We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, stunning beachfront made up for bad experiences”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cagbalete Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pansacola Beach Resort
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This resort has the most beautiful beachfront in Cagbalete Island. It's especially breathtaking during low tide, which happens during early morning and late afternoon. In the morning when the sky is clear, you can see Mt. Banahaw on the eastern horizon.

Don't expect to be able to swim properly here, however. The water doesn't go deep until about 200 meters into the sea.

Two days before our initial reserved date, we asked if we could move it three weeks later due to unforeseen circumstances. Mr. Pansacola, the owner, was happy to accommodate our request.

There were only 3 of us in the group, so we availed of the small hut for 1200. We had no problems with mosquito bites, but my friends and I suffered from itchy patches on our thighs for two days. I guess you get what you pay for.

The staff tried their best to make our stay more pleasurable; they offered to sweep our hut, gave us a mosquito net, and provided us with anti-itch ointment.

We didn't avail of the food package, but they lent us cooking equipment for 50 pesos/day. If you want to prepare coffee, hot water in a big jug costs 50 pesos. They have a small sari-sari store if you forget to bring a toothbrush or tissue, but expect to pay about twice the normal price for everything.

Make sure to start charging your phones at 6 PM, because their power generator only runs until 11 PM. As a city girl, I also had the rather frightening experience of getting attacked by about a dozen moths in the face while trying to find the common toilet with my flashlight at 3 AM.

I would stay here again, but I would stay away from that open hut!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lyssp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Pansacola Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We were supposed to go here in this resort last May 16, 2014. We called their contact number and was informed that the resort is fully booked until night of May 17th. Option is to rent an open hut on the night of 16th and then pitch a tent on the 17th, since we really want to go to Cagbalete and most of the resorts are fully-booked, we agreed to this condition. We were told by the staff that the last trip for commute boat (50 per head) is around 4pm but was offered that we can hitch in their resort boat (just pay only 100 per head) and let them know so they can wait for us until 5pm. As we travel going to Mauban port, 2 hours before we left an sms that we might not able to reach the port around 4pm expecting that they will wait for us until 5pm. No reply from the contact. Upon reaching the port, we called the number and was answered by a different person saying that he can't hear us since he's on the boat. We arrived at the port before 5pm, to our surprise we called in their number again and the "different" person spoke to us saying that he heard the condition that was offered to us and he was busy diving and hour ago that's why he didn't bother to confirm our text message. He said that there was a mis-communication and he thought we already arrived in the resort. What a dismay! He did not even apologize for what happened and even told us "find your way to get here". He did also say that we can ask the tourism area within the port area for other options but he's disclaiming that "kung bukas pa yon" (if it's still open) in a very sarcastic manner. He was very unprofessional and since we have no choice, we rented a private boat and good thing we met good people that offered us another accommodation option aside from this resort. We haven't heard after the incident, he didn't even bother to check if "we were able to find our way to get to the island". So unprofessional!

Stayed: May 2014
8  Thank Thengpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

First of all, this place is far from a hotel. If you are expecting luxury and comfort, this is not for you. The place is more for those who want to experience a great beach, natural surroundings, and with a clear budget.

Food was great. The crispy pata was so crispy inside but melts in your mouth. The fare was simple but hearty. For php1k you get 5 meals. 2 snacks, lunch, dinner and breakfast. They offer mais con yelo for php 40. They have cold drinks all the time.
They have various huts that can accommodate large groups. Ranges from 1200-5500. Some have their own bathrooms and cooking areas.

Staff were very nice and accomodating. They offer massage or hilot for 250. There is electricity for fans from 6p-6a.

Clear waters. White sand beach. Only problem is that the water disappears in the afternoon so you cant swim. They say the tide schedule changes with the months.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank charmaine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Underwater plants everywhere. Food was okay but plenty, if you avail their 1k/head/day deal, you'll get 5 meals. We went island hopping to Bonsai Island and their own version of "mangrove" with our guide Junior. People are very honest as well!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

During our round trip in southern Luzon, we decided to visit Cagbalete island. Our two-night stay at Pansacola Beach Resort was ok; we only suffered a bit from the mosquitos. We arranged with the owner that the staff would cook two dinners and one breakfast for us. It is also possible to buy your own food in Cagbalete uno; the small village nearby. We did a 6-hour hike along the beach and through the mangroves/forest and enjoyed the remoteness of the island. It was a unique experience! You can also get a full-body massage or rent a boat. The ferry from Mauban leaves in the morning and at 16:00, so keep this in mind when traveling there. It is very easy to walk through the village to the resort, so no need to take a boat (or guides) there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank B0r1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

i love pansacola beach in cagbalete island. its only 5 hours away from manila and is very affordable. also, there are not much tourists so the island can be really quiet and relaxing. you can buy whatever you need from the small stores nearby. i like the fact that it is not overly developed and it maintains its charm. no big hotels, no big restaurants. pure nature trip.

The sand is really soft and pure and there are marine life signifying the healthy ecosystem.

The island is best for family and friends vacation.

To get there, you can take the JAC Liner from kamias, EDSA to mauban, Quezon province. Then get off at the port. Pay P70 to the local tourism office andpay P50 for the boat going to the island.

Room Tip: rent a cottage. normally it can fit 8-10 people.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank neilthewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Having the largest beach shore in the island, Pansacola definitely has the best location.

Since they were fully booked the time we went there, we had to pitch a tent. The area was always clean and even though it was 'fully booked,' the place still wasn't crowded. Electricity is only available at night. Good thing, there's Globe signal. There were cooking stoves available for your using. You just have to bring your ingredients and equipment. There's also an option to get your food from the resort itself.

Overall, our stay was pleasant. Sun in the morning and in the afternoon wasn't that harsh and nights were windy.

By the way, if you want to stay in the kubos and not in tents, better book in advance. It's quite hard to contact the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jesuiskareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cagbalete Island
76.1 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
198 reviews
109.0 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
171 reviews
38.0 mi away
The Suites at Mount Malarayat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.5 mi away
Sea's Spring Resort Hotel
Sea's Spring Resort Hotel
#9 of 10 in Batangas City
76 reviews
17.5 mi away
Queen Margarette Hotel
Queen Margarette Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lucena City
56 reviews
11.5 mi away
Batis Aramin Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pansacola Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pansacola Beach Resort

Address: 5 Quezon Cor R. Pansacola Street Mauban, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Quezon Province > Cagbalete Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cagbalete Island
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the quaint little town of Mauban, Quezon Province about 3-4 hours drive from Manila, beach lovers get to enjoy a 45-minute bangka ride to get to Pansacola Beach Resort in Cagbalete. For accommodations, nipa huts with lofts are available to give you the experience of "roughing it"-you'd be surprised at how the evening sea breeze beats your usual air conditioners at home. With the staple of five meals per day, you will surely get more than you bargained for when it comes to food. At low tide, the clear blue water is transformed into a massive expanse of sand, perfect for games with your friends. At night, be amazed at the wide blanket of stars on the clear sky. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing