We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable Mountain Getaway”
Review of A Stone Wall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Stone Wall Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Windham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable Mountain Getaway”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Our group of five rented the private house on the grounds of A Stone Wall Inn for our ski getaway in January. The house was spacious, comfortable and clean. There is no cell reception, but there is a land line in the house, which is also equipped with Internet. Movies on demand via a Roku streaming box attached to the TV. The bedrooms were comfortable. Heat provided by a rustic wood burning stove. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water for the whole house. Full kitchen. About 30 mins by car to Stratton; Mount Snow is also nearby, as well as a few smaller hills. Interesting, quirky architecture. Scenic wooded surroundings. Excellent homemade breakfast provided. Friendly and helpful hosts. Furniture in the living room area could have been more comfortable, and stereo speakers were blown, but overall a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    12
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We visited last weekend for a getaway celebration, and we are so glad we chose this spot. Sean, the Innkeeper, is very hospitable and happy to discuss the interesting history of this property and all it had to offer. It's remote enough to escape city life but close enough to enjoy an evening out for dinner, a day of antiquing, or to sample cheeses in a nearby village. We highly recommend A Stone Wall Inn and are eager to return.

Room Tip: Each room offers something unique. If the doors are open when you visit, feel free to explore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshfield, mass
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My friend and I wanted to get away for a couple of days and enjoy the snow and quiet.
We stayed at A Stone Wall Inn, and it was a wonderful experience.The Inn is close to ski areas, restaurants and shops to browse thru, but is high on a hill which provides a relaxing and quiet experience. Everything there was top quality and immaculate. Every room including common areas are a unique ,thoughtful and comfortable design. Even though we were away from the busy life all is modern.This Inn has a very low impact on the environment
Sean, our host was always available if we needed anything and incidentally is a great cook. We expected a continental breakfast but got quiche, homemade muffins and jam along with juice,and coffee.Cookies ,brownies and fruit were available during the day.for snacks We visited during the cold weather so were sorry not to be able to take advantage of the grounds and pool, but we had a jacuzzi!!!
I have stayed at many different B&B's most being in older homes, but this new home was a pleasant surprise , all it's angles fitting right in to the mountain.
We live in southeastern Mass. and this area of Vermont is very close and easy to get to.
We loved it!! and strongly recommend this lovely Inn.

Room Tip: there are two buildings to stay in, the main house while quiet is closer to common areas the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dori l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My wife and I were so excited to find this place near Stratton and Bromley Mt. We couldn't stop talking about what a great place it is. It's environmentally conscious and beautiful. Sean the manager was great in helping us find unique places to dine at and very friendly and helpful. Every morning we had fresh baked muffins, scones, or delicious zucchini bread waiting for us which he baked from scratch. Every room has a unique look and set up. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cathedral room. Tall ceiling with a great super comfy loft bed plenty big for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwv115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
na
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

It's a mile or two off the main roads, and it doesn't fit the stereotype of a B&B: instead, it's a fascinating example of unusual, inventive architecture with a wonderful, rambling layout and very welcoming hosts.

We stayed on a winter weekend, and the rooms were cozy and well-kept. The shared areas were exactly the right balance of tidy and relaxed, with cozy nooks and interesting books around every corner. The layout almost inevitably means you'll brush up with other guests (but the rooms themselves are fully private), which just adds to the appeal.

You're out in the woods, which means peace and quiet - and beautiful views out the windows. The location is good too - in between Bromley and Magic, for the ski crowd (we weren't) with the minor warning that all the places to eat (and there are half a dozen or more) are about ten minutes away.

If you want an Old Victorian with Ye Olde Pub just past the reception desk, Vermont has plenty of those; this isn't that. But if you're looking for a very welcoming experience in a modern, quirky (in the best way) setting, Stone Wall is a great spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I spent a yoga weekend at A Stone Wall Inn in September. The place was beautiful, unique, and very well kept. I stayed in the Stargazer room, which was the perfect spot for me and my dog, Gypsy. I think it would be a bit tight for a couple, but it had a lovely balcony and shower, as well as a super comfortable bed. It was very cozy!

The grounds of the inn are lovely and there is lots to see. The inn really is dog-friendly and I spent much of my time exploring with Gypsy. The innkeepers are very friendly and the breakfasts were delicious. It was the perfect place for a yoga retreat and I hope to return again this year!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a partner, I'd call ahead to make sure the room is large enough for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My husband and I loved everything about this Inn. When we arrived, we were greeted by warm wood-burning stoves and the smell of freshly-baked (gluten-free) cookies. Our room, which we accessed via narrow, winding staircases, was charming. It was clean and cozy, and our bed was loft-style, up another flight of stairs. We had a beautiful view of the property from our balcony. The location is remote, so no cell-phone service but there is free wifi as well as netflix in the common area. We loved the spa after a day of snowshoeing.
The staff was very kind and friendly. They had a great suggestions for activities and restaurants. Breakfast was simple but delicious: spinach frittata and fresh baked banana muffins along with fruit, juice, yogurt, cereal and coffee/tea. Don't expect to be waited on hand and foot though, this is more of a "help yourself" kind of place. The staff is there to help when you need it but guest are expected to make themselves at home. We highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
6.0 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
325 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Upper Pass Lodge
The Upper Pass Lodge
#1 of 4 in Londonderry
137 reviews
3.2 mi away
Snowdon Chalet
Snowdon Chalet
#1 of 3 in Londonderry
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blue Gentian Lodge
Blue Gentian Lodge
#2 of 4 in Londonderry
53 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
471 reviews
12.9 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stone Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stone Wall Inn

Property: A Stone Wall Inn
Address: 530 Hitchcock Hill Rd, Windham, VT 05359-9653
Region: United States > Vermont > Windham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A Stone Wall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by an award-winning architect, A Stone Wall Inn is not your average bed and breakfast. You won't find doilies, antiques, and Victorian era furniture; What you will find is modern architecture, with buildings designed to interact with the environment, artistic symbolism in every nook, meandering staircases that lead you to unique rooms, and custom designed furniture pieces. As Vermont's Greenest Inn, we use no fossil fuels in the heating of our buildings, and use materials which are sensitive to the needs of the environment. The buildings are akin to an adult treehouse, with creative spaces to be found inside and out. Get away from the fast lane, and come explore the pristine nature of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your A Stone Wall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing