We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful break"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swinside Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Wonderful break"”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Just got back from our third visit to Swinside Lodge and it really doesnt disappoint. The location was even better than we remembered with all the great walks on its doorstep and Keswick not far away. Our room was immaculate and comfortable and cleaned everyday of our stay. We both enjoyed meeting other people over drinks and canapes in the lounge before our evening meals. The food we had over our holiday was amazing. Thankyou Kath and Mike for making our stay truly magical again, nothing is too much trouble. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
166
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, Kent
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

It is with some trepidation that I write this review having seen the owner's reaction to other reviewers' negative comments.

We were really looking forward to our meal here. Friends had recommended it and the reviews were great. So what went wrong? Was it the chef's night off?
We liked the idea of a set menu starting at 7.30pm as this meant the chef could design a balanced menu and focus on the dishes, serving the same thing at the same time. The dining room is small and there were only 12 diners so it shouldn't have been difficult.
The amuse-bouches consisted of a small tartlet, probably in a bought-in case, two olives and a few nuts. Hardly 'fine dining'.
We then had fish, which was overcooked, followed by soup, which was very salty but otherwise fairly tasteless.. (No, I don't know why they were served in that order either).
We had been told that the main course of steak would be served medium rare unless we asked for it to be cooked differently. My three companions were happy with that and I requested mine to be on the rare side of medium rare with the centre still quite bloody. When the dishes were served there was no distinction between any of them and they were medium to well done.
There was a choice of two puddings, both of which were quite basic. I had a slice of tart served with icecream- OK but nothing special.
The four course meal including tea or coffee was £45 a head and was not good value for money.
On the plus side, the front of house staff were friendly and both the lounge and dining room were warm and comfortable but, in my opinion, there are far better places nearby. Try The Highfield Hotel in Keswick (£37.50 for a four course meal including coffee and currently a free bottle of wine per couple), Morrells, also in Keswick or for something even more special but a bit further away go to The Samling, which has stunning views and a three course meal is £50. The cheese there is cheaper than at Swinside Lodge too!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annebailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjbkb, Owner at Swinside Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you for your garish culinary comments. As with all tongue in cheek reviews there is always an element of regret that your barbed comments were not forthcoming either through or after your meal. Chef would have taken pleasure in discussing the nuances of varying ingredients with a like minded Chef.
However, post all of your group devouring every morsel of food, consuming copious amounts of alcohol, commenting on departure how much you enjoyed everything, leaving an appreciated 15% gratuity on a bill of some £300, you then find it neccessary to scoot back to your laptop and inform your audience of how bad it was for you!
The mind boggles at the pettiness of it all. If one person out of your group finds things not to their liking, what then is the problem in not saying it face to face - apart from the obvious reason that is.
Once again, thank you for your review, like minded travellers and the hospitality world alike will be a whole lot richer for it i'm certain. Hope it's not expecting too much but would look forward to a return visit from you in the future, i'm sure, after your favourite eating places. By the way 2 out of the3 alternative places you mention are not upto the levels it appears you desire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
220 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I really can't praise this hotel too highly. Everything during my 3-day stay was faultless - the room, the restaurant, the perfectly-paced 4-course dinner - I could go on. The owners are professionalism and friendliness personified. The garden with its old beech tree attracts an astonising array of birds - nuthatches, tree creepers and great spotted woodpeckers among them. And you don't need a car to get here; buses (seasonal) and Derwentwater launches (all year) are close at hand, while Keswick is a pleasant hour's walk away. I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

Great walks from the front door of this enchanting part of the Lakes. The Lilac Room was fabulous - great staff and amazing food. Well recommended for an autumnal break - stunning location. Great not to have to use the car.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriscribb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk res
Level Contributor
299 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is a beautifully situated small hotel run by real "professionals". The room was , possibly, a little small, but I suppose one can always say that. The food was first rate...but no choice...I would guess that if they gave a choice there would be a Michelin star in the offing!
The only gripe was the price..it is expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Had a really nice one night break here in August with some friends. Rooms were clean and spacious and the service and food excellent. Great location. You can access several good walks from the front door and the ferry to Keswick is only 10 minutes walk away. Added bonus is that the mobile signal is good - a real bonus for the lakes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psfcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I went to the Swinside for our wedding anniversary back in August, we had a lovely time, very relaxing. The owners Mike and Kath were very welcoming and friendly, we had a lovely upgraded room which we were very happy with, the views were amazing, there was two chairs in the bay window of the room so we were able to enjoy a glass of wine overlooking the countryside and wildlife. The evening meal was a set menu which we both enjoyed and the service was very good, all the courses were beautiful and the homemade bread was fantastic.
Breakfast was also to a high standard and set us up for the day. Overall wish we had been there a bit longer and we would love to go back again soon for another treat!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
3.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.6 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Lodge Hotel

Property: Swinside Lodge Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Newlands, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Swinside Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel in the heart of the English Lake District personally owned and run by Mike and Kath Bilton. A warm welcome awaits - hospitality and food are our passions, and the hotel has recently been voted in the top three Fine Dining Restaurants in Cumbria with an AA 2 Rosette Restaurant supplemented by a 75 bin wine list. Local wildlife including red squirrels can be seen in abundance in the gardens, and spectacular walks and drives start from the hotel's door. Seven bedrooms all with beautiful mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swinside Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Hotel Newlands
Swinside Hotel Keswick
Swinside Lodge Hotel Keswick/Newlands, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing