We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and tired”

Rayland Epsom Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rayland Epsom Motel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced and tired”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We booked a "Family Superior" room for 4 adults plus a 1 year old. One room had a huge hole in the wall. The nights were still a little chilly - one room had an oil heater, one room had no heater at all. There was One small table with only 2 chairs... definitely not suitable for "family" eating unless especially as this room type was advertised to sleep up to 6. "Kitchenette" advertised was sadly one microwave ... no other cooking utensils, not even a bowl and serving spoon! No dish wash was supplied so had to use bathroom soap and no tea towel to dry the dishes either!. One pillow per person - no spare ones in the room. For all this we paid $175 per night!!! Which was actually more expensive than renting 2 separate rooms - guess they charge for the interconnecting door. It was easy to find, but so are the other accommodation places along this road. Sadly the advertising far exceeded the quality, and had I have seen this room before I paid we would not have stayed. Didn't expect luxury - but some basics are necessary to make this a "family" room. Communication prior to staying was great but the room definitely let them down especially for the price. Also a note that these rooms are definately NOT "accessible" rooms - there is absolutely no room to move a wheelchair around between the bed and wall into the "kitchen" area and the bench provided is at standard height and not able to be reached from a seated position. I feel they should remove any mention of "accessible" as while the bathroom has a level entry shower, the mixer cannot be reached from a seated position either .. and there is no shower stool provided. I chose this motel based on the "family" room and accessable feature in the advertising - and it proved to be suitable for neither!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    7
    13
    26
See reviews for
16
12
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Very handy to city bus stop, 15 min walk to Newmarket with supermarket and cinema, 30 - 40min walk to ASB Showgrounds. Buses to or from Auckland city centre very frequent even on public holiday and fare was about $3.20 per adult each way.
Had some confusion during booking as I had a voucher bought from Epsom staff but the 0800 booking number went to the Manukau office. I think there's a bit of "left hand not knowing what the right hand's doing".
However when we arrived (early) the staff were quick off the mark, the only hold up of a mere 10min was the receptionist wanting to be sure housekeeping had finished. The unit was pretty basic, double bed and single, table w. 2 chairs, microwave, toaster, jug, small fridge w. freezer box and clean dishes/cutlery/glasses for the 2 people as booked. No "kitchen" sink though, jug had to be filled from bathroom basin. No dishwashing liquid despite teatowel, but the unit was serviced daily during which time the dishes were done for us!
Beds were very soft but clean, electric blanketed and spare blankets in the closet. Communal laundry available with coin machines, iron and board available on request (I needed it!)
We especially appreciated that they allowed us to leave our bags in reception on the final day (at our risk) as we'd found more we wanted to see but didn't want to hold up the room. Check out was officially at 10am, we went back and picked up our things at 4pm and were very grateful not to have to drag them with us during the day.
The room could do with some maintenance though. The skirting boards in the bathroom were warping and the paint cracked, the main room had wall shadowing from a previous position of the bed etc and we had to hold the "full flush" button on the loo sometimes.
But we were after an affordable place close enough to our event venue and in that light we'll be back.

Room Tip: We were in the middle of the building, ground floor and I wonder if the far end may have been quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amchitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Beds good but basic - cheap. The location is good apart from the SH1 noise.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbytommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Had to attend an event at the ASB show grounds and was in auckland for 3 nights. I could have stayed at a place 3 times the price I paid for my stay there and got all the comforts of pool, bar, etc but all I needed was a nice and clean room. Average condition motel, free parking for motel guests, tea/coffee included in tariff

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Booked a superior family suite to find that it was two very small studio rooms, each with a Queen and single bed which were so close they were almost touching, with a connecting door, that if you opened it covered one of the TVs. Booked two nights and paid on arrival....stay was so miserable with two young children that we cut our holiday short and came home after one night....no refund offered. Shower fitting fell off in our hand and was unusable, decor very tired and a bit grubby, kitchen facilities a laugh....manager offered us the key to another room to use the shower there. Ruined what was planned to be a great fun family weekend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiKirstie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Epsom hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
2.0 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Devereux Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.0 mi away
Epsom Motel
Epsom Motel
#1 of 8 in Epsom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland Newmarket Motel
Auckland Newmarket Motel
#58 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayland Epsom Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayland Epsom Motel

Property: Rayland Epsom Motel
Address: 98 Great South Road | Newmarket, Epsom 1051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Epsom
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rayland Epsom Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rayland Epsom Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayland Epsom Motel Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing