We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have read reviews first...!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Epsom Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ascot Epsom Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Oruanui
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should have read reviews first...!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

have spoken today after returing home, to operator of 'motel': appalling room, filthy, cockroaches and fly ridden to the extent ALL cutlery, plates and glasses were washed in boiling water before use: Room stank, kept windows and both doors open for 3 hours to get rid of the reek, walls dirty, fridge compressor beyond just 'noisy', could hear guests toileting etc; bedcovers felt 'greasy'....carpet foul smelly and frankly - room nothing at all like online photos - have to have been photoshopped! Was told should have come to them but from what was seen other rooms in same state....plus noone at 'reception' anyways...left v v v early just to get out of the place as in 6.30am! we will NOT return and should have checked reviews before booking!

Room Tip: Read the reviews before you make any booking, anywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Naine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    6
    18
    9
    27
See reviews for
16
16
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I was a bit trepidatious about staying here after reading some appalling reviews on Trip Advisor. Now that I have seen the motel for myself, all I can guess is that those reviews were written by neighbouring motel owners (of whom there are many) or by people with carrots up their butts. Honestly ... it was roomy, clean, well serviced by nearby food establishments, and in a great location for city events. Yes, there were a few stains on the carpet, and one on the bedside table, BUT, you are not paying top dollar here, you should expect a few defects. Someone had also complained on Trip Advisor about the traffic noise - well, it's not rocket science to know that if you are bothered by traffic noise, then don't select a motel that lies between Great South Road and the Auckland motorway! This is one of the cheapest places to stay this close to the city, excellent value for money, and guarantees a carpark, which is more than most other motels closer to the city can promise.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the middle - it might buffer the noise a little from Great South Road on one side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarolynTimarkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was a last minute quick overnight in Auckland. The room was not as advertised. Dinghy, sticky carpet, air-con unit was ancient and had a 'broken, please use fan' sign on it. Bathroom was falling apart and not properly clean, make up and toothpaste smears on the mirror and taps. About the only good thing was good shower pressure. For $99 I'm pretty sure I could've found better if I had not been in a hurry. Won't be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Epsom hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Being a solo traveler is not always fun but the motel provides a Sky TV connection, and a selection of DVD’s to play at no extra cost, on the LCD in the room, which I could connect my laptop to. The motel is super close to the shops and takeaway places. I very easily ordered my continental breakfast both mornings from the motel and the kitchenette in the room made it just that much easier. Given its central location, I was pleasantly surprised with a balcony and also with the free parking they had on site. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascotepsom, Manager at Ascot Epsom Motel, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Hi Richard, thanks for your review. We’re glad you liked the room and location. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

My friends and I came up to Auckland last week for the Mary Poppins musical, and stayed at the Ascot Epsom Motel. We decided to travel via public transport as it was the best option, the bus stop was right outside the motel, and the receptionist told us exactly how to get to the Civic Theatre from the last stop. It was a fast journey and an easy taxi ride back. I’ve been up here a few times before for other events and find it very convenient and helpful, with great rooms and service. Will definitely be back, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascotepsom, Manager at Ascot Epsom Motel, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Hi Amanda, thank you for those wonderful remarks. It is always a delight having you with us. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Great Improvements!

I had come to stay here after a long time for a spa and was pleased to see the brand new spa pool they had in their room, along with new beds. The Sky TV channels were running great on the new LCD in the room, and I could easily hook up my laptop with the TV, especially after being given internet data for free. Just adds to the great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascotepsom, Manager at Ascot Epsom Motel, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Hi John, thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our improvements. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We decided to celebrate our special anniversary here, away from the kids for once.

On top of the lovely stay and the heated private spa pool that was attached to our room, the manager made our stay just that much extra special with a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room on our arrival.

It was great!

Thanks so much!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
1.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#60 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cornwall Park Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Motor Lodge
Tudor Court Motor Lodge
#34 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Epsom Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Epsom Motel

Property: Ascot Epsom Motel
Address: 92 Great South Road, Epsom 1051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Epsom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Epsom Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot Epsom Motel offers great value for your money. Located in the very heart of metropolitan Auckland, a stay at Ascot Epsom places you with in walking distance of city's finest dining, shopping and entertainment, including Broadway, New Market, ASB Showgrounds and minutes' drive to Queen Street, Viaduct harbour, to Auckland's most significant venues-Aotea Centre, The Civic, Auckland Town Hall, Aotea Square and Sky City-making it ideal for both business and pleasure.. Accommodation options at Ascot Epsom range from standard studio units to luxury Spa Units and Family Suites that offer full Kitchen facilities. We provide these 5 levels of accommodation at competitive rates to suit any budget. All rooms are with balcony/courtyard, designated non smoking units, feature queen & single beds, private bathroom, electric blankets, tea & coffee facilities, telephone, Ascot movie channel, Sky TV, microwave, fridge, toaster, hair dryer, alarm clock, fan, heater, desk work area. Wi-Fi available in every unit . Ascot Epsom has easy access to Northern and Southern motorway links. The Airport is 20 minutes drive away and public transport available at gate. Close to medical centres and hospitals. Stay at Ascot Epsom and you will enjoy the conveniences of the location, comfort and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ascot Epsom Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Epsom Motel Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing