We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Sam Roi Yot
Reviewed 8 August 2014

All thanks to those at Dolphin Bay. We stayed there for four weeks and loved it. This was our third visit to the resort and we were not disappointed at all. We thought four weeks would be too long their so we organised to do Muay Thai training every other day for three of the weeks. This also was excellent and a great thing to do as a family. Our boys, 6 and 9 enjoyed the musy thai immensely and the guys at 301 were excellent trainers. We are by no means fit and the guys there did a really good job keeping us going and pushing us a little bit more each time. Highly recommend.

The resort itself is excellently run and is perfect for kids. The pools are full of them all day long and there seems a never ending stream of kids arriving. The kids basically play all day whilst parents sit back and relax. The massage service is also excellent according to my wife!

The food is good and definitely good value. There are other restaurants along the beach but the hotel restaurant has very clean kitchens and staff who are excellent with the kids so we did pretty much just eat there.

I can highly recommend dolphin bay to anyone who has young kids.

Room Tip: I would go for a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank robe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

A nice place for a family especially for foreigners . The room was good, service was very good. The restaurant staff and the hotel staff was cooperative and nice. The meals was also OK. The rooms are tidy and clean. The bathroom was spacious. Instruction were all in english, so as the staff. The TV channels are also kids friendly and mostly in english. The playing area for children was nice. Games like football and a couple more was available. Pool table scoccer game was also available. Kids room was OK. There were a lot of kids story books too. The meals were good and not much expensive. The best thing was the pool water slide that my son enjoyed right in front of the beach. Even elders can take the pool water slide. Overall it was Awesome.

Room Tip: with kids the rooms on the ground floor are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waqar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This is the place if you have kids. There is so much for kids to do which means parents can just sit back and relax! Movie night, water slide, fuss ball, pool table and outdoor jungle gym. The staff is very nice and the restaurant is outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have had several great holidays at the Dolphin Bay resort and have by now stayed in most of the different room types. This is a great option for families with good sized apartments available as well as interconnecting rooms. The food on offer is fine, it is reasonably priced and there is wide selection of kids meals available. It is great to be able to sit at the restaurant and have the kids in the pool just a few metres away. This is a very easy family holiday and there are some nice local attractions as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CarmelNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a great time. Dolphin Bay Resort is perfect for families! Most of the staff speak good English, and we did not have any communication problems. Any complaints about the room are pretty minor. The 2br apartment was spacious, clean, and functional. Just don't expect the Holiday Inn or Novotel.

The hotel restaurant is entirely outdoors and has some seating within 2 meters of the pool with waterproof seats. Kids could swim then come eat when hungry without having to change. I wish more family friendly places had this feature!!

One of the other nice things was that they have an activity book with lots of ideas of things to see and do. If needed, they will arrange the boat or driver, and the fees are clearly stated. They also provided great directions for our driver.

The sea was not good to swim in. Probably because of the rainy season. Very brown and lots of jellyfish. But the kids enjoyed finding shells along shore.

My daughter left a cute trinket bracelet in the room and the owner contacted me to arrange its return!!

We'd return here again, and would highly recommend it to other families with younger (~10 years old or less)


  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We absolutely love Staying at Dolphin Bay! It is at least our 10th time! It is very Family Friendly and very Peaceful. Close enough to Hua Hinn so that if you want to go you can, but far enough away so that you don't have the hustle and bustle of the city right near you!! It had quite a few updates from the last time we were there! new playground area for the kids, Playroom and movie room for the kids with plenty of kid friendly movie choices!

You can also Hire a boat to go out to Monkey Island and to the National park where you can Hike up to some caves! Intense Hike but beautiful View!!

My main suggestion is to expand the breakfast Buffet a bit! Maybe add french toast or pancakes! Could use the Day old bread from the breakfast the day before!

You do have to cross the street to get to the beach, but the street is not very busy!

Over all Great place!! We will be back!!

Room Tip: With a family of five we usually try and stay in the two bedroom apt! Great for the kids! All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I have been coming here at weekends for the past year with not a complaint worth mentioning. The kids loved it and so did the wife and I . But now the sour taste in your mouth when you receive the bill with 200 baht per person for use of the pool . Aparrently new owners decision !! Absolutely pathetic sit there spending at least 1000 baht on food and drink each and then the extra charge . I have loved Thailand for over 10 years and have seen some silly stuff and outrageous charges but there has to come a time when enough is enough . I will post a copy of the bill showing the fee shortly . Comical !! Alternatiive is Palm Hills sports club 18,000 for the family for a year including tennis snooker gymm table tennis etc . the use of the pool for my family at this place ecuates to 292,000 baht .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank nathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agvbkk, Owner at Dolphin Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Nathan C. I am sorry that our resort didn't meet your expectation. After looking at the copy of your receipt, your party of 7 was billed 2195 baht total for the lunch. You were charged 7 pool access with 50% discount for 700 baht. Dolphin Bay Resort outside guest pool policy is as follow : 100 baht on the week day, 200 baht on weekend. A 50% discount is applied when having lunch in our restaurant (1 discount every 300 baht spent).

with regards,
Agathe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sam Roi Yot
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Inn
Long Beach Inn
#25 of 144 in Hua Hin
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Green Beach Resort
The Green Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Sam Roi Yot
56 reviews
3 mi away
Oriental Beach Pearl Resort
Oriental Beach Pearl Resort
#3 of 12 in Sam Roi Yot
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Evason Hua Hin
Evason Hua Hin
#1 of 24 in Pranburi
1,812 reviews
18.8 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
0.4 mi away
The Beach Village
The Beach Village
#2 of 12 in Sam Roi Yot
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort

Address: 227 Moo 4, Phu Noi, Sam Roi Yot 77120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Sam Roi Yot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sam Roi Yot
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sam Roi Yot
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sam Roi Yot
Price Range: £33 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dolphin Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 38km from Hua Hin, far from crowded beaches, bright neon lights, and noisy tourist hangouts typical of Thailand's other vacation destinations, Dolphin Bay Resort lies on a spectacular, unspoiled 5km beach with panoramic views of the bay, nestled between mountain peaks and dotted with lush tropical islands.Enjoy our comfortable accommodations, friendly, laid-back but efficient service and great recreational facilities at affordable prices in a family-friendly atmosphere of relaxed Thai beach hotel hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing