We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolphin Bay Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Village(Sam Roi Yot)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kannika Resort(Prachuap Khiri Khan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varinah Resort(Sam Roi Yot)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
243
134
39
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
134
39
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdolphin bayhua hinplay roomall agesyoung kidsgreat for familieswhole familynew friendssmall kidslots of spacenational parkplace is greatrooms are basicbreakfast buffet iskids lovehermit crabsbedroom suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is a great family resort. They have many cottages, family living spaces and regular rooms. The pool is a good size and the restaurant is outstanding. I live in Thailand and they have the most delicious assortment of Thai and Western Cuisine. Usually it is one or the other but they nailed them both. We were there with a large group and the staff was so patient and accommodating. They spoke English well and put up with our attempts at Thai. The owner even helped us out by shuttling us places in the van. He and his wife are very kind and easy to talk to. It is located right on the beach with an amazing view. The area is nice and quiet with a strip of restaurants down the beach front.

Room Tip: Cottages from 15 to 25 (?) are not right in front of the pool so they are a little quieter but the pool is only open from 8-8 so the evening is peaceful anyhow.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTroyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed with our 18 months old Grandson, and our Daughter in Law. It was everything we could have wanted for a family holidayoopposite a very safe beach, lovely views and boats to Monkey Island. Two swimming pools, one with slide, lovely large grassed play area with swings, playhouse and lots of beach toys. We swam, played ball games, took trips out by bicycle, had wonderful food in the restaurant and were very impressed with the friendly staff. Our 2 bed apartment was comfortable, quiet and had a small kitchen and sitting room. We had a large outdoor patio with tables and chairs Everything was very clean. The accommodation is not luxury but is perfect for families and we really couldn't fault this place, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area are more private. Our downstairs room close to the car park was very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2atravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We just spent another great few days at Dolphin Bay. This is one of the few resorts which really work for families. It is by no means deluxe and a bit more like summer camp for families but everyone has a good time.

The two pools are well designed so that kids and adults can enjoy themselves equally. The deeper pool is good for swimming lengths and the slide and kids pool gets a lot of use. Parents are able to relax with their children in the pool. Being able to sit at tables in the restaurant in the shade and enjoy ice cream is a good break for all.

The breakfast is basic and a little more variety would be nice. We ate dinner every night at the resort and the food is excellent and good value. Being able to see the beach from the restaurant is very pleasant. The beach is clean and quiet and we enjoyed walking by the water. There is a grilled chicken seller a little ways up the beach with good food for lunch on the beach.

The spa is great for massage and very reasonably priced. A foot massage on the deck with palm trees in the distance and natural bird sounds is relaxing. For families there are many activities including bicycling, ping pong, kayaking etc. and the prices are very reasonable.

The rooms are basic but comfortable. The little deck with table and chairs is handy. The beds are ok - neither great nor terrible. With all the fresh air and exercise you sleep well.

Overall, a good spot for families.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NepeanCanteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Pranburi is a district in the northern part of Prachuap Khiri Khan and it is only about a 40 kilometer drive south of Hua Hin. It is a very quiet location with lovely unspoiled beaches and the perfect place for exploring Sam Roi Yok National Park and the Pranburi Forest Park which has a spectacular mangrove forest where the river flows into the ocean.

We stayed at the Dolphin Bay Resort which is surrounded by Khao Sam Yot National Park which was used for many scenes from the movie The Killing Fields and a beautiful 5 kilometer beach. The bay is also a breeding ground for 20 pink and grey dolphins. Our budget for hotels when we are on the road is normally around 1000baht a night, but Dolphin Bay looked so nice we happily paid 1590baht a night for a bungalow with sea and pool views.

The only bad thing was they charge 1000baht per 24 hrs for internet!

We stayed here for a couple of nights and had decided we would stay longer until we woke up on our 2nd morning to what sounded like hundreds of children, looked out the window and sure enough a couple of busloads of families had arrived during the night, both pools were full of kids.

That’s it, we are out of here, but the hotel is fantastic for families, there are playgrounds, bike hire, pool tables, water slide, beautiful beaches etc and food and drinks at the restaurant are very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkkwin, Owner at Dolphin Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Cathy and Gary, thank you very much for your review. To keep you inform, we are now offering free internet. Hope to see you again. Agathe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I spent a long week in the warm comfort of Dolphin Bay alone with my son for Chinese New Year 2013, and was supported by wonderful staff, clued-in owners and plenty of great parents-guests. While relaxing and enjoying my son and my holidays, he was having a fantastic time with little friends in the clean pool, at the convenient and varied restaurant, and on the nearby beach.
While I'm writing, he's telling me again how much he liked the food, the place and the people he met there.
The room was simple but perfectly adapted to this daddy-time holidays, and the chance of getting a massage or a run whenever possible made it a relaxing and healthy holidays for me too.
I'll go back anytime, and probably sooner than expected as it's the best escape from Beijing where we can all find what we need when living in this mega-city.

Room Tip: Get the best room available at the time of your stay. They're all spacious, but i wish i had managed to book the 1 bed room flat or bigger even. Once in Dolphin Bay, you don't leave so make the room your base.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henri_de_branche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews