We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Villa in all of Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Acquafredda
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best Villa in all of Italy”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have visited this treasure for 15 years, it's what I consider the best Villa is all of Italy (And I have travelled all over). This stunning 10-12 room place is on a clifftop, overlooking the Costa di Maratea, and the views are divine. It's in a dot town called Acqufredda, yet, there is loads to do, great walks andthe fabulous medieval town of Maratea 5 minutes away. I always try for a sea view room, on the car park side of the building, but all rooms are good. I have taken groups and friends here, it's a gem.

Try the dining room, Maria the chef cooks casalinga style, you will love the rabbit, or seafood risotto. And the red wine list is very impressive, loads of local Aglianico. The waiters; Biagio and Angela become like friends, their service is warm and attentive. The day manager, Maria is also wonderful. That's what makes this place; comfort, style, chic interiors, friendly staff who go out of their way and the beauty of this art nouveau building.

And the ocean water, far below, is worth the 250 steps. Warm, salty and secluded.

I miss it already!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room overlooking the sea, above the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    75
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
130
369
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Maratea is beautiful as is this hotel. We stayed for a long weekend and if I were to go back I would stay here again. We only ate in the restaurant once, but after eating at two other places I would have eaten at the hotel each meal as it was a better deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen9788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My first visit to Maratea, and the hotel, alone, made the visit worthwhile, had the Maratea coast not been so beautiful. The hotel is surrounded by terraced gardens, beautifully groomed. Room 35 had a postcard sea view. The entire hotel is beautifully furnished, with interesting artwork and antiques, the feel of an old family home, well preserved. Terrific breakfast buffets, and the restaurant offered 2, 3, and 4 course daily menus, plus a la carte options in antipasta, first courses and second courses. The chef's desserts of the day were excellent, we opted to take all our dinners at the hotel. Hotel staff went out of their way to optimize the experience.

There is a (relatively private) pebble beach, barely accessible via a stone stair, overgrown from disuse so early in the season (April); and several public beaches accessible by road. The Maratea coast, south of Salerno and the Almafi coast, is exquisite: We spent hours driving on serpentine roads, from town to town, including a day trip to Paestum, an archeological site north of Maratea.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The entire experience was wonderful. Very sophisticated, low key, quiet. Great food, dinner a bit pricey. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Overall, a great experience and we would return to this hotel and the area which is lovely.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the restaurant area have a really nice view of the sea and the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Postilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in mid-September and used it as a base for visiting the western part of Basillicata and southern Campania. Beautifully situated overlooking the bay, the rooms and the entire villa are all tastefully decorated and comfortable, with lovely outdoor eating areas if the weather permits. There are pleasant indoor areas to lounge and have your drinks in the evening, and the staff are very polite and helpful.

The food was very good, with a good selection every evening, normally served on the outside terrace.

There is a small beach across the road and down a lot of steps, but well worth the effort!

Be warned though, we went in mid September, when most of the tourist areas close down, and there are a limited number of places to visit within a reasonable driving distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holmefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The amazing villa-hotel, the spectacular view from the room. The villa itself is elegantly decorated and spotlessly clean. The owners are very lovely people. Staff are very polite and friendly.As for meals are good but not perfect. We had a fabulous time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatiana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The location of this hotel overlooking the Bay of Policastro is unforgettable. Our room had an uninterrupted view of the sea and of the lush mediterranean gardens. Bougainvillea and Plumbago in bloom. The restaurant was also very good. Staff were friendly and attentive but inobtrusive. We would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRose1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acquafredda
8.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
3.7 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#2 of 4 in Acquafredda
304 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
3.0 mi away
Santavenere Hotel
Santavenere Hotel
#9 of 16 in Maratea
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite

Property: Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
Address: Via Canonica 48, 85046 Acquafredda, Maratea, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea > Acquafredda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Acquafredda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel And Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
Hotel Cheta Elite
Cheta Elite Hotel
Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite Italy/Maratea - Acquafredda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing