We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swinside Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Reviewed 25 July 2009

superb hosts, nothing too much trouble.
service excellent
High standard of food worthe of the 2 rosettes
Quiet ralaxing location
~Intimate and friendly

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandtReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2009

A quiet and peacuful location with great walks on the doorstep and only a stone's-throw from Derwentwater. Mike, Kath and Clive provide personalised service and fantastic food. Regardless of the weather (and we went from hot and sunny to getting totally drenched) we looked forward to returning to the hotel to relax and especially to enjoy the great food.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilstonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

My wife and I have been guests in Swinside Lodge Hotel 7 times during the past 7 years. This year's owners, Mike and Kath, are the third owners we've dealt with in that time! Amazingly, we loved it the first year and each successive owner has added to the hotel in such a way that we continue to be drawn back year after year. Certainly a large part of this is the food as prepared by Clive, who has been the chef for quite a few years and who continues to produce delicious meals consistently, night after night, year after year. Add to that a warm welcome and immaculate accommodation and it all adds up to a wonderful experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heinznot57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We stayed at the lovely Swinside Lodge in May for seven days. This is our sixth visit to Swinside and we definitely anticipate returning next May. The new owners, Cath and Mike, are most accomodating and delightful. They are incredibly enthusiastic and energetic about maintaining the essence of what makes Swinside so special and improving on that. They have many plans, such as adding more landscaping to the garden, and have already made subtle as well as noticeable changes. They've installed new heating, enlarged the parking area, put in double paned windows, hung multiple bird and red squirrel feeders that have attract an entertaining parade of wildlife outside the dining room window, and are in the process of enlarging some of the rooms and bathrooms.
They've given Clive, the marvelous chef, a new kitchen and although we never thought it was possible, Clive continues to outdo himself with absolutely gourmet meals and glorious presentations. Clive's dinners are true culinary delights--he uses fresh, local ingredients, creates sumptious menus, and every mouthful is fantastic.
We obviously love Swinside. The location is quiet, peaceful and convenient to excellent walks. Cath and Mike are warm, generous people who are working very hard to make Swinside better than ever.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wearetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Quite hard to find on the windy around Derwent Water, so it was with relief that we finally arrived, and from the first view, it looked to be a charming little spot. Extremely quiet, in an out of the way area with almost no traffic.

There was some work being done on the car park area, but it did not bother us at all as i was done during the day.

The place has the feel of your grandma's house crossed with an old school bed and breakfast, but I mean your rich grandma :-)

Ringing the bell on arrival, we were met by Mike, the owner, along with his wife Cath. Who were easily the nicest people I have ever dealt with at a hotel. The room was very comfortable with a fantastic bed, complimentary tea and coffee, cookies, biscuits, sweets and all sorts. I almost felt bad eating them all :-) The bathroom had a feel to it that was veryhard to explain. Once I got in, I did not want to get out. Not sure I've ever used a bathroom that was so oddly comfortable, especially considering it's modest size.

The second real gem of this place after the oweners was, (although it is reflected in the price), the food. Included in the rate, which I believe is standard, was a 4 course evening meal and full Cumbrian breakfast. A gin & tonic in one of the drawing rooms was a nice touch (on the house), and the evening meal, served very professionally by Cath was exquisite, and in a beautifully presented dining room. I would say the chef was wasted in such a small place in the countryside, but this is exactly the kind of thing that makes these types of places so special.

The breakfast was of the same quality, and the owners have the sausage made especially for them by the local butcher, and it shows. There is not a single aspect of this hotel with which the owners have been frugal or not given their full attention.

We only stayed one night as we were on a flying visit to the Lake District, but budget permitting, I would have stayed there longer. Mike and Cath were extremely helpful regarding local activities, and were more than happy to take the time to chat and make you feel at home. Keeping the car in the small, but perfectly adequate car park until 5pm on our checkout day was absolutely no problem also.

The clientele was a little older than the hotels I normally use, but it all added to the wonderfully quiet and relaxing atmosphere. if you're a certain type, you might think it all a little quaint and snooty, but then you don't deserve to enjoy little gems like this.

Left without a bad word to say about it, and desperate to get this written down, so others don't miss it. Cannot be recommended highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain_Weasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

This is a superb small hotel, up there with the best we have stayed in around the world. We chose it from Alistair Sawday's book and he was not wrong, even though the new owners have only been there since October 2008. They kept the chef who is brilliant, and have done some upgrading already. It is small and spotless and the the owners maintain a good balance of friendly and efficient. With a maximum of 14 guests there is time to get to know people. The views are stunning as is the wildlife. If you stay there make sure Cath lets you play with the jukebox.

The location is ideal for walking in that part of the Lakes, both low level and high level, and one of the finest hikes around actually starts at the front door.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

I thought this was a really lovely hotel. Rooms were comfortable and spotless. I loved the view from the window. The dinners were absolutely excellent. Wonderful food, beautifully presented. Hosts Michael and Cathy made everything about the stay pleasant. I found the hotel's situation perfect, with a choice of lake, mountain or valley walking on the doorstep. The wildlife visiting the feeders in the front garden reached disneyesque proportions at times - red squirrel, hare, many birds one evening (no bluebirds though). Recommended. Just don't all book it out when I want to go next time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonYorkshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
853 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Lodge Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Newlands, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: £113 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Swinside Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel in the heart of the English Lake District personally owned and run by Mike and Kath Bilton. A warm welcome awaits - hospitality and food are our passions, and the hotel has recently been voted in the top three Fine Dining Restaurants in Cumbria with an AA 2 Rosette Restaurant supplemented by a 75 bin wine list. Local wildlife including red squirrels can be seen in abundance in the gardens, and spectacular walks and drives start from the hotel's door. Seven bedrooms all with beautiful mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Swinside Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Hotel Newlands
Swinside Hotel Keswick
Swinside Lodge Hotel Keswick/Newlands, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing