We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't touch the walls! ”

Rayland Epsom Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rayland Epsom Motel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Bit of a strange setup with the reception is at another property. Walls were filthy. .shower grotty..Although good pressure and heat. Beds pulled up not at all made...seemed clean. Noisey position. But if you want a cheap place just to put your head and thats it this is ok in that way.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank rockaruni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Rayland Epsom Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Perfectly fine for a 2-night stay. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable room. Driving distance to downtown. Supermarket and post office nearby. Pool under renovation during our visit. Kitchen and laundry facilities were basic, but ok.

Room Tip: If you want stable wifi, make sure you get a room towards either "end" of the corridor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheaB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Under average in most aspects this hotel is cheap and reflects it.a the rooms are scuffed and more than a little shabby. The staff try hard but have a touch of the Fawlty Towers about them. Bur if you are desperate for a place to rest for one night then it will do if there is nothing better on offer.
It is on a cramped site so parking is at a premium.

Room Tip: On a busy road so rooms at the rear are quite.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I booked the 'Superior Family Room" for myself and 3 grandchildren. The kitchenette consisted of a small bench, no sink and no utensils. I complained, and was shown the 'Family Unit' one bedroom with a queen sized bed and two single beds in the lounge, they bought in a fold away bed for the third child. There was a stove but it was so old it was in Farenhight markings rather than Centrigrade, no way of poaching an egg, no cooking utensils at all. The shower was appalling, the hot was cold and vise versa, the shower stall very shabby and marked, felt very old. The paint was peeling off everywhere , the carpet old and stained and badly worn. The whole experience was one of the worst I have ever had in a motel. When I came to pay I was forced to pay the 'superior' room rate because that is what I had booked with no reduction for what was a cheaper unit. Apart from its proximity to the motorway it has nothing to recommend it.
Mary Hackett

Room Tip: Don't use this Motel
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We booked a "Family Superior" room for 4 adults plus a 1 year old. One room had a huge hole in the wall. The nights were still a little chilly - one room had an oil heater, one room had no heater at all. There was One small table with only 2 chairs... definitely not suitable for "family" eating unless especially as this room type was advertised to sleep up to 6. "Kitchenette" advertised was sadly one microwave ... no other cooking utensils, not even a bowl and serving spoon! No dish wash was supplied so had to use bathroom soap and no tea towel to dry the dishes either!. One pillow per person - no spare ones in the room. For all this we paid $175 per night!!! Which was actually more expensive than renting 2 separate rooms - guess they charge for the interconnecting door. It was easy to find, but so are the other accommodation places along this road. Sadly the advertising far exceeded the quality, and had I have seen this room before I paid we would not have stayed. Didn't expect luxury - but some basics are necessary to make this a "family" room. Communication prior to staying was great but the room definitely let them down especially for the price. Also a note that these rooms are definately NOT "accessible" rooms - there is absolutely no room to move a wheelchair around between the bed and wall into the "kitchen" area and the bench provided is at standard height and not able to be reached from a seated position. I feel they should remove any mention of "accessible" as while the bathroom has a level entry shower, the mixer cannot be reached from a seated position either .. and there is no shower stool provided. I chose this motel based on the "family" room and accessable feature in the advertising - and it proved to be suitable for neither!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Very handy to city bus stop, 15 min walk to Newmarket with supermarket and cinema, 30 - 40min walk to ASB Showgrounds. Buses to or from Auckland city centre very frequent even on public holiday and fare was about $3.20 per adult each way.
Had some confusion during booking as I had a voucher bought from Epsom staff but the 0800 booking number went to the Manukau office. I think there's a bit of "left hand not knowing what the right hand's doing".
However when we arrived (early) the staff were quick off the mark, the only hold up of a mere 10min was the receptionist wanting to be sure housekeeping had finished. The unit was pretty basic, double bed and single, table w. 2 chairs, microwave, toaster, jug, small fridge w. freezer box and clean dishes/cutlery/glasses for the 2 people as booked. No "kitchen" sink though, jug had to be filled from bathroom basin. No dishwashing liquid despite teatowel, but the unit was serviced daily during which time the dishes were done for us!
Beds were very soft but clean, electric blanketed and spare blankets in the closet. Communal laundry available with coin machines, iron and board available on request (I needed it!)
We especially appreciated that they allowed us to leave our bags in reception on the final day (at our risk) as we'd found more we wanted to see but didn't want to hold up the room. Check out was officially at 10am, we went back and picked up our things at 4pm and were very grateful not to have to drag them with us during the day.
The room could do with some maintenance though. The skirting boards in the bathroom were warping and the paint cracked, the main room had wall shadowing from a previous position of the bed etc and we had to hold the "full flush" button on the loo sometimes.
But we were after an affordable place close enough to our event venue and in that light we'll be back.

Room Tip: We were in the middle of the building, ground floor and I wonder if the far end may have been quiete...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amchitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Beds good but basic - cheap. The location is good apart from the SH1 noise.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugbytommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
2.0 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland Central
702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#57 of 67 in Auckland Central
94 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
692 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
1.0 mi away
Epsom Motel
Epsom Motel
#1 of 8 in Epsom
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayland Epsom Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayland Epsom Motel

Address: 98 Great South Road | Newmarket, Epsom, Auckland 1051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Epsom
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range: £47 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rayland Epsom Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rayland Epsom Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayland Epsom Motel Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing