We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Vina Casa Marin Winery
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Lo Abarca
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Viña Casa Marín is a family-owned boutique winery located in the San Antonio appellation, founded by María Luz Marín in 2000, a passionate wine maker and entrepreneur. Viña Casa Marin is now recognized as one of the 100 best vineyards in the world. Its truly unique terroir, just 4 kilometers from the coast, makes it currently Chile's closest vineyard to the Pacific Ocean. Casa Marin has been described as the “most daring and innovative vineyard” in Chile, famous for their cool climate fine wines. They have won many awards including the “Best Sauvignon Blanc in the World” in 2010 and the best in Chile in 2013. Open for private tours and tastings of their Premium wines, lunches with the family members and winemaker, and overnight stays in the private Bed & Breakfast, situated at one of the vineyard’s most privileged spots with a spectacular view of the Pacific ocean.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The house is situated in the middle of the vineyards, there are no neighboors and no streets. Ideal for relaxation and quiteness.We rented both rooms which i recommend to anyone as otherwise you share the living room with other people and bathrooms ( there are 2) are outside the room. There is a big terrace and barbecue. You can use all of them. The fireplace in the living room is very nice. Everything is modern and pretty new. We did teh wine tasting at casa marin, it was very good. For lunch we went to el sauce in the village, excellent restaurant. Breakfast is in sthe house, a maid comes in the morning. We would go back any time to this house!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 670BarbaraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    20
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“World Class Hospitality”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Ealier this year, my wife and I travelled to Argentina and Chile. We had planned to spend a couple of days in Chile's wine country at the end of the trip. The travel company we worked with arranged an overnight stay at the Villa Casa Marin, a small guest house that sits atop a hill in the middle of vineyards that are located directly across from the winery.

When we arrived at the winery, we met the owner's brother (and unofficial chief ambassador) who drove us to the villa. Along the way, he gave us a personal tour of the vineyard and told us about the wine industry in Chile.

The first thing that struck us when we arrived at the villa were the breathtaking views. It was like being in the middle of a living picture postcard. The villa itself was quaint, modern and very comfortable. All of the creature comforts (including wireless) were there. There was really nothing more that we could have asked for. But as lovely as the villa was, we quickly grabbed our wine glasses and headed out to the deck to take in the spectactular sunset. It was an unforgettable experience.

After sunset we were treated to a personal dinner at the villa that was prepared by a member of the winery staff. The food was superb and was accompanied by an award-winning bottle of Casa Marin Sauvignon Blanc. It was the perfect finish to a perfect evening.

The next morning, we were treated to a fascinating tour of the winery by our personal ambassador, Mr. Marin. Our tour group consisted of only four people, so there was ample opportunity for interaction which added to the experience. We also had a chance to meet Ms. Maria Luz Marin, owner of the winery. At the end of the tour, Mr. Marin hosted an intimate tasting for our group where we had the chance to experience several of Casa Marin's wonderfully-crafted wines. We have been on countless winery tours and tastings, and this one was definitely one of the most enjoyable and memorable.

We would highly recommend a visit to Casa Marin (or better yet, an overnight stay) if you are in the Casablanca Valley. We have definitely added it to the plan for future travel.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wine and food!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

12 of my friends and I visited Casa Marin and had a lunch pairing with wine. It was delicious-both the wine and the food! The owner of the winery joined our group for lunch and explained the wines and why they paired well with each course. It was a great experience and very educational! The grounds of the winery are also beautiful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jlk236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cool Climate Wines”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Being from San Francisco my wife and I are accustomed to the big cabernets of Napa Valley and the pinot and chardonnay from Sonoma. The San Antonio valley is similar to Sonoma but with closer proximity to the ocean and a more distinct minerality. San Antonio valley is strongly influenced by limestone in the soil, you can see it in the hillsides. This gives Casa Marin's wine a distinct flavor that we haven't found anywhere else. It also helps that the wines are well made, showcasing the unique land without overpowering the wine.

Almer was our tour guide and showed us around the property. The building itself is unassuming along with the wine cellar. We didn't get a chance to the see the small town of Lo Abarca, but the surrounding countryside is beautiful.

The tasting room is upstairs with a large window providing a great view. We were poured three wines, and ones that stood out were the 2009 Pinot and 2010 Syrah. We also tried the Sauvignon Blanc which was very unique, it showcased San Antonio's unique soil well. I am a sucker for a cool climate Syrah so we bought that and the Pinot. Almer also provided some locally made olive oil during the tasting which was flavorful and had some bite.

Overall a very personal and pleasant experience. However, be prepared to drop some cash. The wine is not cheap, and that is not just comparing it to Chilean wine, but the US as well. Almer told us that the founder and winemaker, Maria Luz, wanted to create a premium wine and charge a premium price. She succeeded on both fronts. The tour fee was also around 30 dollars per person and not waived with the purchase of wine. But was it worth it? Of course! This is one of Chile's "smaller" boutique producers and the wine is excellent. I admire Maria's tenacity and bravery starting Casa Marin in a valley that previously didn't have any wineries. It is worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite wines by the Pacific Ocean.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I organised a wine tasting for a group of Chilean and international friends at Viña Casa Marin as well as reserving a room at the vineyard´s accomodation for myself and my colleague the previous night. The accomodation was privately located in a secluded area of the vineyard with ocean side views of the sunrise and sunset. We were hosted for the wine tasting and tour of the vineyard by no less than a member of the Marin family as well the events manager. This gave us a level of insight and intimacy not easy to obtain in more commercial offerings available in Chile. Most importantly, the wines of Casa Marin are exquisite with an extraordinary level of quality for a vineyard only in existence for 10 years. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GJD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vina Casa Marin Winery also viewed

Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Lagunillas, Valparaiso Region
Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Vina Casa Marin Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing