We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good and Some Bad”
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Sam Roi Yot
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Some Good and Some Bad”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The idea here is great. This is a FAMILY focused resort with lots and lots of kids. The average age when we were there was about 10 years old. So it was easy for our kids (3 and 4) to find friends and play all day. Good stuff. The staff are really great. They understand the needs of families, they were all great with the kids, all helpful and friendly. The resort has done a great job in matching up the kind of staff you need to work well with a family resort.

The price is great. The rooms are not expensive at all. They are pretty basic- but that goes hand in hand with the family focus. No worries about breaking anything valuable. The bed is good, they are happy to add extra bedding if needed, bathroom is decent, the little TV works great, the AC is good, and the rooms are clean. Keep your expectations reasonable (it's not really a 'resort'), and you will be fine staying here.

Great beach right out front and the area is pretty much free of the wandering barkers and sellers you find in other areas. The whole area feels very safe. Super for families.

A couple of things bring down the rating. First there are some things that really need to be renovated, replaced or redesigned. The swimming pool is the centrepiece of activity for the kids, but there are lots of tiles missing on the bottom causing some tears and scrapped feet and the slide is looking old. A little maintenance and maybe adding another slide would help quite a bit.

They have a selection of bikes with kid seats to rent. The area is pretty flat so this is a great thing to have. But most of the bikes are broken in some way. A few minutes after starting a ride with my son I looked back to find he had part of his safety seat in his hands. The staff are upfront about this and will tell you not to use the 'old' bikes. But really, they need to have them at least not falling apart.

Next there is the problem of the indoor playroom. As a family focused resort you would think they would have a decent space for this. But the playroom is little more than a small dark storeroom. It is not supervised, there are things in it that are old and really filthy (a huge bear) or just plan dangerous (industrial shelving). Given the amount of kids they have staying here, there is no excuse for this. In the rain or the heat of mid-day a much better, larger, safer, cleaner and more creative space is desperately needed.

Finally I need to mention the food. Morning breakfast is OK. Quite a limited election, but OK. The rest of the menu however is bad. Really really bad. The pizza is made with a sweet sauce and a crust of cardboard. My kids would not eat it. The grilled cheese sandwiches are soaked in so much butter you can't tell where the bread ends and the cheese begins. My kids would not eat that either. The french fries are done with so much oil they are hard to eat. Even the Thai dishes were dismal. I love Masaman Curry- but what I got was a bowl of watery grey liquid with onions. Just unbelievably bad all around. By the second day we were already looking for other options and we were not alone. About the only thing we ate here after the first day was the ice cream (which, thank goodness, was not made at the resort)

Fortunately there are other good places to eat nearby. A very nice pizza place 3 minute walk, some great Thai places (where I had a fantastic Masaman Curry) and even a little outdoor pub with a Mexican menu. But this just makes it even harder to understand what they are doing in the kitchen at Dolphin Bay.

There is Wifi access which works OK most of the time, but don't come here thinking you can do heavy work over the internet while the kids play. This was fine for us, but others were clearly frustrated at the dropped connections. Also worth noting that the rooms have AC and the little dark playroom has AC-but nowhere else. There is no common area or eating area with AC. Again that was fine for us- but really emphasis the need to dramatically expand that indoor playroom.

So great family atmosphere, good price, decent room, good beach and great staff. But some seriously under maintained amenities and a really dreadful kitchen bring the rating down.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    122
    38
    7
    2
See reviews for
262
35
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The resort was great to relax after a 30 hours flying! Room is clean, but bathroom is NOT that good, water pressure goes stronger to weak during all bath time, annoying to take a shower!
Old Towels available...

Staff was great, Pool area great, massage service was great, breakfast great, hotel just in front of the sea!
Resort highly recommended to children, they can have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This Hotel is fantastic! We really enjoyed staying at Dolphin Bay Resort.
I would highly recommend you to book at Dolphin Bay Resort...
A great menu with a great choice of different dishes (Thai food, French food and Western food)
If there is a better run small hotel anywhere I'd be very surprised.
Very nice place for the kids "pools, playroom and playground" and the beach in front of hotel so easy to go with a kids very lovely...
Peace and Quiet!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natsumi0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I've been in Thailand for a few years, and this resort is really one of the most amazing value for money! Beautiful location on a quiet beach, two swimming pools and the rooms are way above my expectation for the price. I had a very relaxing long week-end with a group a friends and their kids. The restaurant serves a good variety of food, including a good choice of Western food. Very lively atmosphere, with kids enjoying the vintage mini-bus, pop-corn, kids room, kids pool… I will go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have to say that the staff are great at the hotel and very friendly. The food however is not so great. The breakfast buffet is very limited with not great coffee or juice. The kids seemed to have a great time. If you need to do any work, this is not the place, as only your rooms have air conditioning. It it one of the better resorts and it's location is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agvbkk, Owner at Dolphin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Chad S, Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight feedback.
We are glad your kids got a great time. The satisfaction of our guests has highest priority.

We know that a successful start into the day is often supported by a sufficient breakfast. Therefore we do our best to serve our guests a rich and diverse breakfast together with the will to keep up the high quality of our food. Would you like to reveal which hot food you missed on our breakfast buffet? We are looking forward to your feedback as we try to improve steadily.

All our room are equipped with a desk and free internet and to be able to work during your stay I would have recommend you an upper floor room overlooking the garden. We totally agreed that's the one on the pool could be noisy.

We are glad you found the location fantastic

Looking forward to hearing from you and having the opportunity to welcoming you again,
Best regards, Agathe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you are looking for privacy I would not suggest this resort.Its a family resort .kids all around .We had a good time .The beach is just across the street.The pool has a small slide and pool side restaurant serves good pizzas.The hotel staff are helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 931sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agvbkk, Owner at Dolphin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear 931Sunny, thank you very much for your 4 stars review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you rightly mentioned our resort is one of the top family resort in Thailand by TripAdvisor and kids love it. For more privacy, I will suggest our villa in the back with separated pools. but also to visit us, outside the school holidays calendar. Looking forward to welcome you again. Agathe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday. Normally we enjoy camping holidays in France, going to Thailand was a special treat for us. Reasons to choose this hotel: The location is beautiful and underdeveloped, This is an excellent 3 star hotel, very clean with good facilities and a well designed resort. Top Tip: I emailed the hotel in advance and requested a taxi to meet us at the airport on arrival. They sent a luxury minivan, no hassle for us and a very stress free way to get to resort.

Not much in the area, a few small hotels along the deserted beach. Closet major shopping centre is Hua Hin one hour in a car. Mostly ex-pat families with young children. Very child friendly hotel design and services. Everything is quiet at 10pm! So if you are looking for lively night light this is not the place for you.

Restaurant over looks the pool so you can relax and have a drink while watching the children play. The price of the food is a good price and reflect star rating. We were very happy and ate there most meals. Air conditioned play room for kids, play ground, separate children's and adult's swimming pool, grass area for football.

We would recommend the following trips: Monkey island; half day to local national park; night market at Hua Hin; cycling to local Thai market (2 kms away) and Hutsadin Elephant Sanctuary (one hour in the car).

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor 3 bed apartment and shared a private pool and jacuzzi with the apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agvbkk, Owner at Dolphin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Karen G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dolphin Bay Resort. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a lovely time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Agathe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sam Roi Yot
3.0 mi away
Oriental Beach Pearl Resort
Oriental Beach Pearl Resort
#3 of 12 in Sam Roi Yot
238 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Green Beach Resort
The Green Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Sam Roi Yot
51 reviews
9.9 mi away
Evason Hua Hin
Evason Hua Hin
#1 of 21 in Pranburi
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Privacy Beach Resort & Spa
The Privacy Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Sam Roi Yot
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Inn
Long Beach Inn
#22 of 136 in Hua Hin
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lawana Beach Resort
Lawana Beach Resort
#12 of 21 in Pranburi
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort

Property: Dolphin Bay Resort
Address: 227 Moo 4, Phu Noi, Sam Roi Yot 77120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Sam Roi Yot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sam Roi Yot
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sam Roi Yot
#1 Spa Hotel in Sam Roi Yot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dolphin Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 38km from Hua Hin, far from crowded beaches, bright neon lights, and noisy tourist hangouts typical of Thailand's other vacation destinations, Dolphin Bay Resort lies on a spectacular, unspoiled 5km beach with panoramic views of the bay, nestled between mountain peaks and dotted with lush tropical islands.Enjoy our comfortable accommodations, friendly, laid-back but efficient service and great recreational facilities at affordable prices in a family-friendly atmosphere of relaxed Thai beach hotel hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing