We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!! Perfect mountain accommodation”
Review of Auberge de Cassiel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge de Cassiel
Bucks
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What a find!! Perfect mountain accommodation”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Well, thank you Facebook! We needed a single night stay over after a long drive from the UK and before our actual holiday started.

It is situated slightly up the hill from the main town of Aime in a typical mountain village.

We arrived fairly late, with young children and needed food. The welcome could not have been more accommodating for all of us. We ate in the restaurant and the food (including children's menu) was fantastic.

The rooms were traditional, clean and very comfortable. Their own website has a much better description than booking.com.

We loved it here and only wished our stay was for more nights.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hayleyrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We went for Sunday lunch in a hot July day. Everyone was on the terrace including two French parties of 13 and 15 celebrating a baptism and a birthday. The welcome was warm and friendly and the service was excellent - but the food - superb! We had the set 29 euro menu and enjoyed everything. Interesting dishes, beautifully cooked and presented. Cakes and sparklers came out for the parties and we all sang happy birthday in English and French. We spent three hours there over lunch and could not believe how relaxed it was, far more like a house party than a restaurant.
Our only regret is that it is 600 miles away from home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romney Marsh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Having been coming here for several years for summer lunches I really should have entered a review before because this is one of the most outstanding restaurants I have ever eaten in. Situated in picturesque alpine scenery, surrounded by beautiful wild flowers, you couldn't wish for a better setting. My motto is: the smaller the menu, the better the food. This is absolutely true for L'Auberge de Cassiel, order the menu du jour and enjoy the traditional French food that is fresh and enticing, this restaurant stands out in a country and region that prides itself on its restaurant standards. I cannot wait to return next summer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We chose to stay here en route to Belle Plagne having driven from Glasgow. The accomodation was excellent - our family room had a lovely mezzanine area with two beds for our girls and was very tastefully furnished in a traditional regional style. There was lots of space and a well equipped kitchen area. Absolutely First Class.

The restaurant was delightful, again decorated in traditional style. The owners were fantastic hosts and the food was really excellent. As well as the included breakfast, we had a lovely dinner - the food and service were both super and good value too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayr, scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Situated on a twisty road up the hill from Aime and not that easy to find...but well worth the effort of getting there.
The dining room and also the 2 bedrooms we booked were beautifully decorated, comfortable and warm. Unfortunately we arrived too late for a hot dinner but the owners put together an excellent soup and terrine meal for us. Breakfast was a simple, fresh and nicely presented continental offering.
The auberge was quiet when we stayed and the owners deserve to be much busier. Strongly recommend you give it a try.
Even if you decide not to stay overnight, book dinner as I'm sure it will be excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cote-d'Aime
1.0 mi away
Homtel La Tourmaline
Homtel La Tourmaline
#13 of 33 in Aime
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.0 mi away
Araucaria Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Ferme Blanche
La Ferme Blanche
#5 of 9 in Aime
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Les Marm'hotes
Les Marm'hotes
#1 of 4 in La Cote-d'Aime
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalet Le Paradou
Chalet Le Paradou
#2 of 4 in La Cote-d'Aime
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Cassiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Cassiel

Property: Auberge de Cassiel
Address: | Le Villard de la Côte d’Aime, 73210 La Cote-d'Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > La Cote-d'Aime
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Cote-d'Aime
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge de Cassiel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing