We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you are looking for somewhere out of the Auckland CBD, but not too far away.....then stay here.
Great rooms, so much space. Nice in expensive restaurant.
I was there for work. I can really recommend the meeting rooms and the catering is not overly
Priced. Plenty of parking and if delegates are flying in its only 30 mins to the airport.

Room Tip: See if you can a room with a view of the lake
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJay2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here two nights as a base for visiting Waiheke and Rangitoto.
After the swift and welcoming check-in, we were delighted with our 5th floor room (525) and the amazing view of the Panmure Basin, however we found the whole floor and room were VERY warm. After an hour of having the air conditioner on full blast, we rang reception to let them know the room was still uncomfortably warm. Within 5 minutes the gentleman on duty had inspected the room and moved us across the hall to a much cooler room (528) Excellent, efficient service - we were not at all fazed about the room change and absolutely loved our stay - esp the having a hearty and compete breakfast overlooking the Basin.
The new bathrooms were particularly impressive and it was obvious to us that the place is run by an excellent team.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tomw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daron_Gray, Director of Sales at Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
I was dissappointed to hear that you had an issue with the air conditioning in the room but can confirm that this has been addressed by our maintenance team.
I was however pleased to hear that it was dealt with in a speedy manner and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed my stay. As a first-timer to NZ, the front desk staff were helpful with restaurant suggestions and taxi arrangements. Rooms were clean, spacious and the bed was great! A bit disappointed with the lack of free WIFI. I also got a bit of a shock when I checked out at the buffet breakfast price (NZD 32 for the full buffet???). The view from the breakfast table did partly make up for it. Overall, I will stay again next time I'm in Auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheScriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights and our experience of the Waipuna Hotel will last for a long time. Top staff very friendly and welcoming. Our room was on 4th floor and was quiet and relaxing.Enjoyed the views of the Lagoon from Wellington's bar.Our room service meal would of been the high light of all the food we ate in Auckland.All the service we received was just at the highest end of Hospitality staff.

Room Tip: level 4 rooms 412 I highly recommend for space
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynese2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at waipuna hotel on a number of occasions.
So family friendly! Each time we have stayed we can not find a fault! Price and location is a bonus! Very close to slivia park.

Reception staff are always so helpful.. we always request late check out because we just dont want to leave! There has bn times when we upgrade to the breakfast with our room! Which is very lovely and affordable... waipuna hotel is definitely our "go to" place to stay in auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My fiance and I were there for a conference and left home rather late due to unforseen circumstances. We arrived really late at night (or early hours of the morning). We parked around the west side of the building and entered through the small slider doors down a short hallway and we were checked into our room very quickly as the concierge could see we were looking traggic and tired. We hit our bed at around 1am. We could hear the other rooms as we wlaked down the hallway but not whilst int he room (thank goodness) and Im sure they could hear us at that time. We had two beds in our room and opted for the smaller one because it was waaaaay more comfortable then the larger bed that was rather firm, OK if you like that?!!. The room was well equipt with all the amenities and a well equipt bar and snacks however pricey, it was $5 for a bottle of water. Our bathroom was really nice, only wish I could have soaked in the bath tub. There was a bit of a lip as you enter the bathroom which might cause a spot of bother if you forget its there. You have to pay for movies and such if you dont get it in a package. We were up and at 'em by 7.30 to make the conference by 8.30am. The conference facilities are really good and the food that we were catered was great too, although I think some people didnt realise they were taking "specially ordered" food due to allergies which left the ones who ordered it waiting for more to be made. There is a really good large conference room and a number of small ones strategically placed to meet eachother as you go from one to another if you have picked a number of work shops to attend. I wanted to explore this gem a lot more but oh so couldnt. I would love to bring future hubby back here again so we can try to really enjoy it x

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aroha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights last month. 2 adults and 2 kinds (1 is 18) we got the excellent price of $169 including brekky for all of us..The staff were very helpful and accommodating, the room on the 4th floor has a new bathroom since we last stayed, lovely.The breakfast is beautiful and staff in the restaurant were very helpful too. We used the gym which was great, and my son used the spa.We also did the walk around the lake in the morning.
Very handy location near to Sylvia Park and motorway access.Also love that there is washing machine dryer facilities on every floor, so convenient.
All in all great value for money...we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debzrotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daron_Gray, Director of Sales at Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel.
It is always a pleasue to recieve feedback such as yours. Our location does make us a favourite in the area as we are close to the motorway and the walk around the lagoon is great in the mornings.

Our school holiday is offered over the school holidays and is very popular.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards
Daron Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Wellington
1.8 mi away
Best Western Ellerslie Ellerslie International
2.9 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
692 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
319 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 58 Waipuna Rd | Mt Wellington, Mount Wellington, Auckland 1060, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mount Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mount Wellington
Price Range: £82 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waipuna Hotel and Conference Centre is one of New Zealand's largest and most comprehensive Auckland conference centres and hotel accommodation venue. Primarily dedicated to staging conferences, meetings, exhibitions, product launches, seminars and special events. We are just 15 minutes from both Auckland City and Auckland's International Airport. Waipuna is set amongst 6.26 acres of parkland overlooking a picturesque saltwater lagoon. Our prestigious 4-star hotel accommodation and superb guest facilities, include 450 free off-street car parks, internet, restaurant and bar options, and a swimming pool, spa and gymnasium for your use. We have 148 spacious hotel accommodation options ranging from Bureau rooms to Presidential suites perfect for families, holiday makers, corporate traveller, or romantic weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waipuna Hotel And Conference Centre
Waipuna Lodge
Waipuna Hotel Auckland
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre Auckland/Mount Wellington, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing