We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smalltown luxery”
Review of Hotel Margrethe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Margrethe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gadbjerg
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Good food, warm staff, and a nice place to stayover. The interior design is kept in red carpet retro style, with spaceius rooms. The hotel could be a paralelle to a cowboy hotel in Las Vegas with a couple of horses parked outside. But nope. You are in friendly nabourhood with no indians and lots of nice people. The hotel is closeby a railway track (no station) that keps you in mind that the 70'ties is 40 years ago, although the Hotel Margrethe could make you forget. The ballroom in hotel Margrethe is almost as being in the tv series Twinpeaks by david lynch. A comfy place for everyone who like a calm smalltown stayover passing through or having a familyparty.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank Road R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

The stay at this hotel was connected with our trip to Legoland, which is located within about 15 kms' range. We chose Margharete mainly due to the fact that it wasn't too expensive and provided a swimming pool. When the check-in day came, and we arrived at our destination, we saw a rather shabby building, which even at the first glance told us that it hadn't been renovated for decades. Some of the letters forming the name of the hotel had fallen off, leaving some dirty dust spots behind them. Luckily, none of the three stars were gone ;). Inside, we were greeted by an elderly fellow, who I guess was the owner. After I asked him about how to configure the Internet and whether it was free of charge or not, he couldn't give me a clear answer about that. (Later, I figured by myself that this service was paid, unfortunately). The hotel room was more or less OK, except from the fact, that it was very poorly lit, What's worse, one of the light bulbs short-circuited and almost exploded when it was switched on, sending a fat spark on a bed below. There wasn't any shampoo in the bathroom, except for some all-body shower gel, which hadn't been replenished before our arrival and was very soon gone short of. Since we checked in in the afternoon, and there weren't any suitable places to eat dinner in the area, we decided to eat at the hotel. I must say that I wouldn't serve my worst enemy the food that we ate there. The steak resembled an old sole, which had lied in water for weeks. Yet, it was almost raw inside, so you had to chew t veeery long, The french fries had an unpleasant taste, almost like plastic. The Ice-cream dessert had surely been stored in the fridge for weeks if not months , before it was served to us, The same referred to the whipped-cream topping on it. Another family, which sat not very far from us, complained on the quality of food as well (cork crumbs in the glass of wine, incompletely fried chicken, etc.) So - the dinner was a disaster, and not only that: it cost us more, than the eat-as-much-you-can dinner that we had the following day at Legoland!. As mentioned above, the positive thing about the hotell was the swimming pool, even though it was a rather small one and only 1,2 m deep. Reassuming: The hotel needs an upgrade, not only of its structure, but also - the level of its service.

Room Tip: During the summer: ask for a room next to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilmiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

This hotel is great if you look for a place to stay for one night between Legoland and Loveparken (Lion Park) Givskud. The staff is friendly and the rooms are good. On the plus-side is a pool if you have children along.

Everything works but you can't blame the hotel for being trendy.... Everything looks as things did in the 1970ies and the motto of the hotel could be: "If it works - don't fix it". Everything works and I wouldn't mind coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoff-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

We spent our Easter holiday at Legoland in Billund, Denmark and stayed at Hotel Margrethe in Gadbjerg for 2 nights. The hotel was okay, check in went fast and effectived. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The room was well heated and spacious, but needs an upgrade.
Beds were clean, as well as the bathroom. The floor was not vacuum cleaned.
Rate for family room is average. Breakfast is okay and simple. There is a restaurant and a bar in the hotel.
There are two small swimmingpools that opens in April. Location is good, 14 km to Legoland and 4 km to Løveparken (Safari Zoo) Givlund.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WeatherRefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Magda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Travelling2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ludwig627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gadbjerg
15.6 mi away
Comwell Kellers Park & Spa
7.8 mi away
Lalandia Billund
Lalandia Billund
#1 of 13 in Billund
546 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lindebo Bed and Breakfast
Lindebo Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Gadbjerg
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margrethe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margrethe

Address: Langgade 36, Gadbjerg, Vejle 7321, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Vejle > Gadbjerg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gadbjerg
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Margrethe 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Margrethe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing