We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable place with free wifi and parking”
Review of Knights Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for a night .
The owner confirmed our special request before we arrived on the date so we were thrilled !!! late checkout at 12 pm !!!!
We stayed in room 10 and it was warm and cosy
Although there was a glass door with no windows , it was alright
The curtains made sure it was dark for a late sleepin
he room was nice with side lamps and a tv in front
The bath room was small but showers were separate from toilet by a wall which was nice
We had a sofa just beside the bed and dining table and chairs on other side
The only drawback was the wifi was not upto the mark as it was quite slow and sometimes didn't work + the sound of water rushing through the drainage pipes upstairs also added to disturbance
All in one the guy at reception was nice and quick and it was a nice experience

Room Tip: I would say room upstairs will be better if you would like to avoid the noise from drain pipes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAILRIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex K, General Manager at Knights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Mailriq, Thank you very much for the 5 star review and this wonderful and detailed comment on Tripadvisor. I am sorry for the WIFI internet. Recently it became bit slow and does not respond very well. We are working on it so there won't be the same problem or any problems in your next visit. Best wishes and kind regards, Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have stayed her twice.. 26th Feb and 26th March..

This is undoubtedly one of the best hotels you can get in Auckland at such an affordable rate. Everything about the place exceeded our expectations. The staff were amazing! Superb location and although the Inn is situated on a busy main road .. I swear you could never tell once in the room. Peaceful and quiet. Cannot wait to check in again :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomadic_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex K, General Manager at Knights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave such a positive review. I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with our hospitality and service. In case you need airport shuttle, we provide free airport shuttle service (both pick up and drop off), if you stay for 2 nights or more. I would like to be of service to you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We slept here because we had to attend a congress at the other side of the street. So very convenient. But also the hotel was clean, cosy and the room big enough with a small cooking place, fridge and television and free internet. A place to recommend. The area is nice too with many restaurants with very different styles. Malaysian, Chinese, Japanese, New Zealand cooking, Grill etc. The nice thing is that you can sit in front of your room in the evening sun especially on the ground floor.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the ground floor. You can sit outside in the evening sun in front of your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brokgoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex K, General Manager at Knights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Our rooms on the ground floor are certainly great to enjoy the evening sun. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and service. It was a great pleasure meeting you and would certainly be a pleasure to host you again on your next visit to Epsom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

These rooms are poorly lit, stuffy, and uncomfortable. The sheets may or may not be made of sandpaper (they aren't really, but that's what they feel like). Made international calls using a calling card and had an outstanding phone bill at the end of my stay. Be forewarned any call incurs a charge, even toll free calling card numbers. The air-conditioning unit worked well, but leaked water (I hope) over the bed, floor, and our luggage. It is impossible to have privacy and comfort here as any window you open leaves you exposed (front door/window opens to walkway for other guests, kitchen/bathroom windows open to neighboring motel behind). The rooms are clean enough but we found we shared them with at least 4 spiders. It probably isn't the worst place in town to stay, but if you are looking for any comfort past a place to keep your luggage and a quick nap, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex K, General Manager at Knights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our room and service. However, I am wondering why you did not request anything during your 6 nights of stay. Our linen is outsourced and I believe that most of motels and hotels use the same product in New Zealand. We have never had any issues regarding our linen before. It must be caused by the personal preference.

We did not charge any toll-free phone calls from the rest of your group. We charged phone calls from your room because you were using a number which is not toll-free. We had a look at the website of your pre-paid phone card. It clearly says that the local access number (which you used to make calls) is regarded as a local number. This means there will be extra charges imposed by hotels and motels. The call rates are lower when you connect through a local access number rather than the convenience access number (which is toll-free). You had to use the convenience access number to avoid any phone call charges. Please check 'EasyCall NZ' website for more information.


We provide daily room service. This includes cleaning the kitchen, toilet and bath room, vacuuming and mopping. While we are cleaning, we also check rooms to see whether everything is as it should be. We did not find any leaking trace. There could be spiders but as we clean rooms everyday there is no chance that we did not notice 4 spiders.

We have inner curtains that provide privacy and security to our guests in the room. They are very hard to peek through into the room but is very easy to see through from inside. The windows are not big enough for people to get in from.

At the check-in we offered a refund in case any of your group members was not satisfied with our service and room. However, there was no request and complaints regarding the issues that you mentioned. We would refund the night's accommodation fee, if there were requests. Also, a room was provided for your group to store luggage at the departure. This was provided for free. We provide 200MB of data for free per night per room. However, we initially provided 1000MB per room and gave 500MB or more data for every request per person afterwards (nearly every day) at no extra charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We travelled from Hawkes Bay for 2 nights. Fantastic service, very friendly and helpful. The rooms were immaculate and very suitable for our requirements - especially the beds, extremely comfortable. It was very quiet and peaceful. Easy access to the city centre and surrounding areas. Highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex K, General Manager at Knights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We're very happy you enjoyed our hospitality and our room. It was a great pleasure meeting you and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed in a Studio room which is at the top of 2 flights of stairs, the second flight is quite step. A nice clean well presented studio. Comfortable bed and a good powerful shower. Room has Air conditioning , sky TV, toaster, jug etc. Friends stayed downstairs in a one bed unit and it too was well presented, a larger room with a couple of chairs and a kitchen.
Units were quiet and even though on a reasonably busy road we heard very little noise at night.
Reception staff were very helpful and cheerful. There are food shops next door and Alexander park and the ASB show grounds are accross the road.
An enjoyable stay and would stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigGNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex K, Manager at Knights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review. It is very good to hear that you and your friends enjoyed staying in one of our loft units and a studio unit. We are trying to maintain the high standard that our guests can be satisfied. We hope to see you soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I recently travelled to Auckland for work and found it difficult to get accommodation around the show ground area as the main stream hotels where charging ridiculous prices. I came across the Knights Inn on the internet and I am so glad I did. From my first initial contact via email, they where prompt in there replies and extremely professional.

I stayed in one of their spa room, it was spotlessly clean and the decor was better than some of the major hotels I have stayed at.

Newmarket is only 2km away & has some great shopping outlets and restaurant's, but a good choice of restaurants and good quality takeaways from just around the corner of Knights Inn are available. Great Chinese takeaway right next door.

Would definitely stay here again.

Huge thank you to all the team at Knights Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliotQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex K, Manager at Knights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave a review. We are very glad to hear that you were impressed by our service. We always try to make the room tidy and comfortable for our valuable guests. This is our job, and keeping our guests happy is what we do! We will always try to make Knights Inn a "home away from home".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklane Motor Lodge
5.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
716 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
101 reviews
0 mi away
Epsom Motel
Epsom Motel
#2 of 8 in Epsom
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn

Address: 234 Green Lane West | Cnr Greenlane & Manukau Rds, Epsom, Auckland 1051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Epsom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range: £64 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knights Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Knights Inn, our goal is to provide you with a warm greeting, a comfortable stay and have you leaving feeling refreshed and looking forward to returning. Knights Inn is in a superb central location of Greenlane/Epsom. We are directly opposite Alexandra Raceway, ASB Showground and Logan Campbell center and are just a few minutes away from the Auckland central city, Ellerslie Racecourse, Mt. Smart Stadium and Mt. Eden Park by car. The recently refurbished Knights Inn Motel is the number one choice for style, comfort and convenience when choosing a place to stay in Epsom. 26 Spacious modern and bright rooms are ideal for catering business, family and tourist travelers and include all the conveniences one would need. There are heavenly comfortable king-size bed, modern LCD TVs and every channel (free 50+ SKY channels) you could wish for if you choose to spend time and relax in your room and of course wireless internet for you to work from the comfort of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knights Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Epsom, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing