We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, pleasant stay”

The Glenelg Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Saanich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Glenelg Bed and Breakfast
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at Glenelg for the weekend after two days of business meetings in Victoria, and a boring but nicely appointed business hotel. Eric and Hayato were warm and welcoming, and their open-plan house looking out at the Malahat was a welcome change of pace. The first day's breakfast consisted of giant, perfect "hotto ke-ki", pancakes fried one-per-pan expertly by Hayato. They were delicious and we don't think we have ever had such perfect pancakes before. The second day, we requested Japanese-style breakfast and it too was expertly done by Hayato. It was delicious. Hayato and Eric are great conversationalists and have travelled extensively themselves, which I think aids them in making sure that their guests have a top-notch experience. We have already recommended the Glenelg B&B to friends.

The location is beautiful, but relatively removed from Victoria downtown, so if you plan to see the city during your stay, be prepared for some driving. Sidney is close by, though, with lots of restaurant options.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hapa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Hi Eric and Hayato, Sorry this has taken me so long to post to TripAdvisor. I just wanted to thank you for the wonderful hospitality you bestowed on me and my family during our visit in July, 2013. It was great getting caught up with you after such a long time, and your home is beautiful and restful beyond words :) You two are truly the best hosts one could ask for - the beds, breakfast....everything was exceptional! Also....Eric...thanks for the wonderful walking tour of the neighborhood. Everyone is lucky to have you both as neighbors, and I'm lucky to have you as my friends! Sincerely, Theresa

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikiyonsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Never in our years of travel have my wife and I ever experienced accommodations that were spotless, serine and relaxing with hosts caring about every little detail, which pushes this bed & breakfast a diamond above any 5 diamond resort! We can't wait to return and continue to experience more of the what The Glenelg Bed & Breakfast offers... Thank you Eric and Hayato!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We were recommended the Glenelg B&B by friends in Vancouver who had experienced excellent service and accommodation there. We were not disappointed. We were visiting Vancouver Island from Australia for a very special reason and our hosts saw to it that our stay would be a joyful time to remember. The tranquility of the house, complete with a special area for meditation, restores the tired traveller from far flung places. Special touches like pairs of slippers at the door, assures the comfort of guests as well as an impeccable cleanliness inside. Besides providing wonderful breakfasts, the hosts are gifted entertainers who love music and good conversation. A hearty singsong around the piano (one is an excellent pianist and the other a delightful tenor) or discussing the pros and cons of current issues, are refreshing alternatives to television. The B&B is situated near the pretty seaside town of Sidney, where our hosts recommended several excellent restaurants for evening meals. If we had the happy chance of revisiting Vancouver Island we would be hiring a car to be less dependent on the goodwill of our hosts for transport. There's no doubt we would be heading back there. Lesley L

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St John's, NL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

A superb B & B where the fine food and exquisite rooms are surpassed only by the warmth of the hosts, Eric & Hayato. The service provided is second to none. The hosts are eager to suggest restaurants, tourist sites, etc. Glenelg is conveniently located a short drive from the ferry or airport. This is an exclusive home situated in a private location and is extremely quiet. It is located a short walk from the ocean where you can take a leisurely stroll on the beach. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I have visited the Glenelg Bed & Breakfast three times and each time I have had a most enjoyable holiday and a complete break from my normal routine. The rooms are beautifully and most comfortably furnished and each has its own ensuite and a pleasant outlook on to garden and trees. The large sunny deck, ideal for relaxation, offers both total privacy and a view of water and mountain between the evergreens. The delicious breakfasts are presented with close attention to detail - and such scrumptious breakfasts!
The hosts are warm-hearted, lively and full of fun and take excellent care of the guests. Skylights fill the home with sunshine, and so do the hosts. The B. & B. is in a delightful spot and your hosts could not be more welcoming. The perfect 'home away from home'. I will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Saanich
3.0 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
3.3 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
1.9 mi away
Dragonfly Beach House B&B
Dragonfly Beach House B&B
#1 of 7 in North Saanich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.4 mi away
Future Friends B&B
Future Friends B&B
#2 of 7 in North Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenelg Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenelg Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Glenelg Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9574 Glenelg Ave, North Saanich, British Columbia V8L 5H2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > North Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in North Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Butchart Gardens, airport, ferry: delicious breakfast, warm welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing