We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good thing the bed was comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellerslie
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A very, very poor check-in experience got my stay off to a bad start. Check-in initially took 20 mins and when I went to what was supposed to be a 'king' room, I found a very small double-sized bed. Next followed a long and tedious argument with reception on what constituted a king bed. One member of staff even came to the room with me, looked at the bed and said, "that's what we call king". Another 20 minutes on, as I was commencing the check-out process and facing the task of trying to find another hotel, another staff member agreed to look at the room. He closed the door as fast as he opened it and admitted that there'd been a mix-up and that indeed was not a king bed. A very faint and flimsy apology and I was given another room.

After having lost so much time on check-in I decided on room service, which incurs a fee for delivery. I opted to pick the meal up to save the fee. Next minute, there's a knock on the door - food was delivered - fee was charged. Off she went to fix up the charge with the promise that she'd be right back. I didn't see her again and the fee appeared on my bill when I checked out.

Service-wise, this hotel was terrible and made for a stressful start to what was already a pretty stressful business trip.

The rooms were tiny but the bed was very comfortable and the shower was good, which are my two main criteria.

The location also suited me perfectly. Right next to a train station and within walking distance to a supermarket and deli. Not great for local restaurants though and in-room food selection was very limited.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Brooke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Auckland Ellerslie. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We loved our stay, this was our 4th time staying here and everytime we stay here it's always a memorable one. The staff are always so efficient and friendly we will definitely be back regularly. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JO2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay. We are thankful for your thoughts , and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Often with these large chain hotels you feel like you are just another item in their production line.

But not at the Ibis Ellerslie. The staff were very friendly and efficient, even though the hotel was full.

The room was excellent, and very quiet - even though we overlooked a busy road, there was no traffic noise. There is not a lot of luggage space in the room though.

And it is perfectly located for a concert (or any event) at Mount smart Stadium.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haydn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback following your recent stay. We are thankful for your thoughts and observations, and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

very nice hotel next to railway station ,but could not afford to eat there
far more expensive than wellington
22 dollars for continental breakfast ,equals 11 gbp which even in london would be very expensive ,you could probably get a dinner for that

Room Tip: cafe across the car park does breakfast a little cheaper and nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timthebluebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review.
Regarding your comments on the breakfast, please note that a $14.50 Express breakfast option is available Monday to Friday, offering coffee/tea, toast, and Danish pastries. Also, continental breakfast is available 7 days for $22 only.
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We recently stayed a night and found the hotel staff to be very courteous, helpful and friendly. We found our room to be adequate for our needs. The super king bed was really good and the bathroom nicely fitted out. The only issue would be space for suitcases in my opinion but we found places to put things as it was, making do with what was available. If we'd stayed more than a night we might have had problems finding a place for a second suitcase; in this instance we fortunately had only taken one small suitcase.

Room Tip: Make sure you have room for two suitcases if that is a basic requirement for you. Even a luggage rac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raewynl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We were happy to read that you had a very pleasant experience. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed in a king room. Bed was very comfortable. The room was quite small but well equipped, with fridge, ironing board and kettle. Good sized bathroom. Hotel is in a great location, just off the motorway and near the train station but sill very quiet. The outside bar area is lovely.
We stayed on a very busy weekend so the limited parking was quite a problem, there is an overflow carpark but its a little far away. I would not stay here if you have mobility problems. Check in was very slow, the lady on the desk let several other guests interrupt us while we were in the middle of the process but the other staff were much better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We were sorry to read of the lapse in service you experienced; which was certainly not of the standard you deserve and we expect. Please allow me to apologise on behalf of our Front Office Team.
Happy to hear that you enjoyed other aspects of our hotel.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellerslie
0 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Ellerslie Ellerslie International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,461 reviews
3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Auckland Ellerslie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Auckland Ellerslie

Address: 72-112 Greenlane East, Ellerslie, Auckland 1051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Ellerslie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellerslie
Price Range: £63 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Auckland Ellerslie 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Ellerslie is located in the heart of Greenlane offering easy access to many Auckland attractions. The Ellerslie Events Centre and ASB Showgrounds are in walking distance, Vector Arena, Mt Smart Stadium and Eden Park are only a short train trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Auckland Ellerslie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie Hotel Ellerslie
Ibis Hotel Auckland
Ibis Hotel Ellerslie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing