We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Freddies Santai Sumurtiga
Nearby Hotels
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
My Home Aceh(Banda Aceh)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
88 Hotel Atjeh(Banda Aceh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Medan(Banda Aceh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 61(Banda Aceh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveller rating
440
175
27
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
175
27
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet dinnerhis teampulau wehbanda acehevery eveningsea viewcall to prayerpizzadelicious foodfamily roomhis guestfreddies santaian excellent hostsnorkeling tripsoupvery reasonable pricefree water
Filter
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 662 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We ended up booking with Freddies based on the great reviews here on TA and we were not disappointed. Great location and nice cabanas. Each bungalow has its own balcony with a spectacular view. Service is great - Freddie was not there when we were but he kept in touch via e-mail and wanted to make sure everything was as agreed.

We stayed in the bungalow the most to the right (looking from the beach) in other words as far away from the restaurant as possible. The neighbours goats, chicken and roosters were literally looking over our shoulders (as its on a hill and the bungalow is at lower level than the neighbour) and initially we were a little worried they would wake us up too early but that was never a probem and we came to like the goofy guys, especially the goats :)

The bungalow had a fan, mosquito net and most important of all: a fridge, We heard buying alcohol on Weh was somewhat difficult so we bought a bottle of rum from tax free on the way there. We then walked to the neighbourhood store to get some coke and were ready to enjoy rum & coke on the balcony enjoying an amazing sunset.

The beach in front of Freddies is really nice and clean. One day we took a walk on the beach and I have to say that I do not remember whens the last time I have seen such a "dirty" beach - there were litter everywhere. Thats actually the thing that I did not like about Weh - as beautiful and amazing as the island is the locals are unfortunately not looking after the nature (matter of education I know).

The food at Freddies is fantastic! With Freddie being away we were taken care of by the local staff whose English was not very strong but we managed to get everything sorted so no problem there.

All in all an excellent experience and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anskianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

we totally enjoyed our stay: the place is BEAUTIFUL, the beach is GREAT, freddie was EXTREMELY kind and helpful, and the food (breakfast and dinner) was FANTASTIC! also the ala carte restaurant was very nice. the bunglalows were very nice, own verandhas and all, and simple & nice things were included (bug spray, facial tissues, water, etc.). Thanks!

Team Finland

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niinaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Freddie has a great spot above the beach, about 15minutes drive from the ferry on Pulau Weh. There aren't that many great beaches on the island, but Freddies on one of the best. There are a handful of cabanas, all wood and woven palm leaves, so with that authentic, rustic, island feel which is so appealing. (There's another place close by which is new, but with colourful concrete bungalows, and therefore horrible by comparison - don't worry, you can't see it from Freddies or from the beach.) The huts have their own verandahs with great views out to sea. The snorkelling from the beach is excellent - I enjoyed it more than the dive I did at Iboih - you might see turtles, plenty of fish, including lion fish, sea cucumbers, starfish and even (apparently "harmless") banded sea snakes. But the very best if Freddies' cooking. Dinner is typically soup with a starter, then a buffet of around six dishes from somewhere around the globe - vegetarians fear not - and then dessert! Beer is not in short supply, unlike in most places in Aceh. Friends stayed up in Iboih and Gapang, but their digs were not as good by a margin! If you dive at Iboih, Rubiah Tertah will pick you off and drop you off. I guess if you talk to Lumba Lumba, they might do the same. Really, a great place.

Room Tip: There's no choice - Freddies is the best place on Pulau Weh...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kestrel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed at Freddies early September for 3 nights and loved every moment of it. The location is just beautiful and Freddy and all the staff are so very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious and clean and as mentioned earlier in other reviews the food is great and there is plenty of it .
Thankyou again Freddy , Brendan and all at Freddies for a truly wonderful time , I will be back !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I stayed at freddies for one week. The location is very nice on a white sand quiet beach. The bungalows all have seaview, cold water tank, fan, a refrigerator and are clean and spacious.
The best off all is the owner Freddie. He makes you feel like you are home and cook everynight the best meals for you. I had a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliza s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews