We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but comfortable and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Club San Diego
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Acquafredda
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simple but comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have just returned from 6 nights at San Diego Hotel in Maratea. We were a bit apprehensive as the reviews were not great but for the price we paid we weren't expecting much. We had a great stay - the staff are amazing, especially Francesca who was so friendly and happy and always willing to help and have a chat. The breakfast was not great and got slightly worse as the week wore on but we weren't going to let it ruin our holiday as everything else was great. The pool area is as lovely as the pictures suggest and we were on the 4th floor with a huge shared terrace. Would definitely recommend you request a room on the top floor if available. The views are incredible. We went in low season so the hotel was really quiet and not many people around so we were happy with that. It is remote, there are no shops nearby so you would need to go into town to stock up but it is cheap to get a taxi into Sapri - 10 euros return. If you are looking for a cheap get away then it is definitely worth it. We would stay there again if we return to Maratea.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    136
    78
    39
    40
See reviews for
151
189
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Arriving with two very young children, we found the hotel very un child friendly. There is a main road which you have to cross to get to the pool and park which is very fast and on a bend. To be honest the park was also full of hazards, lots of stones so better for older kids. We changed rooms as the first we were given hada door which wouldnt stay shut and also steps in the room so wasnt great for my 1 and 2 year olds (altho it was a nice size room). There are a lot of steps in and around the hotel. You really need a car to be staying here as the nearest towns are about 7km in either direction and there are no paths to safely walk on. Breakfast was fine, croissants, yoghurt and coffee. We did eat in the hotel one night and it was not good so ate out after that. Having said that we attended my brothers wedding at the hotel (in a different part of the hotel set accross the roads amongst lovely gardens) and the wedding was perfect. The food was fantastic as was the reception room. The sceneary from the hotel is magnificent and the bar is reasonably priced. The pools are great, one was very shallow so perfect for toddlers. We were part of a large party (about 40) and we had to ask for the pool bar to be opened for us so we had somewhere to gather in the day and evenings. Beds were not comfy but the plus side was having a fridge in the room. Would def visit the area again but would stay somewhere within walking distance of more amenities.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Acquafredda hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Hotel Club San Diego.
Bit of confusion about the name Hotel Club San Diego, Hotel San Diego or S. Diego Club Hotel. All refer to the same hotel. Sign on one side of road says “Hotel Club San Diego and sign on the other says Hotel San Diego.
Stayed for 10 days end June beginning of July 2011, B & B. It was a fabulous experience. The room, bathroom, air conditioning , T.V. fridge were all more than adequate.
The view from the balcony was mighty impressive. Across the road was the best sea water swimming pool I have seen for a long time. Children's pool, Jacuzzi, children's play area, table tennis and gym were located in the same complex. I like to swim in the sea every morning. Walking, depart the hotel downhill, about 2 K on your left is a small restaurant “Music Bar Spiaggia Carus” behind this restaurant they are steps (220 of them) to an absolutely top class little pebble beach for an unforgettable swimming experience. This was my morning exercise. The staff friendly and very helpful, everywhere bright and clean, breakfast continental Italian. Prices for beer, wine, water all very reasonable. Van pulls up across the road every morning with any type of fruit you want. Road to Acquafredda village is a lovely walk, track goes up behind the hotel, watch out for the Station of the Cross along the the way. The hotel has its idiosyncrasies, lack of change every where but you can charge to your room so no problem. Breakfast can be a bit confusing till you get used to it. For a 110 Euros a night it is my idea of heaven. We eat out all the time so can’t say what the lunch and dinner were like. The Music Bar Spiaggia Carus referred to about is very good for lunch, melon and ham, chips (very good) followed by Ice Cream including water all for less than 10 Euro. But only open from 1st. July on. Various other restaurants with-in walking distance.
Taxi to either Maratea or Sapri 10 Euros return with loads to see and plenty very good restaurants. Hotel San Diego is not a 5 star hotel but it is by far the best 3 star hotel I have come across in Italy.

Room Tip: Don't miss the walk to Acquafredda, lovely small road, no traffic about 2 Km Approx.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here for a week with family and found it quite enjoyable. The rooms were basic but nice and a lot of them have a sea view (if you can book a room on the top floor facing the sea - they open on to a common terrace that overlooks the bay...very nice views).

The hotel staff were very friendly and obliging but English is not fully understood by most of the staff. Expect some gesturing and misunderstandings :D The clientele are largely Italian families.

The pool area is very nice ( 2 sea water pools, a Jacuzzi, table tennis area and a snack bar) but at the time of our stay they requested that you pay a €5 surcharge for its use so you may want to check that out before booking. There was a DJ playing inane europop and 'aqua gym' sessions for kids and adults in the pool (15/20 minute sessions once or twice a day). So I wouldn't call it tranquil but it was definitely not overbearing and we managed to spend quite a few hours relaxing by the pool. It is noteworthy that the pool area is on the opposite side of a main road and the hotel is on a blind corner.

The bar and restaurant facilities are basic. Breakfast lunch and dinner are served. On the whole I would say the offering was best described as edible. There a a couple of restaurants in the village that do good food and also some very nice hotels which cater for non-guest diners, so you do have choices. Also you can go to Sapri / Maratea for dining (€15 / 10 minutes in a cab). There was entertainment on in the evenings on the terrace just outside the hotel ...think two or three families playing charades etc hosted by a member of staff with music and microphone. This goes on til midnight or so you may find it difficult to get some early shut eye if your room is at the front of the hotel. However, if you adjust to the Italian clock of eating late and going to bed around midnight you'll be fine.

Acquafredda is quite a small village with not a lot going on so you will need to use transport of some sort (car/taxi/bus/train) to get the most from your visit to the area. There was enough things within easy enough reach for us to be kept occupied for the week.

So in summary this is a very good choice for the traveler/family on a budget who care more about the views and location than life's luxuries. I would look into staying here again if I found myself back on the Basilicata coast in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Online the pictures seem nice, but you get what you pay for. The room was tiny and the beds are two twins pushed together. So my husband and I hit our legs on the frame that stuck out too far. The bed spread had stains on it. The bed was so uncomfortable my body was achy the next day. The bathroom was so small like a cruise ship. Your knees hit the shower stall when sitting on the toilet. The shower is a tiny square and your elbows hit the walls when washing your hair. I also didn't have enough room to shave my legs and I am a small person.

The meals weren't good and the nearest place to eat was at least a mile. The area is very remote, not close to town, or anything. In a residential area. Would not recommend at all.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

we booked Hotel Club San Diego over the internet as it looked a nice place to stay a few days and advertised large pool, nearby beach etc. Checking in we were immediately told we must pay for pool/beach use per person per day! We declined and things went from bad to worse - the rooms both had fridges in yet the fridges were broken and the rooms were dusty. Our son cut his finger in the shower (jagged stuff sticking out) and in our room the shower head sprayed everywhere but on you. The kids' room air conditioning didn't work and thus they were bitten by mosquitoes. Honestly, I have stayed in better equipped youth hostels than this dive. Breakfast was poor and served by surly staff. When we checked out the receptionist tried to raise the price - we waved our printed out e-mails (she was the correspondent) agreeing on price so she backed down. Honestly, in a lifetime of traveling I've never encountered such a shoddy hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We have stayed at this hotel twice now and they have been 2 of the best holidays we have had!! I was unable to read the other reviews since they are not in English but can see that this hotel has not been given top marks...If you are looking for a 5* hotel with a la carte dining then this may not be the hotel for you but if you want a peaceful, boutique style hotel in a lovely location with friendly service and outstanding views then it's definitely worth coming to! For a 3 * this offers excellent value for money and bearing in mind myself and my husband generally stay in 5* hotels and go on holiday several times a year this is still one of our favourite places to visit!

We first visited this hotel in 2006 when a friend of my husbands got married in Maratea. We were here for 4 nights and I was shocked at how lovely the views were. We loved it so much we decided to come back to Maratea to get married this year and stayed here the week before the wedding with 30 of our guests (we actually got married at The Santavenere which is 10 mins away-very nice hotel but does cost a lot more).
We have stayed on the 4th floor both times as love it up there with our doors opening onto this huge balcony overlooking the sea and mountains. Most of the rooms in the hotel have sea views and the first 3 floor rooms have little balconies overlooking the sea. The pool is situated just across the road and again has the most stunning views.

We stayed B & B and the breakfast mainly consisted on croissant, yoghurt and cracker bread with jam. It may get boring if you were staying 2 weeks but was ok for a week. I don’t think there is a huge choice on the lunch/dinner menu either but if you are only eating in here and there in between eating out then it'll be fine and we found lunch and the one evening me where we decided to stay in very pleasant.

There is a bar and outside seating to the front of the hotel and we spent many evenings having a nice beer or glass of prosecco before getting a taxi to Maratea village or Sapri. (note that this hotel is in the middle of nowhere so you cannot walk to a pub or restaurant but taxi's are easy to get as the hotel will call them for you and it tended to cost 5Euro each no matter where you were going so didn't break the bank!

We ate lunch at the San Diego most days as it was easy to pop up from the pool. It was generally pasta or tomato mozzarella and bread-and a few beers of course
:-).

There is a beach situated within walking distance although we didn't bother going as liked being by the pool. There is also a spa situated opposite so you can nip over there for a few treatments if you wish!

The staff are friendly especially Francesca. She has the most bubbly personality and made us all laugh. She could speak more English than the others so it was best to liaise with her.

All in all we had another wonderful holiday here and will definitely be back again soon. Maratea is one of the most beautiful and unspoilt places I have ever been!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pupa29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acquafredda
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#2 of 4 in Acquafredda
327 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
4.3 mi away
Club Residence Pianeta Maratea
2.9 mi away
Hotel Murmann
Hotel Murmann
#8 of 16 in Maratea
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club San Diego

Property: Hotel Club San Diego
Address: Via Nazionale Acquafredda, 18, 85046 Acquafredda, Maratea, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea > Acquafredda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Acquafredda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club San Diego 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Club San Diego has 70 rooms with:independent air conditioning, telephone, television set, and mini bar. Most of the rooms have a little balcony with views over the Tyrrhenian sea. TV room, restaurants, bar, lift, adult and children swimming pool, changing rooms, bar by the swimming pool, conference hall, solarium, amphitheater, hydro-massage swimming pool, a shuttle bus taking you to its courtesy private beaches, gardens and terraces with sea view, playground for children, little fitness area, ping-pong table, terraces on the rocks equipped with beach umbrellas and tanning beds, and complimentary private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Club San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandiego Hotel Maratea
Hotel Club San Diego Italy/Maratea - Acquafredda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing