We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning lodge in a charming town”
other travellers have booked this property
Lochside on a winters morning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lochside on a winters morning
Lodge on the shore front Lodge sits on the shore
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Lochside on a winters morning
Lodge on the shore front
Lodge sits on the shore
View from the verandah
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dalavich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christoph...
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning lodge in a charming town”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just back from spending a long weekend in the lodge. Absolutely delighted with not just the lodge but the location. The lodge itself is very comfortable and warm with the best bit being the bedroom upstairs overlooking the loch, it makes for a spectacular sunrise view on a clear morning! The lodge opens out onto decking overlooking a small piece of private land and fire pit. The hot tub was great!!!! It took a little longer than expected to get it to temperature the first time but it retains the heat pretty well so it was much easier the rest of the weekend. If I have one tip it would be to make absolute certain you get the fire right under the chimney (I don't think I did this the first time!). The town itself is very quaint and full of vet friendly people. We particularly enjoyed the cafe / shop which we had lunch in and was a saviour for extra alcohol and fire lighters!! We also had dinner in the loch view grill which all very pleasant also. All in all we will definitely be back and would highly recommend.

Thanks

Chris

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back anytime:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzimc75...
Knaresborough
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunsets”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fab family stay in this great loch side lodge, perfectly place to tour the rest of the area and then come back to relax in the hot tub on the decking and enjoy the peaceful lakeside views, Very comfortable beds!! and we had everything we needed, the fridge freezer was perfect size for us to take food with us and keep it frozen and fresh. We saw red squirrels on our journey towards ford which was perfect as it had a baby with it too :)) lots of wildlife and most of all relaxing evenings by the lake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and to see a baby squirrel must have been fabulous:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A2446MRst...
Kelso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just stunning”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my husband stayed at this log cabin for a long weekend and it was everything we hoped for. Very comfortable, peaceful with the most beautiful view over the loch and sat in hot tub on the balcony was very relaxing, especially with a glass of wine. Recommend the cafe in the village for great cake and coffee. We are already planning our next trip back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view over the loch, especially at sunrise
Liked least: The midges
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holsy2016
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing, dirty and unkempt!”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked and paid for a week at this property but actually ended up leaving early due to the many issues we had there. Very different to what was advertised and what we expected. On arrival the inside of the cabin was filthy, it was generally dirty everywhere and quite clearly not been cleaned for our arrival, or for a long time for that matter. There was still dirty cutlery that had just been put back in the cupboards and the floors/rugs and area of seating were so dirty we had to spend our first morning cleaning and making it satisfactory to try to start to enjoy our holiday there. The grounds of the property has two different areas, one small fenced area which I thought would be suitable for my dogs to safely use and one 'private' area of garden between the cabin and the loch which was not so private as we had wandering members of the general public in the garden on a daily basis as there is no fence to separate the garden from public use. The fenced area that I wanted to use for my dogs to safely enjoy was so over grown my dogs and myself were not even able to access it as the weeds were so high. The property was not well kept at all and the cabins garden are very different to what is advertised. This should not be advertised as a luxury cabin as it is far from that! These matters were addressed with the property owner who clearly did not want to take on board these issues and explained she wanted a 'natural rustic wild feel' but this was not what was advertised and the feel was not rustic and wild more unkempt and dirty!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
We always appreciate feedback however on this particular occasion we do not feel this review is honest, fair or justified as the cabins are cleaned and maintained to a high standard. This guest did not contact us until 2 weeks after leaving the lodge and then their complaint centred around another holiday makers dog and the length of grass which was not to their liking. We responded saying that there was nothing we could do 2 weeks after the event about another holiday makers dog and indeed the park is advertised as dog friendly and this complainant had brought her own dogs on holiday with her. We also do not advertise a secure private dog area and we also noted that we did not want a manicured garden as this is a highland log cabin in natural surroundings. At no time did the guest mention a filthy cabin and the only thing they mentioned, 2 weeks after leaving, were some marks on a rug (which was clean) which we had already noted and replaced by the time they had contacted us. We also pointed out that if they did not feel the lodge was up to standard on arrival they should have contacted us immediately as we always ensure all guests have our full contact details.

We would not normally respond in such detail to such a review however on this occasion we feel that the guest is being unreasonable and this review does not reflect what they said in their private emails to us and in our response to them.

We value our guests and their opinions highly and welcome constructive feedback but this review is neither constructive, timely or in our opinion (and other reviewers opinions on this site) fair.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would go Back in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My Fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights, along with my best Friend and her partner, and it was bliss! The cabin itself was stunning and so clean and comfortable inside. The large fridge was a perfect size for all our bottles of fizz we took up. :-)
The hot tub totally made our trip! Nothing better than sitting outside till the early hours. Though take midge spray, and citronella candles! You'll be sorry if you don't.
We hired a boat for a day, which was nice. There is a tiny island not far from the cabin with castle ruins on (Innis Chonnel Island).. so glad the lady from the boat hire told us to go. It was great to have a nose around and be the only four people on the island!
I would thoroughly recommend this cabin as somewhere to visit. We would definitely go back at some point.

Thank you :-) xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Midges (But that can't be helped. :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we have recently started putting midge packs in the cabin with incense sticks and midge spray to keep the little devils away. Thankfully it only take a little bit of a breeze to blow them away:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: very sensitive smoke alarms.. not a bad thing though!!!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for the review. It is always so lovely to hear what guests think:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leonie D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Lodge Amazing views to wake up to”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in Lochside Lodge with my partner and another couple. The drive to the lodge is just stunning and when you arrive and see the amazing view you think it can't get any better. With 3 bedrooms there was plenty of room and the major issue we had was deciding which of us got to stay in the gorgeous mezzanine bedroom. We won and woke to stunning views over the loch. The lodge itself is warm, cosy and very well equipped. Perfect location, perfect lodge. We WILL be back:-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing