We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would make a nice old folks home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Arce, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Would make a nice old folks home”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel's remote location constricts clients to relax utilizing their facilities but the poorly maintained, musty gym was unattended therefore became a playground for children. The pool was not maintained either thereby making the pond next door more inviting... Finally I decide to relax at the spa but found it not to be in service. Giving up on the recreational facilities I decide to relax at the hotels restaurant were the buffet is strongly recommended by the staff. I'm usually reluctant to partake in buffet dinners as the quality is low but I was told the buffet includes sushi and the price of nearly $50 for the meal alone convinced me otherwise. If McDonalds made sushi it would probably taste like theirs and the food was not only of low quality but poorly kept as it was soggy on the bottom and dried out on the top (as most buffets).
The tourist busses parked out front should be indicative of a budget hotel but the $200 for one nights stay says the contrary...

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mangosdead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    145
    30
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
80
9
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This would have been our first time staying at Waipuna after attending many weddings and day conferences in the function rooms in the past and we were really happy with our entire stay,

We selected a school holiday package for a quick 2 night stay with our small daughter. We had not planned early enough to get out of Auckland for the long weekend and opted to just stay somewhere local and Waipuna offering a really competitive rate for what we received, far better than anything else on the market. I actually half expected to make 'allowances' for the standard received or quality of facilities based on the rate paid but was pleasantly surprised. We opted for the Bureau room because our small daughter will not sleep in her own room just yet and this option had the best 2 bed configuration deal available for our late notice booking,

The bathroom is very modern and we could not hear an ounce of outside noise from within our room. The hotel itself was lovely and quiet, staff very warm and inviting, helpful though we needed minimal aid, we were happy to just lump around and enjoy our time off with each other. We did not manage to enjoy the pool area because of fabulous Auckland weather but it looked lovely, well kept and the gym facilities were good. The hubby did well and made sure he went down, despite my planning to head down, I just couldn't muster up the energy!

We had a buffet breakfast built into our accommodation package which was amazing. Plenty of options, hot and cold and we were pleased to note that while the compendium in the room stated breakfast is cleared at 930, the staff were gracious and left everyone eat well past this point.

We enjoyed the buffet dinner also - but are breakfast people so that was a highlight for us!

Only teeny tiny niggle is the Sunday night buffet was shown on the website and on documents within the room as having a magician on hand, when we arrived to dinner we learnt this was not on for the month of Jan and our daughter, whom we had spent the day explaining what a magician was, was rather disappointed but nothing to be really fussed over at all.

Overall, fabulous stay and I am already looking to bring my sister and daughter back for a girly weekend away and to test out the fabulous looking High tea with them!

Def worth a visit!

Room Tip: If your not to shy to request (as much as I travel I really hate to be a pain and ask for trivial th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulune N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Point, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you are looking for somewhere out of the Auckland CBD, but not too far away.....then stay here.
Great rooms, so much space. Nice in expensive restaurant.
I was there for work. I can really recommend the meeting rooms and the catering is not overly
Priced. Plenty of parking and if delegates are flying in its only 30 mins to the airport.

Room Tip: See if you can a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJay2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights as a base for visiting Waiheke and Rangitoto.
After the swift and welcoming check-in, we were delighted with our 5th floor room (525) and the amazing view of the Panmure Basin, however we found the whole floor and room were VERY warm. After an hour of having the air conditioner on full blast, we rang reception to let them know the room was still uncomfortably warm. Within 5 minutes the gentleman on duty had inspected the room and moved us across the hall to a much cooler room (528) Excellent, efficient service - we were not at all fazed about the room change and absolutely loved our stay - esp the having a hearty and compete breakfast overlooking the Basin.
The new bathrooms were particularly impressive and it was obvious to us that the place is run by an excellent team.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tomw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daron_Gray, Director of Sales at Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
I was dissappointed to hear that you had an issue with the air conditioning in the room but can confirm that this has been addressed by our maintenance team.
I was however pleased to hear that it was dealt with in a speedy manner and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed my stay. As a first-timer to NZ, the front desk staff were helpful with restaurant suggestions and taxi arrangements. Rooms were clean, spacious and the bed was great! A bit disappointed with the lack of free WIFI. I also got a bit of a shock when I checked out at the buffet breakfast price (NZD 32 for the full buffet???). The view from the breakfast table did partly make up for it. Overall, I will stay again next time I'm in Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheScriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights and our experience of the Waipuna Hotel will last for a long time. Top staff very friendly and welcoming. Our room was on 4th floor and was quiet and relaxing.Enjoyed the views of the Lagoon from Wellington's bar.Our room service meal would of been the high light of all the food we ate in Auckland.All the service we received was just at the highest end of Hospitality staff.

Room Tip: level 4 rooms 412 I highly recommend for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynese2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiwaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at waipuna hotel on a number of occasions.
So family friendly! Each time we have stayed we can not find a fault! Price and location is a bonus! Very close to slivia park.

Reception staff are always so helpful.. we always request late check out because we just dont want to leave! There has bn times when we upgrade to the breakfast with our room! Which is very lovely and affordable... waipuna hotel is definitely our "go to" place to stay in auckland.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Wellington
1.8 mi away
Best Western Ellerslie Ellerslie International
2.9 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
678 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,200 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 58 Waipuna Rd | Mt Wellington, Mount Wellington 1060, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mount Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mount Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waipuna Hotel and Conference Centre is one of New Zealand's largest and most comprehensive Auckland conference centres and hotel accommodation venue. Primarily dedicated to staging conferences, meetings, exhibitions, product launches, seminars and special events. We are just 15 minutes from both Auckland City and Auckland's International Airport. Waipuna is set amongst 6.26 acres of parkland overlooking a picturesque saltwater lagoon. Our prestigious 4-star hotel accommodation and superb guest facilities, include 450 free off-street car parks, internet, restaurant and bar options, and a swimming pool, spa and gymnasium for your use. We have 148 spacious hotel accommodation options ranging from Bureau rooms to Presidential suites perfect for families, holiday makers, corporate traveller, or romantic weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waipuna Hotel And Conference Centre
Waipuna Lodge
Waipuna Hotel Auckland
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre Auckland/Mount Wellington, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing