend in too well with the surrounding area. Part of this is because the development is new and the vegetation has not fully grown yet but it is also fair to say that even in two years it will still stick out somewhat compared to the traditional resort build on the island. This didn't detract from our stay though. We've stayed at several Raffles resorts and i would say that this is the best so far.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles2011, Public Relations Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for such kind words about the resort. It has been a real pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    169
    39
    16
    10
See reviews for
177
680
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed for four nights at the very new Raffles in Praslin in August 2011 (one note on August in the Seychelles -- we read in a number of guide books that it was the driest time of the year, but we had generally cloudy and gray weather which dampened our mood while on Praslin). This is a first class hotel with one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in; the private villas are absolutely stunning and tastefully decorated. We enjoyed that the hotel didn't fall into any fake 'ethnic' theme, but had a contemporary feel that was very well done. Be careful to ask for a villa with a good (and private view). Our villa (though lovely) was in direct line of site of the concierge desk and didn't feel very private. And yes, we had an amazing view of the sea and the island across the straight, however we also had a view of the employee parking lot (very oddly place in full view of many villas right by the reception).
Be forewarned that the hotel is brand new and so the vegetation is quite young (don't expect to be immersed in a tropical jungle). Unfortunately, it looks like the hotel basically ripped-up the side of a mountain to build the villas, and I hope that in time the vegetation will grow and flourish to cover/hide the structures a bit better. You can definitely tell that the hotel is working hard to plant and nurture plants, trees, and shrubbery, so I hope that in a few years' time it will be better integrated into the environment.
The service in the hotel is the best I've ever experienced (even when compared to other luxury hotels and Raffle properties). Our two butlers (Sala and Saranga) were knowledgeable, experienced, helpful, and service-oriented without being intrusive or obsequious -- well done, gentlemen! We also found Olivier (the young manager of the Curiuese Restaurant) to be very professional and friendly and a great source for sporty-related ideas about what to do while on the island).
The food in the two restaurants was extremely good -- honestly exceptional. The service was also friendly, but we found the service in the L'Ocean Restaurant to be quite slow almost every evening. Maybe the hotel staff is still learning, and as time goes by that will improve.
One last comment -- I wouldn't suggest this hotel to anyone who is hoping to just plop on the beach for a week, because the beach (at least during August) isn't that great. Yes, it's safe to swim, but the waves kicked-up a lot of sand and the water wasn't the beautiful transparent kind that we all dream of when visiting the Indian Ocean. But don't despair -- just 5 min's away by car (or a 15 minute bike ride like we did) and you can be in Anse Lazio which is the best beach on Praslin, and one of the most beautiful in the world. There the swimming/snorkeling was exceptional, and the Raffles Hotel is by far the closest luxury hotel to this pristine and amazing beach.
We send our best wishes to the Raffles staff, and wish them luck as they grow this hotel's reputation!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa with privacy (some of them open onto the Concierge's desk and they'll have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C_and_N2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles2011, Public Relations Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with everyone your experience at Raffles.
Your comments are highly valuable for us and have already been shared with the team. As privacy for all our residents is of the utmost importance for us, be assured that we are doing all the necessary arrangements to guarantee it.
Thank you once again for your visit and we are all looking forward to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

A total of 6 of us went to Raffles for a 5 night stay on Preslin Island, Seychelles. I can't begain to describe how amazing EVERY SINGLE ASPECT of this resort was. It was the Ultimate Resort Vacation we were looking for. From the Amazing Staff to the Gourmet foods and the pool side bar serving perfect paradise cocktails. You will be left breathless when you first see your room's views from the deck with it's personal infinity pool, couches and private sunning area. The bed was amazing. The shower was amazing. Every thing was simply........ Amazing. If you go there, only then will you understand. This was the finest Stay of our lives. It is going to be very difficult finding a resort that tops this one in the world.

Room Tip: I found great deals at Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KROSCHEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles2011, Public Relations Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We all enjoyed having you and the rest of your team with us and should you wish to renew this experience do not hesitate to come back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST STROUDSBURG
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Before I recount what a fantastic vacation me and my wife had on our honeymoon in the Seychelles and Dubai, I want to let you know that we owe a big debt of gratitude to our US based travel agent, Justin Parkinson at Linara Travel, for putting together the entire itinerary. All I did was provide him with a feel for what we wanted, and off he went to work. What we ended up with was simply superb. Thanks Justin!
We arrived Mahé on 11 May and were warmly greeted by a staff member from 7°South who, through Linara, were our travel caretakers in the Seychelles. After a 15 minute flight to Praslin Island and a 45 minute drive from the airport, we arrived at the newly opened Raffles Resort for the start of what turned out to be one of our best vacations yet. We were warmly welcomed by Raffles staff who incidentally, come from all over our globe. They are all adept at making each guest feel special, are very courteous and pleasant to interact with, and always have a smile. We were provided butler service for our entire stay and the two butlers that served us (alternating between weekdays / weekends) were very responsive / proactive in catering to our wants and needs. Because we were so pampered, we hardly ever had any of those. Our Honeymoon package included a Champagne welcome and other delectable treats!
The resort itself is very modern and was designed to blend seamlessly into its hillside environment. Each of the villas has a unique view of the ocean from which guests can watch the sunrise. The villas are all exquisitely appointed with very comfortable furnishings including a luxurious, very large bed. Each villa comes with a shaded outdoor veranda with cushioned benches that are simply ideal for lazing away the day on. We also had our private plunge pool and deck chairs to soak in the sun.
The food at Raffles was great. Our stay included daily breakfast which was served in Losean Restaurant. Breakfasts were excellent and included a wide variety of both cold and hot dishes. We always had the chef whip us a tasty dish, off the menu, at breakfast.
For dinner, we alternated between Losean and Curieuse Restaurant – choosing between in-door dining at Curieuse or (more-often) outdoor dining, where we ate under the stars and with a cool, gentle sea-breeze swaying the coconut palm leaves – the ambiance was simply indescribable.
One night we even tried in-villa dining and it was very impressive, to say the least – the whole experience (set-up and meal) was great. We highly recommend in-villa dining, at least once.
At the Curieuse bar we enjoyed our conversations with the assistant sommelier who fixed us some awesome mojitos which we quaffed as quickly as they were delivered – soooo gooood and refreshing – among the best I’ve had.
The spa experience at Raffles, which was included in our Honeymoon package felt like royal treatment, complete with champagne and a pre-massage bubble bath.
We did quite a bit of sightseeing in the Seychelles, including a visit to Anse Lazio and the Vallée de Mai Nature Reserve on Praslin, as well as a full-day trip, via catamaran / schooner to/from La Digue, a must visit. We spent our last night in Seychelles on Mahé at the Constance Ephelia resort, as we had an early morning flight to Dubai for the second-leg of our honeymoon, where we stayed at The Address Downtown hotel.
All-in all we very highly recommend Raffles, Praslin to anyone who is not sure about a vacation to the Seychelles, or can’t decide where to stay in Seychelles. You won’t want to leave and we guarantee that you’ll have a fantastic time, much as we did, at this most picturesque and relatively secluded resort. It’s simply an experience we shall never forget, ever!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Itinerants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles2011, Public Relations Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you very much for your comments above which are highly valuable for us. We are so pleased to read how fantastic was your stay at Raffles Praslin and we all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Congratulations once again on your wedding !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in Raffles Praslin, four months after it opened. We had one of the panoramic villas at the top of the resort from where the view is spectacular. The service, food, villa, amenities and staff were all better than anything we have experienced anywhere including other hotels in the Seychelles. The staff are unswervingly professional and there really is a feeling that they want you to have an amazing time - whatever you need they have it covered, and they took a couple of opportunities to spoil us which made us feel very welcome and special.
The service is so professional and discrete you barely notice it happening, it really is not your concern while you are here.
The villas are modern and designed with comfort and convenience in mind. The beds are extremely comfortable. The plunge infinity-pool provided an amazing view of the ocean. The seating area outside the villa is a lovely touch and very useable. The food is as good as any fine dining experience in London. Breakfasts are very good indeed - the poached eggs are recommended!. The beac

Room Tip: We loved the panoramic views from the top of the resort but all villas have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrSmith1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles2011, Public Relations Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
I just would like to thank you for sharing your experience with everyone.
Your comments are highly appreciated and I will make sure the rest of the team receive it too.
It was a real pleasure hosting you and we all hope to have the opportunity to see you back soon.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Raffles Takamaka resort delivered over and above our expectations for our wedding and the staff from the moment we arrived to the minute we left were amazing, they could`nt do enough for us and made us feel extremely special, we feel very proud to be thier very first wedding. The room was excellent and was cleaned twice a day. The views from all rooms in the villa were spectacular and the large terrace with soft seating area, pool and sun deck were a real bounus. Our Butler Brigite was brilliant and was always on hand to assist with anything we required, for our wedding or holiday. The food in both restaurants was top quality with the breakfast a real highlight. The location of Raffles is wonderful with 3 beautiful beaches which never got busy and overlooked by an impressive swimming pool and bar area all in the back drop of the tiered villas. The overall service was attentive but not intrusive and made for an unforgettable experience. We would highly recommed staying at Raflles and will will definitely return to relive our wedding memories.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrandMrsMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivier_heuchenne, General Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Mr and Mrs. Martin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your wedding and your stay at Raffles Praslin Seychelles. As this was our first wedding, I know that Jennifer and the team were quite honored to make your special day a flawless one and by the look of the photos she shared with me, it was evident that the event was a memorable one; beautiful day and setting for a great event.

Mr and Mrs Martin, we wish you all the best in your marriage and look forward to welcome you back to Raffles Praslin for many years to come.

Best regards,

Olivier Heuchenne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My wife and I were having our first experience of 'Butler Service' and of the Raffles approach. I was concerned that the staff would be over-attentive and intrusive. I needn't have worried; the balance was beautifully struck. The staff sensed when they were needed and magically appeared with what ever it was you were short of at the time. The butler unpacked all our bags with everything put just where we would have wanted and even had our bath run and a bottle in the ice bucket for when we returned from the beach. The laundry was immaculate with even my much worn and faded favourite shirt beautifully pressed and wrapped in tissue paper.
The spa treatments are perfect - beneficial with fragrant staff massaging away the stress and grime of city life.
The views from almost every point across an aquamarine sea to the white sand beaches and palms of Curieurse Island are unrivalled.
Finally the food was great - I'm a breakfast man and had to hold myself back in order not to spoil the next meal.
Don't get too wedded to the hotel as the island has so much to offer, diving, island hopping, challenging walks, a Creole Culture Museum, marine parks and a world heritage site. Also don't miss Cafe des Arts at Cote D'or which has fine dining within an Art Gallery right on the beach. Also ask if a booking on Joel Coffey's Island Cat can be arranged. It is a stunning boat skippered by an engaging local man who is also one of Praslin's top chefs. He provides Kreol Cuisine, with the produce either home grown or recently caught, as he sails from one breath-taking island to another.
Last, but not least, the locals are friendly with no sense of any 'them and us' attitude that can feature in the Carribean.

Room Tip: Just ask for the best room, lower on the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SimonRouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivier_heuchenne, General Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Simon and Jan Rouse,

Thank you so much for the review on Raffles Praslin Seychelles and for always contributing to the success of the resort. We are proud that you took to time to contribute to the review and take your feedback seriously; have shared the comments with my team as it helps us to improve and address the issues where needed.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to your return visit soon.

Best regards,

Olivier Heuchenne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Takamaka
1.7 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
8.3 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Seychelles

Property: Raffles Seychelles
Address: Anse Takamaka, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Takamaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From across the continents of Europe and Asia, the legend of Raffles now extends to the enchanting islands of the Seychelles, cradled at the heart of the Indian Ocean. Raffles Praslin Seychelles presents an all-villa Seychelles luxury resort nestled within the stunning island of Praslin that was once declared the rediscovered Garden of Eden. This Seychelles hotel seeks to present guests with an escape where warm native Seychellois hospitality is infused with the enchanting touch of Raffles. Surrender to the sun-kissed allure of Anse Takamaka’s powdered sands, on to which spill the eighty-six spacious villas fashioned to assure lavish comfort. These private abodes offer a choice of whispering, opal-hued oceans and lush green hills. Be immersed in the relaxing therapies of the exclusive Raffles Spa, which coupled with the soothing embrace of unsullied nature, rejuvenate both body and spirit. Taste the distinguished flavours of the breezy Curieuse Seafood Restaurant, the local cuisine and Mediterranean delights of Losean or the light comfort food by the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffles Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Praslin Hotel Anse Takamaka
Raffles Seychelles Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing