We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Stone Wall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Stone Wall Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Windham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Mini Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had a great time the owner and manager were friendly and personal! The land was beautiful and the architecture as well. The breakfast was delicious, a lot of carbs though, muffins and pastries, but all homemade fresh that morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    12
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

A stone wall inn is a cozy welcoming inn. the staff is so friendly and helpful, they have tons of tips and ideas for your stay. the rooms and grounds are all neat, clean, unique and comfortable. we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend checking out a stone wall inn!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the look out room with the jacuzzi tub it was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Absolutely loved this B&B! Unique architecture, beautiful grounds/landscaping, excellent/friendly innkeepers, great food, and quiet and relaxing. A great place to go in any season. We will definitely be back and recommend that others check out A Stone Wall Inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Check out the website for a description of each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Nice, modern architecture - a unique departure from the typical B&B. Very eco-friendly, sustainable ethos and policies (heated via wood stove, solar panels, compost collected from breakfast, etc.). Small staff, very kind and helpful. Only drawback is that sound travels in building, so not ideally private for a romantic getaway. Would be good to rent The Corner House w/family for a week away.

Green Features: See general comments - A+ for environmentally-friendly practices
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

A Stone Wall Inn is an incredible place to stay... The architecture is very unique, as is Bob, The Owner, who designed the entire buildings and grounds. It's definitely off the beaten path, which was fine by me and my wife. We wanted solitude. We got there at 2:00, but strict check in times gave us 2 hours to walk the grounds, which are amazing. Check in was smooth, and Sean is very accomadating, even carrying our bags to the Corner House for us. We had the Corner House to ourselves our first night, which gave us a chance to really get comfortable out on the main deck. ( BRING BUG SPRAY !!!! ) Cognac and cigars for me, Yellow Tail for my wife. They have a full kitchen, all utensils you need to eat and drink. Microwave, toaster oven, dishwasher,etc. Sauna in the bottom part of the house, which is awesome... The pool an Cajuzzi were there for our enjoyment. WiFi works pretty good, bring your own laptop, the main house internet is spotty at best. No cell phone signal, but you can take and make calls if you feel you must. There are great places to eat, 8-20 miles distance. ( I recommend Solo Farm & Restaurant ) DEFINITELY CHECK OUT LOWELL LAKE STATE PARK. Beautiful. Swimming, EXCELLENT FISHING, canoe, kayak.Not crowded at all, even on Sat. & Sun. Like I told Bob when we left, not we might be back, WE'LL DEFINITELY BE BACK !!!!

Room Tip: The Long House we didn't stay at, But the Crow's Nest room was in a further away location, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grateful908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, General Manager at A Stone Wall Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for the awesome review. I'm glad you enjoyed Lowell Lake, it is our favorite place to take the kayaks out, and to head for an easy hike, complete with interesting attributes like an abandoned summer camp, and a Revolutionary War cemetery.

I also wanted to let you know, that we just finished a complete rewiring of the networking cables on the property, so both buildings have a solid internet connection now. Fiber optic lines are also being installed in the town, and by the end of the year, our internet speeds will be rated at 1 gbps....faster than most urban areas, and universities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying on site as I write this, my fiancé and I along with our dog Sammy. We love being out of the rush of normal life relaxing walking the property which is amazing. Staff is great. The pool is very nice, the room is perfect with a balcony and all. We love the area, there everything you need here but if you venture out not too far away is anything you could want. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zullo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We recently spent two nights at A Stone Wall Inn and had a very good time. The property is quirky in the best sense of the word. Each room is different (see the website) and our room (Cathedral) actually consisted of a main room which contained everything except the bed and shower which were basically in a loft up a flight of stairs. Rolling out of bed into the shower is really a great idea. The grounds were beautiful (although we didn't get to walk them because of some bad planning mixed with occasional rain). The owner/architect came to the breakfast room each morning and regaled us with interesting stories about his life. Although the place is somewhat isolated -- we had to travel 10-25 miles for most attractions and restaurants -- that wasn't a significant problem, especially considering the very small number of vehicles on the roads at this time of the year. I did rate the location as very good instead of excellent because of this; on the other hand, if you are trying to get away from everything, you could consider this location excellent.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are described in a lot of detail on their website, so I'd suggest spending time...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are extremely environmentally friendly; in fact, that is one of their key tenets.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
6.0 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
2.7 mi away
The Upper Pass Lodge
The Upper Pass Lodge
#1 of 4 in Londonderry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
7.4 mi away
Windham Hill Inn
Windham Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in West Townshend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Inn at Weston
The Inn at Weston
#1 of 3 in Weston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stone Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stone Wall Inn

Property: A Stone Wall Inn
Address: 530 Hitchcock Hill Rd, Windham, VT 05359-9653
Region: United States > Vermont > Windham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Stone Wall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by an award-winning architect, A Stone Wall Inn is not your average bed and breakfast. You won't find doilies, antiques, and Victorian era furniture; What you will find is modern architecture, with buildings designed to interact with the environment, artistic symbolism in every nook, meandering staircases that lead you to unique rooms, and custom designed furniture pieces. As Vermont's Greenest Inn, we use no fossil fuels in the heating of our buildings, and use materials which are sensitive to the needs of the environment. The buildings are akin to an adult treehouse, with creative spaces to be found inside and out. Get away from the fast lane, and come explore the pristine nature of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your A Stone Wall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing