We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst food ever”
Review of Jolly Crofters

Jolly Crofters
Ranked #40 of 69 Restaurants in Horwich
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worst food ever”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Not been here for quite a while and heard it had changed owners, I wish we hadn't bothered. Went for lunch with my daughter and little granddaughter, I had chilli con carne, part of the top had been nuked in a microwave and stirred in!! That should have been a sign and I should have sent it back, dry microwaveable rice, horrid.. My daughter had a rack of ribs, they were so dry she couldn't finish them. Little girl wanted pizza, it said cheese and tomato pizza bread so out it comes and it was a French stick cut in half with what appeared to be tinned chopped tomatoes with ONIONS in and melted cheddar on top... Disgusting and what three year old likes lumps of onion! No taste at all so she had chips for lunch. We asked for garlic bread as a side, again out comes the French stick cut in half , no taste of garlic and loads of melted cheddar on again.
I did say about the onions but just got "oh sorry" and walked away!!
Lesson learned £30 down the drain.
They need to find a chef or give it up altogether, would not recommend this pub to anyone.....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Berny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    47
    27
    26
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wow - What has happened to this place ?”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Not been for quite a time due to to be honest the average food and little atmosphere , but went in last Friday and everything was superb.
Of course, food is important and it was great, but just as important was the excellent atmosphere the new managers have created, very friendly staff and nice people around .
Thanks for a great evening, I think we have found our new favourite pub ;)
Cheers guys

P.s. - They also have Sky Sports, so somewhere nice to watch the football too (at last).

Peter

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bez1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a massive improvement”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Weekend in the jolly crofters has improved 100 %
With the new landlords bringing a new life into the pub
The atmosphere is much more pleasant the bar staff
Are more friendlier than they have ever been, Friday and Saturday nights are packed out much different than
The last regime when it was dreary and empty
It has become a local run by locals.
Also the food is improved the servers are on the ball
What a massive change now the deadwood has gone
Full marks

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Visit”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely evening with friends on Fri night, atmosphere seems much better since there are new managers, it's more like a pub now that serves great food. We all had the Cod & Chips and I've got to say it was delicious, the cod was huge. We knew some of the regulars in that night and they all said how much everything had improved. Well done the Jolly Crofters, great food, great staff and a great night had by all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Sej T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our party of 8 arrived on a Monday evening and, having read some terrible reviews, did not really know what to expect. We were greeted by a friendly smile and, following a brief re-arrangement of a couple of tables, were courteously shown to our seats.

We got a round of drinks in then proceeded to place our order for food with all but two of us electing to have main course and sweet.

The food arrived within 30 minutes which we did not consider to be a long wait considering the size of our party and variety of the order. Everything was hot (& I do not mean lukewarm), well presented and delivered as ordered. The only slight criticism was that we struggled to tell the difference between a medium steak and a well done one. Even so, the steaks were good and all the food was duly consumed.

Six of our party went on to have desserts. Again, the food arrived after only a brief delay and as ordered. Once again, everything was well presented and delivered by a friendly face.

I for one am glad that I went to Ye Jolly Crofters. Good food, friendly staff and a pleasant atmosphere. Well worth another visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jolly Crofters also viewed

 

Been to Jolly Crofters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing