We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Celebration”
Review of Raffles Seychelles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary Celebration”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent nine nights at Raffles, to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary just before Christmas, and could not have asked for a better experience. The staff, at every level, were excellent, friendly and helpful. We were upgraded from an Ocean View Villa to a Panoramic Villa (195) with wonderful views and complete privacy. Due to preparations for Christmas, we didn't have full access to all the bars and restaurants in the resort, but the Curieuse restaurant and pool bar provided ample and varied meals. We had a couple of minor issues in the first few days but the staff responded well and it was obvious that any concerns were treated with courtesy and immediate responsiveness.

On our anniversary, we decided to have the in villa dining experience - we didn't like the menu offered, but Piason, who oversees events, met with us and helped us choose something more to our taste. It ended up being a beautiful evening (even the rain stayed away), with flowers strewn on the floor and table, candlelight, the bath set with more flower petals and salts, and a half bottle of champagne.

The resort amenities are excellent - large pool area, beach just beyond, with good recreational activities (snorkeling, kayaks etc.), and plenty of staff around; buggies to take you to and from your villas (the resort is on a very steep hill). But what makes Raffles remarkable, in our experience, is the quality of the staff. Many five star hotels profess provision of top quality service but what we experienced at Raffles Praslin exceeded all our expectations. It felt much more like family than a service environment.

I have slightly marked down on value for money - only because there is a 10% service charge on everything and then a 10% service charge on the final bill. That felt a little bit like double charging - the only negative we can come up with!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SELinDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear SelinDoha,

Greetings from Raffles Praslin Seychelles.

Firstly we would like to congratulate you on your Silver Wedding anniversary and thanking you for choosing our resort to celebrate your big day.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our team always enjoys receiving comments and would to like extend credits to Piason for making your anniversary day memorable with the excellent service.

Thank you very much for your comment: "...But what makes Raffles remarkable, in our experience, is the quality of the staff". We are very honored to read it and pomise to continue to deliver Raffles service.

We would like to clarrify that a 16.5% for VAT and a 10% for service charge is charged to the final bill at the end of your stay.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your Gold Wedding anniversary.

We remain at your service for any further assistance.

Sincerely yours,

Raffles Praslin Seychelles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    169
    39
    16
    10
See reviews for
177
682
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed at the Raffles for our honeymoon for 8 nights. When we arrived our room was upgraded - what a nice touch! A great hotel where the service provided was absolutely top class - nothing we asked for was too much. The butler service was great and it took the stress out of organising tours/day trips during our stay.
The rooms were huge and extremely comfortable and could not fault it. The breakfast was extremely good and had a wide range of choice.

The only reason why the hotel was not given 5 stars - was because of 2 minor complaints:-

i) the housekeeper was a bit too attentive and came to clean our room when we were in our room trying to relax. The hotel knows when we are in or out of our rooms - why can it not be arranged so that the room is cleaned when we are out of the room??00!!!
ii) the price for lunch and dinner was extremely high but I suppose this is to be expected from a resort like this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corion34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Corion34,

Warm regards and greetings from Raffles Praslin Seychelles,

We are delighted to read your comments on Trip Advisor and very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at the resort.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. While we are delighted that you enjoyed your villa and the whole property, we are concerned to read about some of the levels of service you came across during your stay.

Our priority is to make all our guests feel well looked after and we are sorry that we fell short of this during your stay with us.

The Raffles Praslin Team look forward to welcoming you back soon in paradise.

We remain at your service for any further assistance

Sincerely yours

Raffles Praslin Seychelles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I visited Raffles Praslin, Seychelles for my Honeymoon.
This is the best as it can get. Just a dream kind of place from the very beginning.
The villas are beautiful in itself, specially the plunge pool.
No doubt I was amazed at every service provided by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PranavB2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear PranavB2K,

Greetings from Raffles Praslin Seychelles.

Thank you very much for choosing Raffles Praslin for your honeymoon and for sharing amazing review about the resort and the whole team. We are very happy to read that we created a memorable stay for you.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in paradise.

Sincerely yours.

Raffles Praslin Seychelles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Raffles Praslin is one of those hotels that make your stay unforgettable. Hotel is gorgeous, very well located, secluded yet with plenty of activities for adults and children.
Rooms are extremely comfortable and beautiful with an especial note to the bathroom design: amazing view from the bathtub! The private swimming pool and all amenities make you wonder why should leave the room and enjoy all the rest. What a lovely terrace to spend hours thinking about nothing!
Staff is super friendly and we’d like to especially thank our butler Kavi, who was very helpful, inspired us confidence and went that extra mile to cater to our requests.
Beach is small but beautiful, excellent if you want privacy and some peace. Water temperature was just perfect and no waves, a paradise!
Main swimming pool is absolutely gorgeous, temperature controlled (I guess, as the water temperature was perfect!), with space to lie down IN the water. What else can we want? Food at the pool bar was nice and the staff even provided some pool toys for our child.
Breakfast was delicious.
If travelling with small children, be aware that this hotel is located on a hillside, so the rooms are not that easy to reach when walking or pushing a stroller (pathways are really steep). Golf carts are easily available and we never waited more than 2 minutes. Excellent service!
Raffles is an excellent place to stay if you are looking for a peaceful place in Praslin with access to a lot of comfort and who knows, some activities. Although the hotel was full, we felt like we were the only family staying there. Unforgettable! Would definitely come back and for sure recommend to other travelers.

Room Tip: Panoramic view rooms have a great view, but stay a bit higher and more difficult to reach on foot. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GPSfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear GPS Family,

Greetings from Raffles Praslin Seychelles.

Thank you so much for staying with us and for recommending us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at Raffles Praslin, and that that we made your stay unforgettable. With great recommendations and suggestions from our guests we strive to continue to offer the best service and continually improve our guest experience.

The Raffles Praslin Seychelles Team looks forward to welcoming you, your family and friends to the property.

We will remain at your service, for any further assistance.

Raffles Praslin Seychelles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at the Raffles Praslin and the experience was truly remarkable. I really appreciate when a hotel pays attention to details from the room amenities, to excursions... So I can say it was one of the most beautiful hotels, probably in all of Seychelles (as its not my first time there) in terms of location, which interprets into a beautiful view, great villas, privacy, plunge pools, friendly hotel staff who make you feel right at home and you don't ever want to leave!

I would surely go back to the same hotel.

Room Tip: A sea view villa is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mannotg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Mannotg,

Greetings from Raffles Praslin Seychelles.

Thank you for taking a little time to share these lovely words with the Raffles Team and to the world and thank you again for choosing Raffles Praslin Seychelles for your vacation.

We are very pleased to read that you and your husband had an outsatnding experience with us here in paradise and that the whole team has contributed to make your stay an unforgetable one. We all have enjoyed having you as a guest at the resort and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Raffles Praslin Seychelles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Even though I stay for only one night in Raffles, It felt like a week of Joy and relaxation! The experience start at the gates of the resort, where you are expected, welcomed and given a brief tour about the hotel. Our amazing butler "Ashok" then came to lead us to our luxurious room. We booked an Ocean View room, but were upgraded to a panoramic room when I explained to them that I needed a room with full privacy that the room pool can't be viewed from any angle.

The moment we entered the room, we were amazed by the ocean view and the indoor pool. The rooms were spacious and the bed is directed toward the balcony door, so that you wake up to the ocean.

The Butler "Ashok" have prepared an anniversary gift for us; when we came back one night to find a hot bath filled with red roses wating for us.

The food in the hotel is so delicious, we tried both in-room lunch and dinner and they were of the best meals I had in Seychelles.

Even though it will be hard to leave your luxurious room, but the resort has a lot of amazing forests and beaches to see.

Great Stay, great team, and amazing service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Ahmed M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review on your stay at Raffles Praslin.

We are honored to learn that one day at Raffles Praslin could provide so much joy and satisfaction.
Your butler Ashok is glad to know that he succeeded to make you feel pampered and is thanking you for your appreciation.

Dear Ahmed M, Mr. Ganster and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon to Raffles Praslin. We hope that we will have the pleasure to delight you for a couple of days instead.

We remain at your service for any further assistance.
Again, a very big thank you.
Sincerely,
The Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at Raffles for just over a week, as part of a two week honeymoon, and I have to say it was an amazing experience. The service is excellent, and very attentive, with everybody referring to us by name, and going over & above to ensure our stay met the highest standards.
We were made to feel like we were on our honeymoon, with treats given, such as a romantic bath with rose petals, and champagne. They also had a personal butler attending to all our needs regarding any bookings or concerns that we had.

We were also given great recommendations for restaurants on the island of Praslin, as well as things to do, and I was more than happy to provide tips to the staff, as they were excellent. The room that was offered was really spacious with an amazing bathroom and loads of wardrobe space. All the features were modern and the cleaner did more than just clean the room, he shaped our towels into swans and decorated them in rose petals! It definitely felt like we were waited on hand and foot; a perfect way to start married life.

There was a night with traditional dancing and singing of an African influence which was really good, and was a way to give a new dimension to the hotel.

The only reason I did not give Raffles an excellent rating was due to the lack of variety in the food choices, as there are only two restaurants, and some nights the quality of the food could've been a bit better. This has been acknowledged, and we were told that a new chef was being hired. We had a slight issue with our bill and were very impressed with how the manager dealt with this.

Overall it was a great experience, and I would go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view was excellent - love this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 962charless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Charles S,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your honeymoon celebration and for taking the time to write such a nice review on your stay at Raffles Praslin.

We are very happy to learn that we succeeded to provide the highest standard of service. Our staff is committed to go the extra mile to ensure that the guests are given a wow experience. We love to pamper our honeymooners with all those small touches like the bed swan decoration, a rose petal bath with champagne and small treats.

With regards to the food variety, indeed we have now a new Executive Chef who is looking into diversifying and improving the current menus. We have already started to receive very positive comments during the past weeks, as we strive to bring the culinary experience at an excellence level in no time.

Dear Charles S, Mr. Ganster and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon to Raffles Praslin, why not, for a wedding anniversary?

We remain at your service for any further assistance.
Again, a very big thank you.
Sincerely,
The Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Takamaka
1.7 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
8.3 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Seychelles

Property: Raffles Seychelles
Address: Anse Takamaka, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Takamaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From across the continents of Europe and Asia, the legend of Raffles now extends to the enchanting islands of the Seychelles, cradled at the heart of the Indian Ocean. Raffles Praslin Seychelles presents an all-villa Seychelles luxury resort nestled within the stunning island of Praslin that was once declared the rediscovered Garden of Eden. This Seychelles hotel seeks to present guests with an escape where warm native Seychellois hospitality is infused with the enchanting touch of Raffles. Surrender to the sun-kissed allure of Anse Takamaka’s powdered sands, on to which spill the eighty-six spacious villas fashioned to assure lavish comfort. These private abodes offer a choice of whispering, opal-hued oceans and lush green hills. Be immersed in the relaxing therapies of the exclusive Raffles Spa, which coupled with the soothing embrace of unsullied nature, rejuvenate both body and spirit. Taste the distinguished flavours of the breezy Curieuse Seafood Restaurant, the local cuisine and Mediterranean delights of Losean or the light comfort food by the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raffles Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Praslin Hotel Anse Takamaka
Raffles Seychelles Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing