We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Walnut Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master/ Family Bedroom an additional single bed is tooked under the single bed sleeping 4 guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Master/ Family Bedroom an additional single bed is tooked under the single bed sleeping 4 guests
Ensuite Shower Room to the master/ family bedroom ,towels are provided
Seperate Shower Room adjacent to the twin bedroom ,all towels are provided
Picnic benches are provided on the gravelled courtyard area
Fully equipment kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen with large range cooker
Dinning room with seating for 10 guests
Four Star Gold Award property
Beautiful rural views from the barn
Twin bedroom with separate shower room adjacent
Comfortable lounge with plenty of seating ,Freeview TV DVD player Ipod dock
Dogs warmly welcome by prior arrangement
Master /family bedroom with the additional single bed made up
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We recently stayed in Walnut barn which was lovely. Beautiful house, decor lovely and immaculate.
Unfortunately though we wouldnt return for the following reasons;
- not enough towels. We were only given one bath and one face towel for the week. As there were four of us in the house this was not enough and we had to ask for more. To be fair Sally was great and did provide us with another set of towels but only for her daughter to take away the first set which we had washed...back to square one with only having one set of towels though!!
- no offence to the owners but it really put us off when they came to do gardening during our stay. we felt like we didnt want to go out into the garden during this time as they were busy planting etc.
- finally, unfortunately we left a memory stick at the barn, completely our fault and asked for it to be returned and for cost of postage to be taken off our deposit. We expected this to be a couple of pounds however really disappointed when we were advised the standard policy rate for returning goods of £20 was going to be applied. Not good customer service at all. The item was the size of a paper clip and would cost no more than a couple of pounds. Regardless of standard policy, if Walnut Barn would like to having returning guests, these sort of policies should be reviewed and reconsidered!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect location, fabulous accomodation, wonderful host!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Sally was amazing, gave us loads of info and made us extremely welcome. The property was perfect for 8 attending a wedding at Stubton Hall. The location is beautiful, tranquil and so close to supermarkets and cash machine for everything you run out of. The cottage is of an exceptional standard and very clean, we had meals together in an evening and a relaxing glass of wine in front of the TV. WiFi was a real bonus for getting wedding pics on FB.

The best bit was the how realxed we felt as soon as we arrived, the worst bit was leaving!

Thanks Sally for looking after us and making the sofa bed up was a major bonus after a long day, and aching feet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was beautiful
Liked least: No Hot Tub
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbridgman
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful long weekend away, near Sherwood Forest”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Extended a warm welcome from arrival, beautifully presented accommodation suitable for friends and family. We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend away in picturesque settings! Plenty to do in the surrounding area with children. Highly recommend and with thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: presentation and thought placed into the property on arrival
Liked least: the sofa isn't the most comfortable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderin...
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Hired this barn for a hen do. It is beautifully furnished and really well equipped, and decorated to a very high standard. The place was spotless when we arrived and the owners had thought of making it comfortable to the last detail. Cannot fault this place at all. We all came from far and wide and there was plenty of parking around the barn. Would definitely stay here again, one of the best cottages our little gang has hired!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Little touches - toiletries in bathroom, reed diffuser
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing