We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!”
Review of Raffles Seychelles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed 7 nights at the resort and had a wonderful time. Our bay-view villa was upgraded to ocean-view, which was amazing! The accomondations and facilities were overall great. What seems to make this resort stand out from other luxurious resorts is the nice and relaxed atmosphere the staff somehow managed to create, despite how busy they all must have been. We truly felt like we were the VIP guests... Our butler Ashok made sure we were happy and relaxed at all times, quite an accomplishment given he also had 8 other villas to attend to. The food in the restaurants was also very good, and we felt no need to go anywhere else. Once I mentioned my interest for cooking, the restaurant staff arranged our own private cooking class with some of the chefs where we got to cook our own creole lunch, quite an experiece.

It's hard to find anything negative to point out, as we were truly spoiled during our stay. However we experienced a couple of nights were the restaurant staff seemed to have some problems with the logistics during dinner service at some of the busiest nights. (Apparantly Marc was off from work these nights...)

Like most of the guests, we were sad to leave this beautiful place, and all the nice people working there. It felt like leaving friends.

Room Tip: Ocean view villas, really makes a differene!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inghild55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Raffles Praslin. We are delighted that you had great stay and thoroughly enjoyed having you as a guest at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Tropical Regards,
The Raffles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Having arrived a day late due to our flight from Tanzania being delayed, we were met by the most helpful staff there could be. They got us checked in very quickly and soon had us over to our Sea View Villa.

Our butler, Durga, was one of the nicest chaps you could meet and nothing was ever a problem for him. He was the nicest member of staff we met whilst in Raffles Parslin and is an asset to the organisation - take note management!! He would arrange dinner for us, always be there to pick us up on time and sort out the ironing of my shirts etc.

The restaurants offer a very good if slightly limited choice of food. It would be nice to see another restaurant maybe so that you have a bit more choice but all of the food we had was of very good quality. The breakfast buffet would change slightly each day much to my wife's annoyance - one day you were able to get hash browns and the next two days you weren't!

The villa was immaculate, cleaned regularly and had all of the facilities you could possibly want including outdoor shower, outdoor fridge etc. They are kept in very good condition although are relatively new at circa 3 years old I believe. I did notice that some of the decking was starting to look fairly weathered but hopefully the management will ensure this is kept on top off.

We had a cocktail night with the management during which the resort manager came over and spoke with us and knew all about us arriving late due to our flight but couldn't have done any more to make us feel welcome and ensure we were happy for the duration of our stay.

All in all, an excellent place to stay in the Seychelles which I would highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Sea view villas have the most fantastic view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guests ,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for recommending us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time at Raffles Praslin. We hope to welcome you back .

The Raffles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in a bay view villa for one night in June. The rooms are lovely - outdoor shower, indoor shower, bathtub, small pool, great spacious terrace.
The services in the room are great. You get a personal butler who arranges for all your needs. In villa dining option are vast.

The only downside I would say is the service in the public areas. The servers are not very knowledgeable and the service is fairly slow, the food is not to the standard it should be in a 5star hotel.

All by all nice property to spend one or two romantic nights and to hardly leave the room. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to write your review. While we are delighted that you enjoyed your villa, we are concerned to read about some of the levels of service you came across during your stay.

Please rest assured we are taking all this feedback very seriously.

Best Regards,
The Raffles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a difficult review to compose. If given the option we would rate our stay a 3.5. The physical plant of the resort is beautiful and our accommodations, a one bedroom panoramic suite, were fantastic- enormous living room, dining room, bedroom, dressing area and bathroom, with huge terrace area (small plunge pool) and sweeping uninterrupted views of the bay below. Butler service was attentive and caring. The main dining room was excellent- with a great buffet breakfast and a limited, but delicious, dinner menu, with great service. On all these accounts, Raffles is deserving of an excellent trip advisor rating. Where Raffles faltered, and in a big way, was its alternative poolside restaurant (which is both its lunch venue and,during our stay, its only alternative restaurant (as Raffles had closed its asian restaurant for "renovations" - although none was apparently ongoing during our time there)). This restaurant yields an awful mess of multiple menus, one asian, one creole, and on one night a third carb heavy bbq, all yielding consistently expensive, sub-par food (management trip advisor responses asserting the competitiveness of its pricing notwithstanding). The poolside restaurant also functions as the only happy hour type bar facility, as the lounge adjacent to the main restaurant was never open during the 5-7 pm happy hour period. The poolside restaurant/bar was a chaotic mess (despite never having very many guests present). Service was usually terrible, with a harried manager serving in that capacity and also as its principal waiter and busboy (and intermediary with the disengaged bar staff). Other poolside servers, when one could locate one (we often sat for extremely long periods with no service at all), were for the most part untrained and disinterested in the guests. Bar service poolside was poor- in terms of the quality of the service and the availability of particular brands of liquor - "yes we have grey goose, oh no, we don't have it, oh yes we do have it, but only up the hill in the main (apparently open only when dinner begins) lounge". We were left wondering how hard it would be for a five star resort to bring a bottle down to the patrons. That was never offered as an option. Additionally, and maddeningly, nearly every time we ordered a drink at the poolside bar, we experienced a customer- adverse billing error. Examples of bar tab errors included failing to provide the discounted happy hour drink rates advertised in the daily resort bulletin, being charged for double shots of liquor when singles were ordered and served (at $34 USD for a single shot gin and tonic (once VAT and service charges are added) something worthy of an objection), being charged from the wrong type and grade of liquor (eg, ordering a shelf vodka and being charged for a super premium gin) and being charged prices for particular brands of spirits at rates significantly higher than those listed in the only printed rates provided (those in the guest rooms). In only one instance was the error corrected at the venue. In each of the others, we were told that corrections would be made on our account bill. This never occurred until an ugly check-out encounter, where we had to dispute each charge with an overzealous assistant manager, who held firmly to his position that everything was correct until, i think, we exhausted him with logic in the face of intransigence (at which point the appropriate adjustments were finally made). We left angry and disappointed in the whole Raffles experience over something, that with the slightest of management finesse, could have been easily, promptly and justifiably corrected.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ajmia111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had our honeymoon here after the main island Mahe and it was excellent choice! We were greated well and they upgraded us for a better villa since we were on honeymoon. Villa we stayed was incredibly beautiful with pool, big terrace, huge bathroom and most astonishing view from the villa - full ocean view! Cant describe how happy we were. Our butler Leon was extremely polite, helpful and he would just organize everything for us - boat to the other islands, snorkelling, sunset champagne on the beach (one of the top 10 beaches in the world) and unforgettable private BBQ dinner at our villa with chef and waiter. Everything was just incredibly amazing. Villas are a bit away from the main building and its difficult to walk, however you call a buggy and its there within few minutes.

Room Tip: all the villas have private pool and astonishing view. Upper the location of the villa on the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for recommending us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time at Raffles Praslin. We hope to welcome you back for your next anniversary.

The Raffles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

No better place to have celebrated easter and my husband's and son's birthday. We were treated like royalties to a wonderful afternoon at Raffles starting by a tour of the hotel, totally amazing... The BBQ lunch was simply delicious and we were so nicely offered a banana flovoured birthday cake. The team were great and ever so attentive. Thank you to Mr. Ganster for the hassle free reservation, Bernard for the amazing tour, Reaz and Walter for the wonderful service. We dream to be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRLepathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guests ,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our team always enjoys receiving comments and I will share these with them as they will be thrilled to hear that they contributed to your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you and your partner back shortly.

Best Regards,

The Raffles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Small limited and overall overpriced and exceeded by others. A true break like this should be special every day. We did not find this. It was great to start and got worse with every day. We have travelled extensively and it was like the management was missing here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts
5  Thank Sathyan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guests,

We are so sorry to hear about your recent experience at our hotel.
Our priority is to make all our guests feel well looked after and I am sorry that we fell short of this during your stay with us.
We are taking your complaint very seriously.

Best Regards,
The Raffles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Takamaka
1.7 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,369 reviews
8.3 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
3.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,027 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,052 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Seychelles

Address: Anse Takamaka, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Takamaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Price Range: £634 - £1,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From across the continents of Europe and Asia, the legend of Raffles now extends to the enchanting islands of the Seychelles, cradled at the heart of the Indian Ocean. Raffles Praslin Seychelles presents an all-villa Seychelles luxury resort nestled within the stunning island of Praslin that was once declared the rediscovered Garden of Eden. This Seychelles hotel seeks to present guests with an escape where warm native Seychellois hospitality is infused with the enchanting touch of Raffles. Surrender to the sun-kissed allure of Anse Takamaka’s powdered sands, on to which spill the eighty-six spacious villas fashioned to assure lavish comfort. These private abodes offer a choice of whispering, opal-hued oceans and lush green hills. Be immersed in the relaxing therapies of the exclusive Raffles Spa, which coupled with the soothing embrace of unsullied nature, rejuvenate both body and spirit. Taste the distinguished flavours of the breezy Curieuse Seafood Restaurant, the local cuisine and Mediterranean delights of Losean or the light comfort food by the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raffles Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Praslin Hotel Anse Takamaka
Raffles Seychelles Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing