We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for seeing koalas in the wild but pricey for a walk”

Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$227.90*
and up
Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide
More Info
US$281.85*
and up
Kangaroo Island 4WD Full-Day Tour - Flinders Chase National Park
More Info
US$301.99*
and up
Best of Kangaroo Island 4WD Full-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for seeing koalas in the wild but pricey for a walk”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The walk was lovely and we did see several koalas, all of which were sleeping. A great option if you want to see koalas in their natural habitat.
We thought it was a bit pricey for the walk though, particularly for the children.
There was food for purchase but it was limited, our children didn't like any of the options so we had to go elsewhere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank psboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KANGAROOS10, Manager at Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate you thought it was too pricey. We do wonder where else you may visit a privately, or for that matter a public, wildlife sanctuary that is much less than our admission price. We receive no government assistance for providing 5000 acres of natural area for not only koalas but all the other wild animals and birds. The revenue we receive from our public admissions goes toward operating costs and furthering our habitat restoration and conservation efforts. We hope to contribute toward a sustainable future for all our children. Thank you for your contribution toward our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    102
    31
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you can't find Koalas in the wild”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A very nice place. Lots of day-tours stop here, and you should to if you haven't seen koalas in the wild.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great chance to see koalas in their natural habitat!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Loved this place. The koala walk is super if you want to see koalas in their natural habitat. They are guaranteed! The area is also home to some other wildlife. When I was there there were heaps of wallabies. There is a very small fee but that all goes towards the protection of the wild koalas.

I definitely recommend this place!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZooGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“The Koala Walk was so cool!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We chose to do the Koala Walk since it is so difficult to find koalas on Kangaroo Island. The sanctuary has 30 koalas on the premises. My husband and I counted 12 koalas...most sleeping. However, the koalas would occasionally move or eat. We were very lucky to come across one koala bear that had climbed down from one tree and crossed the property to climb into another tree! So cute!!! The staff have flagged several trees where the koalas were detected earlier in the day to assist visitors find the koalas. Also, there are information kiosks along the walk sharing fascinating details about the species. As we walked through the Eucalyptus grove, an occasional kangaroo would wander by.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good animal centre for visitors”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I went there with my German housemates, they wanted to see exotic animals not native in their country, so they bought coffee there, one of them being a unique nutella-coated coffee that was great. Then we had lunch, saw an echidna outside, and went inside to walk the trees, where we saw 15 koalas on that day. It was nice weather, and an enjoyable experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Seal Bay, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing