We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raffles Seychelles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raffles Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Recently returned from the best hotel we've ever stayed at. The welcome was the start of this perfect resort. We were met by Brigitte,a very friendly local lady who explained everything about the resort to us whilst we were sipping our welcome drinks. Then the hotel manager himself came to greet us, which we thought was a nice touch. We were then introduced to one of our two butlers who took us by golf buggy to our villa 213.Wow,what a breathtaking view and exquisite room. Our butlers were excellent. Everything was perfect, the staff couldn't do enough for us The best all round customer service we have ever experienced. On checkout we had a flat tyre on our hire car and we were in a rush to get to the airport, within 5 minutes the staff had changed the tyre for us and we were sadly on our way. Thank you everyone particularly Brigitte for making our holiday such a wonderful and unforgettable experience. Next time we return, we'll stay longer. Only one minor issue, the restaurants are a little pricey. But that's the price you pay to stay in paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 213 near the spa with exquisite views overlooking the Indian Ocean and surroundin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANG263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear ANG263, warm greetings from Raffles Praslin, Seychelles!

Thank you very much for your delightful feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to learn that your holiday with us was perfect in all the details, meaning that you enjoyed each and every moment at Raffles Praslin.

Please stay assured that we have passed your words of appreciation to all the team members, including Brigitte and your butlers. Brigitte was so happy to learn that her service has been valued so much and would like to thank you very much for your beautiful words.

Dear ANG263, Mr. Ganster and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon for another perfect but longer vacation. We remain at your service for any further assistance.
Again, a very big thank you.
Sincerely,
The Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    166
    39
    16
    10
See reviews for
172
671
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in a villa further up and had great views. We ended up at the Raffles by accident as we had an apartment booked on La Digue and arrived just after the floodings, so were attacked by mosquitoes left right and centre. We decided to leave after 2 days as the facilities on La Digue are a bit basic as well.
The Raffles is the best hotel on Praslin, but for my taste the accommodation is a bit too modern - the roofs look a bit out of place as well. I like modern design, but I feel that a bit of character is nice as well. The room itself was great with everything you need, and the views to the sea were very nice as well.
Breakfast was OK, but nothing to write home about. Service was OK, apart from the beach service, which was a bit hit and miss. The guy at the bar (forgot his name) was great - very chatty and great cocktails. Dinner could be improved upon - the buffets are fine but more tailored towards Asian guests (of which there were a lot of when we stayed). We overheard a funny conversation of a Russian guest complaining about the limited choices - he clearly wanted more meat. :)
Overall, the Seychelles in general are totally overpriced - and we will stick to the Maldives going forward like we used to.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurumba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Kurumba77, warm greetings from Raffles Praslin, Seychelles!
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are very grateful for the nice description of the resort and views, as well for the constructive comments. Please stay assured that we are continuously striving to achieve perfection, looking into improving our service day by day.

The design of Raffles Praslin is modern indeed, however we hope you would agree with us that the decor is naturally blending with the environment - there is nothing too extravagant or out of the place. Raffles Praslin is nested in a huge garden with flowers and tropical trees and we are very fond of preserving the environment and enhancing the resort's natural look.

Dear Kurumba77, while we understand your affection for the Maldives, we hope to be able to welcome you back to Raffles Praslin in the not so far future.
We remain at your service for any further assistance.
Again, a very big thank you.
Sincerely,
The Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A perfect getaway resort. Picture postcard setting and world class in every respect. To wake up every morning to unbeatable views in the best accommodation we have had the pleasure of staying in says it all. Staff, food, cleanliness, helpfulness....it has it all! Just one problem - I was confused on the journey from the airport because the resort is in the north east of the island and not south west as per the tripadvisor map! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padstaboydidgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Padstaboydidgood, warm greetings from Raffles Praslin, Seychelles!
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to learn that you had a fantastic vacation at Raffles Praslin.
We are very grateful to you for pointing out the wrong location of the hotel on the map. We have just contacted TripAdvisor to rectify it and hope that very soon it will be adjusted correctly.
Dear Padstaboydidgood, Mr. Ganster and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon for another perfect vacation. We remain at your service for any further assistance.
Again, a very big thank you.
Sincerely,
The Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

lovely hotel,
dream came true,
responsive, attentive staff,
expensive hotel, but worth the money
took a catamaran for the day, had a wonderful time, great launch, stunning beauty of the place, snorkeling, swimming with wild turtle. Fantastic!
I advise for everyone.

Room Tip: Villa with Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Maria I, warm greetings from Raffles Praslin, Seychelles!
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to learn that your holiday with us was a dream that came true. This shows that you enjoyed each and every moment at Raffles Praslin.
Mr. Ganster and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon for another dream vacation. We remain at your service for any further assistance.
Again, a very big thank you.
Sincerely,
The Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

One would imagine the beaches in heaven to bear close resemblance to the splendor that is Raffles, Seychelles. I visited Raffles during the month of September. A time of year when the mind looks to lock in the final sights and sounds of the northeast summer. I've travelled extensively, across Europe, Asia, and the African continent; and Raffles, Praslin is about as remote, as you can get. If you are looking for a place off the beaten path, US citizens will certainly find this gem of a island getaway, the Gilligan's Island, or Castaway (think Tom Hanks movie), of the Indian Ocean.

Tropical paradise. Even hardened type-"A" workaholics with iPads at the ready, and stock market quotations stubbornly invading every conscious thought; will succumb to the sound of the rolling sea, crashing upon century-aged rocks, in a land formed from the cosmos, in the time before Internet.

Immaculate rooms, finished with every amenity, greets you the very minute you arrive, and in between outdoor showers or dips in your private pool. The panoramic views from inside my luxurious living room with flat screen TVs and 35-foot sliding glass doors, built into the side of a mountain; match the beach view from your private deck surrounding the crystal blue, step-in pool; neighbors to the barbecue grill 20-feet to the right, and absolutely gorgeous 30x20 (approximately) cabana lounge area 25-feet to the left (par-tay!).

Your wish, their desire. Honestly, the best part of any vacation is not having to deal with details. I mainly just want to express my intentions, and have a series of events auto-magically fall into place that even my unwilling-to-relax conscious mind breaks down and raises the white flag. That's the beauty that is Raffles: we were assigned two young butlers that attended to our every want, 15 hours a day, 7 days a week. Anything that resembled a need or desire, is arranged with almost-perfect precision and near-flawless execution by a concierge team with exceptional credentials. Giving us their personal cell phone numbers is among the many significant differentiators that separates Raffles from other 5-star resort properties. Our butlers, Luc and Ashok, are by far the creme-de-la-creme of personal assistants: ever present, without being intrusive; informative without needless complexity. Raffles would do well to clone these two and punch out replicas, that are both anticipatory and courteous, with all of the understanding and empathy that would soften even the most cynical frequent flyer. Other notable staff members worth mentioning are Edmond, Nico, Avi, Reaj: these are the go-to guys that make problems disappear -definitely, worthy of commendation. P.S. Edmond - Boston Celtics Suck, Go Knicks! ;)

We met Christophe Ganster, (GM), and part of his staff, at the manager's cocktail. There we discussed various topics related to our stay and what we thought might need improvement. The conversation veered from the justification of free internet service (highly in favor of), to why Euros were used as the default currency during bookings, but not during dining (Seychelles Rupees). We discussed the chef's menu, and Christophe's plan to offer more dining choices, particularly during periods of low volume; and how he's looking to develop Raffles Seychelles into a premier Raffles property along the lines of Raffles Mecca or Raffles Kiev. For seemingly hours, we discussed what we thought was working, and what wasn't. Unanimously, we were impressed with Christophe's vision and without hesitation, all agreed this guy is going to be the next CEO. His sheer focus on customer service, high-value activity, and execution is impressive; he's definitely a stand-out candidate (I wonder, if he knew he was talking to a group of entrepreneurs and Wall Street financial types, if the conversation would have been any different).

YOLO!!. So, all in all, this place, along with the Four Seasons Seychelles, should make your bucket list (List of things to do before you die). The side trips to La Digue, the food (definitely better than the Four Seasons), the service, the exclusivity, the awesome touches; like having a drawn, candle-hlit bath waiting for you after dinner, makes this place a must-go. No kidding. Any place that uses golf-carts as elevators is definitely a place worth checking out. Make sure you bring a camera, or two! Cheers

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Gary A, warm greetings from Raffles Praslin, Seychelles!
We are so grateful for your enticing and detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. It is your sincere appreciation that matters the most in the end. Thank you so much.
We are continuously striving to achieve perfection, looking into improving our service day by day. In the same time, we are always fostering new ideas, envisioning changes and welcoming challenges as well.
Trusting that you had a nice stay with us in our Royal One Bedroom Villa, please stay assured that we will pass your words of appreciation to all the team members, including your butlers Luc and Ashok. They will be very happy to learn that their service has been valued so much.
Dear Gary A, Mr. Ganster and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon to our “Tropical Paradise” as you perfectly described it. We remain at your service for any further assistance.
Again, a very big thank you.
Sincerely,
The Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Raffles Praslin in September 2013 during our honeymoon and had the privilege of being upgraded to a Panoramic Suite overlooking the bay - AMAZING and definitely priceless!!

The hotel is made out of 80-something bungalows and electric buggies with butler are available to go from one place of the resort to the other - very useful luxury!!!

The rooms are stunning with all the technology and equipments one can expect from such a hotel and all have superb views over the ocean.

Food is GREAT at both their restaurants (one a-la-carte restaurant and one Seafood restaurant).
We would like to highlight a special individual in the restaurant Staff: Sebastien! Sebastien provided us with excellent advice on wines to go with our meals and always matched our tastes - while being very nice to talk to and knowledgable on the different estates he was describing! Sebastien is definitely a great asset to this hotel!

The only minor drawback was check out that has not been very efficient, the lady actually mixing our room with the one from another guest..... but after the 3 perfect days at the hotel, this was really a minor detail.

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to a Panoramic Suite! Worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FandSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear FandSTravel,

Thank you very much for your review on our resort. The staff at Raffles Praslin Seychelles pride ourselves on providing the best service, and we are extremely happy to hear that you have experienced it here with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Panoramic villa as well as the food, and Sebastien is indeed our resident sommelier who is an expert with wines. We are glad that he could accommodate to your tastes and therefore make your dinner much better.

We hope to see you in the near future and if you need any assistance with bookings, please let us know.

All the best.

Sincerely,
The Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My Husband and I traveled to Praslin island mid August 2013 for our late anniversary celebration.
Upon our arrival everything was arranged perfectly and romantically.. We were greeted with passion fruit tea and a tour around the hotel and if you never tried a butler service, let us tell you the butlers have raised the standards for any butler services we will try in other future travel we make.. They are friendly and thoughtful .. We had a pretty romantic arrangements and dinner for two by the beach with fancy exquisite and customized menu seafood grill. Our room was the Panoramic pool villa pretty spacious and amazing with our own pool. W had long afternoon walks and it will stay as a great memory for both of us.
Plus we arranged a fishing trip and we caught a yummy a yellow fin tuna and a king fish and it was a delicious meal done by the hotel chef..


We were glad we chose Raffles Praslin

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SA_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear SA_Qatar,

Thank you for your recent review for Raffles Praslin Seychelles. The staff are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic anniversary celebration. Our butler service is indeed one-of-a-kind, and we are glad that they made your stay more comfortable. It sounds like you’ve just had your perfect vacation, with the walks and the romantic dinner, and Raffles Praslin is very honored to have been a part of it.

We hope to see you in the near future and all the best. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need assistance in any future bookings.

Sincerely,
The Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Takamaka
1.7 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,242 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
963 reviews
8.3 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#1 of 7 in La Digue Island
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
206 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
740 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Seychelles

Property: Raffles Seychelles
Address: Anse Takamaka, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Takamaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From across the continents of Europe and Asia, the legend of Raffles now extends to the enchanting islands of the Seychelles, cradled at the heart of the Indian Ocean. Raffles Praslin Seychelles presents an all-villa Seychelles luxury resort nestled within the stunning island of Praslin that was once declared the rediscovered Garden of Eden. This Seychelles hotel seeks to present guests with an escape where warm native Seychellois hospitality is infused with the enchanting touch of Raffles. Surrender to the sun-kissed allure of Anse Takamaka’s powdered sands, on to which spill the eighty-six spacious villas fashioned to assure lavish comfort. These private abodes offer a choice of whispering, opal-hued oceans and lush green hills. Be immersed in the relaxing therapies of the exclusive Raffles Spa, which coupled with the soothing embrace of unsullied nature, rejuvenate both body and spirit. Taste the distinguished flavours of the breezy Curieuse Seafood Restaurant, the local cuisine and Mediterranean delights of Losean or the light comfort food by the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raffles Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Praslin Hotel Anse Takamaka
Raffles Seychelles Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing