We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service & Rude Staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Fuentes

Las Fuentes
Ranked #6 of 43 Restaurants in Purley
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service & Rude Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have been going here for years and have always enjoyed my time. However on Friday I went for a family meal and received such rude & appalling service that me and the family will never be eating here again. 1 of our meals was missed and not brought out until the rest of us had eaten. Mistakes happen and this is not a problem but then when asked why the delay as we were not told anything and left waiting the manager apologised and said it would be taken off the bill. Bill came at the end and we were still charged, manager called over again and was extremely rude said that that 'it’s only £15 and mistakes happen and he is not removing it from the bill it’s pathetic'. Appalling service will not be eating here again and to end the evening even more perfect two people from the party were up being sick all night from the food!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    69
    38
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lively Saturday night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Another great evening spent with family - a great place for all aged.

Wide choice of tasty tapas treats and extensive a la carte menu

Can't wait to go back again when we are next in the area

Helpful?
Thank Thesoupkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“busy saturday night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Dont listen to bad reviews ive been coming here for years went again last night and it was brilliant got a table quickly ordered the fantstic vina sol realistically priced at15 a bottle whole bill about £65 enjoyed gambas prawns the amazing ptatas brava sole goujons calamari and the best which is the aubergine bake ... I could live on this. Staff are best all deserve a great mention especially lauro I'll be back in a week or so well done !!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank myring1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex GB
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have been to this tapas bar and restaurant countless times over the years, always with family members, and have enjoyed every visit. I am truly puzzled by the negative comments from some people, especially about the service, although it is true to say that I have only ever been there on Saturday evenings, when it is always very busy, quite noisy, but with impeccable service from the many staff. If you like tapas, then the food is truly excellent, and the main dishes are equally good. This last time my favourite was the crab-stuffed baby sweet peppers, but it was hard to fault any of the food our party ate. None of the dishes are expensive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deltadry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had some tapas here recently, on a Friday without a booking. The restaurant was not full, but it wasn't creepily empty either. The menu did look quite varied and had lots of options, but unfortunately they didn't tell us any of their suggestions / specials for the evening. We also discovered that the descriptions on the menu weren't great - just some things much larger or smaller than anticipated, or very nearly the same dish when they did not list any of the same ingredients. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the service overall was quite quick - no waiting around for them. The tiramisu was to die for - we actually ordered a second piece.
The place is clean, easy to get to, right by the parking garage, close to the train station and the bus line. The toilets were clean and on ground floor too, no stairs at all to get in. Overall, we were pretty happy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenJenMcMostard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Fuentes also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Purley, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Purley, Greater London
 
Purley, Greater London
 

Been to Las Fuentes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing