We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Richmond Hotel
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 for 2 nights. The Room was clean and tidy but small and the stairs to the second floor are very steep for carrying you bags up. Also the rooms get a lot of road noise as I was in a room next to Mt Wellington Hwy. The staff on the front desk was good and the restaurant on site did a good meal.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near Mt Wellington Hwy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ev-Court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

The staff were friendly and Mt Richmond Hotel was easily locatable after driving a rental car from the airport. I was only breakfasting in the morning and sleeping there at night, I didn't spend any extra time there.
My room was up TWO flights of stairs that I needed to lug my bag up...that WAS hard work. It was fortunate that I only bought a small bag with me and only needed to make a couple of trips to get work stuff from the car up to the room. The room itself was adequate with basic tea and coffee making facilities although the jug was difficult to fill, the sink in the bathroom was a very small one.
The bed was HUGE and I did have a comfortable night the first night however the second night wasn't so good...the neighbouring room came in late, laughed, belched, farted, giggled and talked until the wee small hours of the morning, finally drifting off to sleep about 3am. The walls are VERY thin, the floor squeaks too. I could not hear the road from my room which was a plus. Friends in another room at the front of the motel said they could, so be aware of this if you book.
There is a small restaurant attached to the Hotel so it is adequately serviced if you don't have a vehicle to travel in.
Sylvia Park Mall is only a 7 minute drive away.

Room Tip: Don't get a road frontage room - it is a very busy road/road noise Try and get upstairs at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Having only seen this place via the web, It was clear that the hotel was not at the standard that the website suggested. It is a little run down, the rooms small, the bathrooms smaller BUT is has a great personality.
We (husband and I) were warm, the beds and pillows very comfy and the food at the inhouse restaurant was terrific. The staff in the restaurant were fantastic too.
If you see a hotel as just somewhere to sleep at night after touring around all day then this place is great. We hired a car as there isnt much around it directly and had a ball tripping around all over the place.
Mt. Smart Stadium (the home of the Warriors) is about an 8 minute drive up the road and the city of Auckland about 15 minutes.
The only thing I would have liked is a shelf in the bathroom for the toiletries BUT for real - are we that precious? I liked it's personality and its staff and will definately stay there again for next years match.
Go Storm? (although we lost this one)

Room Tip: The Queen King size economy room is terrific IF you are not precious about being able to swing a cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was after budget accommodation for a couple of nights and that is what we got. Rooms are very small. Floor in our room creaked and squeaked badly when we walked. Wi-fi not accessible in our room. Awoken at 5am by neighbour. Walls paper thin and he also had those pesky floorboards!
It is rather soul-less. Room service did respond quickly with our request for ice and water.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't reccomend to a homeless person. Local staff lovely but managed and operated un professionally no assistance, no help, no way woul I return I wouldn't even park my car anywhere near. I am genuinely surprised how this hotel stays open. It's a poor excuse for and establishment. I wouldn't trust the beds, in any rooms the facilities are appalling. And again management is for want of a better word completely incompetent. Good luck if you decide to try. It's on you

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed here earlier this week in a room that overlooked the pool. There is not much sound proofing between the rooms which meant I could pretty much hear all of the conversation in the room next door. The pool area also acts as an outdoor drinking area and the group that arrived at 6pm were still drinking and yelling at 10.30pm. I contacted reception to ask if they could be moved inside (the pool is supposed to be closed at 10pm) and was told the bar would close soon so "things should be quiter then". Of course when told it was last drinks the group ordered more and the noise continued on.

Management took no action to curb the noise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HarryW854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The room was small, and the bed and desk both huge. Result - no room for cases, no room to move, no space for bedside tables, no way to actually use the desk, as it almost hit the foot of the bed. The hotel has at least 2 wings facing each other & our room overlooked the restaurant - more accurately, the restaurant windows all faced directly into the room, and were no more than 10 feet away from our window, so we had no privacy at all! With the curtains drawn to shut out the wait staff (sitting and watching the restaurant TV as there were no customers actually eating), we felt as though we were spending the night in a very dark and overhot cupboard (no air-con, minimal lighting). The bedding and shower-room were clean, but the carpet was filthy - not just stained, but covered in fluff, hair, toe-nail clippings and the like. Definitely do not plan to return here any time ever. It's also in a pretty poor neighbourhood with no real amenities around - the only local choice of places to eat outside the hotel were a take-away fish and chip shop and a Wendy's burger bar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Wellington
1.8 mi away
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centr...
#1 of 4 in Mount Wellington
326 reviews
4.3 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.8 mi away
Best Western Ellerslie Ellerslie International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
736 reviews
3.4 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#5 of 5 in Manukau
124 reviews
4 mi away
Naumi Auckland Airport
Naumi Auckland Airport
#8 of 23 in Mangere
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Richmond Hotel

Address: 676 Mount Wellington Highway, Mount Wellington, Auckland 1062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mount Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mount Wellington
Price Range: £64 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, recently refurbished, just 10kms from Auckland city centre and 15kms from Airport. 8 conference/function venues & wedding facilities for up to 200 guests. Restaurant & Bar. Swimming pool, Spa & Gymnasium. Broadband internet throughout. Great food, great facilities and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Richmond Hotel Auckland/Mount Wellington, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing