We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the island; don't expect the Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Nemo Beach Resort and SPA
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sabang
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best on the island; don't expect the Marriott”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Great island resort in terms of Indonesian standards. However it's nothing like high end accommodation at other tourist destinations around the world. Basic wooden cabins with fan and occasional hot water. Great view of white sandy beach and crystal blue ocean. Service is great despite the occasional language barrier. No sunrises or sunsets to be seen from hotel. Diving and MC rental available on request. Great wooden patio with bar right next to the beach. Alcohol available.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristianFrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    108
    22
    15
    9
See reviews for
60
160
80
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 days, and we came without booking, hence all the bungalows were fully book. But thankfully there were backpackers cottage that were available for us. It is comfortable and cozy just like how a private bungalow would be itself. It is located right above the restaurant with a balcony of breath taking view. There were chairs, fan, a double bed, wardrobe, mosquito net and even mosquito sprays were provided, a shared bathroom with hot shower, western toilet, and toiletries were provided. All of these cost us only MYR 240 with meals and drinks.

We were also pleased to be invited for the owner's baby shower party, at their home located in front of Casanemo. We we quite amused with the traditional dance, local traditional food and custom ceremony that was quite intriguing and interesting.

The manager FJ took us around the island for half a day and we shared cocktails at speak easy beach bar. The food were all fresh and great especially the barbecued fish and soto ayam. Must try also their pasta done by Novi & Lili's, it is delicious! They arranged for us also our boat tickets, taxis, becak, domestic flights, bus, guides, snorkeling trips with boat and scuba diving, massages and motorbike rentals. All the staff were friendly and helpful. FJ and Iskandar , the managers of Casanemo were enriching us with everything we needed.

This place is the best in the whole of Sumatera, because of it's beauty, ambiance, private and comfortable accommodation. As backpackers, we can still have enjoy the stay luxuriously especially hanging out at the sunbathing deck while having fresh coconut.
I would recommend for anyone to visit this humble paradise! And i will for sure visit this place again. Many thanks to all the crew that made my stay memorable, I miss you all already!

Love, Dorothy.

Room Tip: The backpacker's rooms are comfortable and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeju, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The setting for Casanemo is lovely, the bungalows are well separated on the site of the hill heading down to the beach. The ups and downs help to keep you fit and work off the occasional ice cream.

The beach is good, there is a bit of tidal flow and it drops off deeper fairly soon so young kids should be aware. It's certainly not dangerous but neither is it gently sloping and totally calm. I was a bit disappointed with the snorkelling, there was some coral and fish further out but a very sandy bottom makes vis low.

The ladies who help run it along with mamma and papa are lovely and very helpful. Pappa lent us his bike and went out to get a padlock for the safety box with no hassle.

The bungalow was great, balcony with hammock looking out to the sea, lapping waves and although the shower was too low the temp was warm.

Not a lot around Casanemo to wander to, we hired the bike to head over to Gapang and Iboh

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonnypest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

View and rooms: my spouse and I stayed in bungalow 11 which had an amazing view. The waves can be heard easily, room is clean with a mosquito net.
Staff: very friendly and helpful with all requests. We found the manager FJ to be extremely helpful.
Vibe: relaxed, quiet atmosphere with a nice terrace by the water.
Food: the reason I give 4 stars. Just okay food.
Activities: pretty beach for swimming/ snorkeling, easy to set up scuba dives ( ask for Saleem!), easy to rent a scooter and tour the island.
All in all we enjoyed a very relaxed stay here!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auroville, india
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Since we had not booked in advance, we were rather grateful to find a vacancy for only 2 nights when we freshly arrived from the boat after the exhilarating tuk-tuk ride. The sea was nice and blue though agitated, there was a little bit of sand despite the tide and the night enchanting with the full moon. It could be paradise but it is not.
One cannot possibly be on the beach full day and the snorkeling over the so called house reef was not that easy after all due to the currents... Because of the ongoing renovation/construction noise full day we could hear from our room but also the restaurant (no inconvenience regretted!) disgracefully old bathroom tiles with plain moldy curtains, uncomfortable chairs on the terrace (where did the nice armchairs from the pictures go?), unusable plastic hammock (where did the comfy hammock from the pictures go?), no decoration effort in the country of beautiful batik, inedible over-spicy food, no possibility to swap rooms because it was full, 2 nights finally were more than enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaDidier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a very nice time staying at Casa Nemo. The food was delicious and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely go back!

The hotel offered to set up a variety of activities for us including offsite snorkeling, motorbike rentals. Their is nice snorkeling right off the beach.

Room Tip: Cottages at the top of the hill are older and a little bigger with better views of the sunrise and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palembang, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I just finish my vacation and i can said that casanemo is the best. The room was clean (i used to stayed at beach front bungalow), the beach was excellent and the stafs (FJ n Rizal) was very friendly n helpfull.

It's worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabang
23.0 mi away
Hermes Palace Hotel
Hermes Palace Hotel
#2 of 16 in Banda Aceh
188 reviews
24.0 mi away
Oasis Atjeh Hotel
Oasis Atjeh Hotel
#3 of 16 in Banda Aceh
70 reviews
22.3 mi away
No photo provided
88 Hotel Atjeh
#12 of 16 in Banda Aceh
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Grand Nanggroe Hotel
Grand Nanggroe Hotel
#7 of 16 in Banda Aceh
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freddies Santai Sumurtiga
1.3 mi away
Anoi Itam Resort
Anoi Itam Resort
#5 of 5 in Sabang
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Nemo Beach Resort and SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Nemo Beach Resort and SPA

Property: Casa Nemo Beach Resort and SPA
Address: | Jl. K.H. Agus Salim, Kel. Ie Meulee, Sabang, Pulau Weh 23521, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > Aceh > Pulau Weh > Sabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casanemo has been built with respecting tradition, love, art and culture. Experience the casual charm and unique atmosphere of a family owned and operated resort in one the most beautiful spot in Indonesia.Accommodations offer a variety of clean, comfortable Bungalows, Rooms, family apartments and beachfront bungalows to accommodate singles, Couples & families. Our Resort is on the beach front of a long beach called Pantai Sumur Tiga. Experience also our skilled and professional Spa theurapist at budget price. Our hotel is guest home and our guest is our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Nemo Beach Resort and SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing