We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend getaway”
Review of A Stone Wall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Stone Wall Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Windham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Syracuse, New York, United States
1 review
“A great weekend getaway”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A very unique place----although a bed & breakfast, you still feel that you have your own space and some privacy. Sean was kind and helpful, breakfast was delicious! I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had the Overlook room, no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    12
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This place is really unique. We arrived at night so we didn't get the full experience until morning. The owner/ architect was on-site that day and we got to meet him at breakfast. If you're interested in architecture this place is like an architect's playground. The architect was more than happy to tour us around the grounds and various buildings, telling us lots of stories about how it was built and how different aspects of the building came to be. It was fun and definitely inspiring.

For those who aren't interested in architecture it's still a fun and unique place to visit. We loved the lofted bedroom, which felt like a cozy nook. If you can, try to arrive before dark as you'll get a better overview of the place, and it'll be a little easier to find.

Our only complaint would be the breakfast, which was good, but minimal by usual bed and breakfast standards. Still, we can't complain, we used a Groupon and felt like we got an amazing deal overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a great time at a Stonewall Inn. It is unlike any place we've ever stayed. Everything was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. It was dead quiet which was a great escape from the city noises.The view was perfect and we were able to spend several hours in the lounge playing board games.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different , the website has great descriptions and 360 photos so you can choose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatLuver_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just the place for creative thinkers who don't want a typical New England chintz draped bedroom. This is a treehouse for adults (as the architect/innkeeper notes). Designed to be eco-friendly, and intriguing and inviting, it is a great escape from the ordinary. Bob (architect/innkeeper) was engaging and offered to suggest local things to do, restaurants, etc. and we enjoyed the conversation over delicious coffee and breakfast. My husband and I usually like to stay in boutique hotels, but you won't find that in this part of Vermont. We aren't big on B&Bs. But, this is the exception! Sean, the manager, made us feel welcome immediately and quickly checked us in and walked us over to our room (the Crow's Nest) in the other building, there are two. If we ever travel back to this part of Vermont, A Stone Wall in is our first choice!

Green Features: A Stone Wall Inn was designed to have low impact on the environment, back in the 1970's! It still is, and when systems can be upgraded, they are. By the way, the place is not dated! Very well maintained and could have been built last week!
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsnorthernNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a very unique place. The design of the itwas unlike any other bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Pond View room. Our room was nice and clean. The bed didn't seem like it would be comfortable at first, but it actually wasn't bad. The private balcony was nice and the view of the pond was very pretty. The thing we didn't like about the room was the chairs... they weren't comfortable. And the bed was in the loft, so if you have to use the bathroom in the middle of the night you have to go down the stairs. Not the end of the world, but just a little thing. Breakfast was really, really good. At first I was a little disappointed because the photos on the website show several baked goods, as if you'll have a choice from several homemade items each morning. But in the end I didn't mind, because the one option was so good. We stayed 3 nights and had banana muffins, spinach quiche and a raspberry French breakfast cake (can't remember the exact name for it). The owner and manager are both very nice and willing to help.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just stayed overnight on 9/26 in the Outlook room to celebrate our recent engagement!
We already are planning our next trip back - what a relaxing and peaceful escape from the traffic & noise of the Boston area. Check-in was quick, easy, and friendly. We got settled and took our dining certificate to Manchester, where we had a great dinner at Firefly.

When we got back around 8pm, we enjoyed some champagne and looking at all the stars from our private terrace. It was so peaceful and relaxing!

The next morning, we awoke to homemade spinach quiche, fresh juice, cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, and fresh fruit. The architect, Bob, came in and answered any questions we had about the Inn and the surrounding area.

After breakfast, we strolled around the beautiful gardens, and honestly did not even want to leave! :) The architecture is so unique and our room was clean, comfortable, and just really fun to stay in. We left feeling relaxed, rejuvenated and rested.

Trust all these 5-star reviews! They are there for a reason! We'll be back again before the year is over.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Stone Wall Inn is by far the best Bed & breakfast I've ever stayed at. The grounds were beautiful and the architecture is like no other. Breakfast was out of this world, and each room is different from the next. Lots to do around town, and both Bob (the owner) & Sean (the manager) were extremely nice. Highly recommend this place. We will be coming back. :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
6.0 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
325 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Upper Pass Lodge
The Upper Pass Lodge
#1 of 4 in Londonderry
137 reviews
3.2 mi away
Snowdon Chalet
Snowdon Chalet
#1 of 3 in Londonderry
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blue Gentian Lodge
Blue Gentian Lodge
#2 of 4 in Londonderry
53 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
471 reviews
12.9 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stone Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stone Wall Inn

Property: A Stone Wall Inn
Address: 530 Hitchcock Hill Rd, Windham, VT 05359-9653
Region: United States > Vermont > Windham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A Stone Wall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by an award-winning architect, A Stone Wall Inn is not your average bed and breakfast. You won't find doilies, antiques, and Victorian era furniture; What you will find is modern architecture, with buildings designed to interact with the environment, artistic symbolism in every nook, meandering staircases that lead you to unique rooms, and custom designed furniture pieces. As Vermont's Greenest Inn, we use no fossil fuels in the heating of our buildings, and use materials which are sensitive to the needs of the environment. The buildings are akin to an adult treehouse, with creative spaces to be found inside and out. Get away from the fast lane, and come explore the pristine nature of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your A Stone Wall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing