We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immaculate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swinside Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swinside Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Immaculate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

It is really great to find a place where the owners set such high standards and deliver them with great commitment. We were really delighted to discover this through Alastair Sawday. We spent 3 nights at Swinside Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed them. As others have said, the food is excellent and the dining room charming. It was like being part of an enjoyable house party. And you are treated like guests, not customers. The walking is great from the door too and the views from our room idyllic. The room was well equipped, cosy and with very comfortable furnishing and bedding. I am sure we will return again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
165
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

As others have said this is a quality Lodge Hotel the food and wine were excellent and I'd easily stay again. The staff are friendly to the point as others have said that you feel more like house guests than residents. Didn't get chance to see the local Red Squirrels maybe next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Dining is like being in a private home. The dining room hosts only a few tables and dinner is a very well composed set menu served at 19.30. The food is excellent, beautifully presented and the meal is conducted at a leisurely pace. The wine list is impressive with a wide price range and some extremely fine wines. The dining room and the lounge are exquisitely designed and furnished. By far the best restaurant we found in the area and it comes strongly recommended. Prior booking essential.

Room Tip: We only dined here and did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglaspat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a charming country house inn, with two beautifully decorated living rooms and a small dining room. The bedrooms are upstairs (and did not seem handicapped-accessible). The bedding was very high quality. But what really stands out as exceptional is the 4-course dinner, which the chef decides each night. We stayed for 4 nights, and each night was just as amazing as the one before. The ingredients were fresh and locally sourced. Since I am coeliac, the chef created all the dishes gluten-free (none of the diners at other tables knew they were also eating gluten-free meals). I was offered warm gluten-free bread with dinner (the other diners had normal bread). If I lived in the UK, I would return every summer, maybe spring and fall too.

We did not have a car, so we did a lot of walking. It is about a 10 minute walk to the boat launch, which will take you to Keswick and other destinations around Derwentwater Lake. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which will take you to Keswick, Grasmere, Buttermere. It was about a 30 minute walk to the town of Keswick on a very nice footpath. The location is known for its proximity to the Catbells hiking path. There is also a very nice footpath around the lake (8 miles), with a lovely waterfall along the way.

Room Tip: The "lilac room" is the only one with a bay window. The sitting area was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZMerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Booked at short notice via laterooms.com. I confess that if I had noticed the 2star rating, I may not have booked. This would have been a huge mistake.
The hotel was a small country house style hotel, with hands on management where nothing could be too much trouble. The four course table d'hote meal was superb, with an interesting wine list to match. Breakfast the following day was just as good.
The room was small but comfortable and the downstairs lounges had a wide range of reading material.
Will definately return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed just one night while having a short break of "top down" driving through the Lake District. This is a "country house" hotel. Excellent staff, lovely food, very comfortable accommodation. Very high attention to detail. We couldn't find fault.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diablo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at Swinside Lodge Hotel last night for a relaxed retreat, which was the perfect end to my husbands Birthday celebrations. The owner and staff couldn't have been more polite, attentive and helpful. Lovely people. The accommodation and food was superb! It was a real treat and we are looking forward to our next trip already... we'll definitely aim to make it a long weekend next time so that we can enjoy the beautiful surrounding area. Swinside Lodge is perfect for walking and / or relaxing. There's a pub only 400 metres away, with a large beer garden... perfect for a relaxed afternoon. Also there are a number of walks, with Catbells only a stones through away and Keswick only a short distance. Thank you all so much, we had wonderful time x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBroadhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
3.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.6 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Lodge Hotel

Property: Swinside Lodge Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Newlands, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Swinside Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel in the heart of the English Lake District personally owned and run by Mike and Kath Bilton. A warm welcome awaits - hospitality and food are our passions, and the hotel has recently been voted in the top three Fine Dining Restaurants in Cumbria with an AA 2 Rosette Restaurant supplemented by a 75 bin wine list. Local wildlife including red squirrels can be seen in abundance in the gardens, and spectacular walks and drives start from the hotel's door. Seven bedrooms all with beautiful mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Swinside Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Hotel Newlands
Swinside Hotel Keswick
Swinside Lodge Hotel Keswick/Newlands, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing