We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Design but....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Noszvaj
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oxigen Hotel & Zen Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Noszvaj
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Design but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Great design but design alone will not make a hotel a great one. I also have to add that this hotel has recently been opened therefore some of my comments might be considered as a some startup hiccups that hopefully will be fixed soon.

On the positive side:
This is a beautifully (re)designed hotel. The materials used are of first class that gives its guests a special impression and makes them feel unique. This to me should be the case with any 4 star hotels...
Anyway, the rooms are nice, the surrounding is beautiful.
The spa is gorgeous too that offers a good size pool, two jacuzzis and a kids pool. It also has several types of saunas, one of which is for kids.
Very kids friendly and family oriented.

On the down side: The bathrooms and the toilets are separate in the rooms and this unfortunately makes both really tight. Even tho I am not an architect but I think that having the two functionalities in one area would have been a better use of space. The wall tiles are still a bot dirty after the renovation an would need a thorough cleaning. I have to say that it does not make the overall impression bad but it is more of a nuance that a 4 star hotel should pay attention to. The toilet seat is cheap plastic, something that stands out from the otherwise high quality materials used throughout the hotel.
This is a wellness hotel but it does not have a gym (in my opinion that's a big miss).
The breakfast and dinner, both from a selection and the quality aspects, are on the lower side. I would have hoped that such a nice hotel will also put a bit more emphasis on the culinary experience.
The hotel personnel are nice and kind but they still need to grow up to the task to give service of a hotel of this level.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank b_Bid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    29
    21
    22
    8
See reviews for
58
20
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Debrecen, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I was with my girlfriend in this hotel. The reception was very helpful. The wellness was very good, 3 sauna, jacuzzi, swimmpool etc. Our room was beautiful, clean and modern. The restaurant was fantastic with good foods. For families with kids is No. 1 hotel, but for everybody is a good deal. 10/10.

Room Tip: 10/10 the full hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsolt1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopron, Hungary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We have tested more hotel with family. We have 1 child (8 years old). Our room was a small and not practice. But the pools and food with kids is very good. The have organised more program for kids so they save for us some freetime to use the pools and wellness. Price and quality is ok. I would preferr for families with kids.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glaskatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Really good concept as a family hotel and very good location in the forest. However lack of good service except spa staff. The reception was not helpful, we asked for the baby equipment was not in the room. Asked for the baby phone which finally was not working properly and the answer was they could not help. No bath for kids more than 6 months as the only bath they have is for small babies. The cleaning was not done properly - floor was not clean, used glasses were not changed in our room. The food was cold and waiters were not prepared to serve in time however they were really polite.

But as I mentioned the concept is great so another service approach will help a lot :-) We loved the kinder pools and the lots of toys at the pool area, kinder garden, the option to eat at the garden.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PVKrisztina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Having tried quite a few excellent Hungarian 4-start hotels, our expectations were high. Too high maybe?

The plus:
+ great interior design
+ middle-of-the-forest setting
+ baby-friendly: nursing rooms, many families with babies, pool specially for babies
+ restaurant staff very polite

The minus:
- cricketts (yeah, those bugs singing at night) get inside the hotel
- one got inside our room; staff's response was: "you can get another room, but sorry we can't do anything else about it" -- what kind of attitude is this?? They did not even try to remove the (very loud) crickett from our room.
- TV remote control stopped working at 9PM; they could not change batteries until the morning!
- food is okay-ish
- raisins in the cereal; modern hotels should think of people who dislike raisins
- spa is small and cold! We like to lie flat and relax enjoying a book - here we start to freeze within minutes
- restaurant is not prepared for full-house: missing glasses, frozen bread, late fillup was pretty common. In general, opt for breakfast-only and go dine out (see other reviews of mine ;)
- ground-floor rooms have no AC!
- our room had the bathroom sink inside the room... kinda weird
- smell of staff smoking outside came into our room :(

Room Tip: Try 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r1tch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Noszvaj hotels

Szentendre
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights with one 9 month old kid in this Japanese styled hotel and we loved it.

There are no signs of the difficulties that the staff or the hotel used to have (mentioned on the previous reviews).

The front desk, the waiters, cleaning staff, simply everybody was friendly and helpful.

Food was excellent; typical Hungarian dishes. Just delicious.

Interior and the environment were amazing.
Room is big enough with very comfortable bed.
Although our room was facing towards the main road, we heard no noise.
We just loved the place and certainly will come back again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomisan_HU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were staying 2 nights here with mostly very good experiences. Beatiful surrounding and hotel area, continuously improving facilities and services, helpful staff, full-featured spa, various and delicious foods.
The only issue where the hotel should enhance its skills is the administration and reception services.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noszvaj
4.8 mi away
Bambara Hotel
Bambara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Felsotarkany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Residence Ozon Conference & Wellness Hotel
4.6 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Palota
Hunguest Hotel Palota
#1 of 1 in Lillafured
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
13.8 mi away
La Contessa Castle Hotel
La Contessa Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Szilvasvarad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Panorama Hotel Noszvaj
Panorama Hotel Noszvaj
#3 of 3 in Noszvaj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxigen Hotel & Zen Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxigen Hotel & Zen Spa

Property: Oxigen Hotel & Zen Spa
Address: Szomolyai ut, Noszvaj 3325, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Noszvaj
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Noszvaj
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxigen Hotel & Zen Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing