We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Class Accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Walnut Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master/ Family Bedroom an additional single bed is tooked under the single bed sleeping 4 guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Master/ Family Bedroom an additional single bed is tooked under the single bed sleeping 4 guests
Ensuite Shower Room to the master/ family bedroom ,towels are provided
Seperate Shower Room adjacent to the twin bedroom ,all towels are provided
Picnic benches are provided on the gravelled courtyard area
Fully equipment kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen with large range cooker
Dinning room with seating for 10 guests
Four Star Gold Award property
Beautiful rural views from the barn
Twin bedroom with separate shower room adjacent
Comfortable lounge with plenty of seating ,Freeview TV DVD player Ipod dock
Dogs warmly welcome by prior arrangement
Master /family bedroom with the additional single bed made up
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SarahDerr...
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First Class Accomodation”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just stayed at Walnut Barn for a week and could not fault it. The welcome pack provided by Sally was a lovely touch when we arrived The whole place was spotless. There was so much to do in the surrounding areas and our 7 year old daughter was kept fully entertained for the whole week. It was lovely to return to the 'Barn' at the end of a busy day and just relax is such lovely surroundings. We really can't wait to return.
Derren, Sarah & Lexi

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of accomodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneRuth
pudsey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Hen Weekend”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Thank you Sally for allowing us to use your beautiful properties ( we also used the adjoining barn 'The Piggery'). There was everything you could possibly need. Very well equipped.There were 9 of us on the hen weekend & the 3 oldies were in "The Piggery". The younger end stayed in "Walnut Barn". Nothing was too much trouble & Sally was just a phone call away if required. Thanks again!!!!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rach608
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic.”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a fantastic time at the Walnut Barn and the Piggery and would definitely stay there again. It had absolutely everything we needed and was all to a really high standard. There was plenty of space and all in great surroundings, within easy access of a lot of tourist attractions and activities. And all really good value for money. Sally was lovely, had great communication with us and was very welcoming - thank you! It helped to make my hen weekend even more special. Would certainly recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Thank you so very much for your kind review ,your group of ladies were lovely I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay hopefully we may see some of you again soon.I hope you all have a wonderful wedding xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsshortl...
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Group of 4”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Arrived at walnut barn .
Nice clean and tidy .
Settee was impossible to sit on , but owner has stated she is awaiting a new one .
Tap dripping drove us nuts , broken spindle on stairs . Was supposed to have been fixed during our stay , my mum nearly fell whilst holding on to the stairs the whole thing came off in her hand (she is disabled)

Barn is situated on a main road and to the rear Is a train route .
A little noisy , we prefer to be away from all roads and trains .
The property is modern contemporary clean and tidy .
There are lots of rules that you have to abide by .
Stripping beds before leaving ,emptying dishwasher ,sorting rubbish and there is also a bond . Cheques are kind of obsolete so had to pay cash .
Would I stay again ? No , simply because it's not rural enough for us .
But on the whole lovely property .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaynorTub...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definately will be coming back to stay again”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in March 2014

These barns are really finished off to a high standard, and we was all pleasantly surprised at what was included, even down to a washing machine with some washing tablets to wash our towels if got dirty. Sally & her daugher's was very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them when we had a question about the surrounding area, or place they knew was good value to eat out. I would highly recommend this property or the property next door to anyone wishing to visit this area ... Thanks Sally & family we had a fantastic stay xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We recently stayed in Walnut barn which was lovely. Beautiful house, decor lovely and immaculate.
Unfortunately though we wouldnt return for the following reasons;
- not enough towels. We were only given one bath and one face towel for the week. As there were four of us in the house this was not enough and we had to ask for more. To be fair Sally was great and did provide us with another set of towels but only for her daughter to take away the first set which we had washed...back to square one with only having one set of towels though!!
- no offence to the owners but it really put us off when they came to do gardening during our stay. we felt like we didnt want to go out into the garden during this time as they were busy planting etc.
- finally, unfortunately we left a memory stick at the barn, completely our fault and asked for it to be returned and for cost of postage to be taken off our deposit. We expected this to be a couple of pounds however really disappointed when we were advised the standard policy rate for returning goods of £20 was going to be applied. Not good customer service at all. The item was the size of a paper clip and would cost no more than a couple of pounds. Regardless of standard policy, if Walnut Barn would like to having returning guests, these sort of policies should be reviewed and reconsidered!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect location, fabulous accomodation, wonderful host!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Sally was amazing, gave us loads of info and made us extremely welcome. The property was perfect for 8 attending a wedding at Stubton Hall. The location is beautiful, tranquil and so close to supermarkets and cash machine for everything you run out of. The cottage is of an exceptional standard and very clean, we had meals together in an evening and a relaxing glass of wine in front of the TV. WiFi was a real bonus for getting wedding pics on FB.

The best bit was the how realxed we felt as soon as we arrived, the worst bit was leaving!

Thanks Sally for looking after us and making the sofa bed up was a major bonus after a long day, and aching feet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was beautiful
Liked least: No Hot Tub
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing