We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swinside Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of the very best”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend at Swinside Lodge over the August bank holiday.
Mike and Kath are superb hosts who make you feel very special throughout your stay. The Lodge is in excellent order and extremely well presented in every aspect. The food prepared in the restaurant is some of the very best we have experienced at any price. The extra attention to detail, superb service, and thoughtful touches make this one of the very best places to stay in the Northern Lake District.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drazzi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
166
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We booked this hotel for a 4 day break at the last minute -- & WOW what a find! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel genuinely welcome by our hosts - Mike & Kath - nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless, comfortable with a great view of the fells behind. Very peaceful but ideal for exploring or walking. Then came the food - truly spectacular 4 course dinners - absolutely delicious with impecable service even when the hotel was full on the Saturday night. Breakfasts were excellent - you need to do some serious walking to work off the full Cumbrian! We will be recommending to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewpot444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2012

All aspects of this hotel are excellent.
The rooms, location and food are exemplary.
It’s a perfect get away from the maddening crowd.
We have stayed at Swinside Lodge Hotel on a number of previous occasions and look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Elm room, which has a very large bed and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is a very good hotel, wonderfully clean and comfortable. The owners consider every aspect of customer comfort. The food is spectacular with the mst fabulous wine list. Overall, a great break in a wonderful part of the UK

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsS3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We'd stayed over 20 years ago at an inn in the Newlands Valley and had wanted to return ever since to this wonderfully peaceful part of the Lake District. This time we wanted somewhere a bit more upmarket to stay and chose the Swinside Lodge. What a find! A warm welcome from Mike, attentive and professional service from Kath and Laurent and delicious food cooked by Clive. The menu is a set 4 course which could be a problem if you like to have a choice. However, we enjoyed every mouthful and tried some delicious new things that we probably wouldn't have experienced if we'd been left to choose ourselves - and Mike does check when you arrive whether there is anything you can't or won't eat so speak up if there is! Our room was spotlessly clean as were the public areas and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We would love to go back and that says it all really.

Room Tip: The Oak room is on the second floor at the back but still has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleygirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyhire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

It was our second time, but this time we took the teenagers. All went well as expected, food great, perfect welcome and, yes, the kids (they hate me calling them that) had a great time, they are outdoor kids but there's a huge selection of DVD's and other 'old fashioned' distractions to keep them entertained between the walking and eating and they too felt very welcome and were engaged. You can't beat it !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyhireHappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Was recommended the Swinside Hotel by a friend, and true enough was not disappointed, in fact was better than what my friend described. From a friendly welcome on arrival to a very friendly goodbye, this hotel is first class, service impeccable, but best of all about the hotel is the food, compliments to the Chef Clive, outstanding flavours. Set menu, not bothered, and it had two favour dishes of my other half's for starter and main, so he was happy! Check out their extensive wine list, outstanding.
Thanks Mike & Kath for making us feel welcome, will definately return.

Room Tip: The Lilac room looks over the front of the hotel, where you can sit in the window, watch all the bir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyWard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
2.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
611 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
583 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Lodge Hotel

Property: Swinside Lodge Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Newlands, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Swinside Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel in the heart of the English Lake District personally owned and run by Mike and Kath Bilton. A warm welcome awaits - hospitality and food are our passions, and the hotel has recently been voted in the top three Fine Dining Restaurants in Cumbria with an AA 2 Rosette Restaurant supplemented by a 75 bin wine list. Local wildlife including red squirrels can be seen in abundance in the gardens, and spectacular walks and drives start from the hotel's door. Seven bedrooms all with beautiful mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Swinside Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Hotel Newlands
Swinside Hotel Keswick
Swinside Lodge Hotel Keswick/Newlands, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing