We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“prefect - just perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Woodlands Cottage

External view of Woodlands Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External view of Woodlands Cottage
External view of the entrance to Woodlands Cottage. View of the front entrance to Woodlands Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
External view of Woodlands Cottage
External view of the entrance to Woodlands Cottage.
View of the front entrance to Woodlands Cottage.
Dining area.
Living area with wooden floor and underfloor heating.
Dining area with underfloor heating and granite tiles.
Kitchen with granite tiles and underfloor heating.
One side of the Main bedroom with a king sized bed.
Other side of the Main bedroom.
Walk in Power Shower
Twin room
Twin room.
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Bathroom - Bath, sink, toilet and walk in shower
External view of Woodlands Cottage
Garden area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
pancina
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“prefect - just perfect”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot recommend this place highly enough! The cottage is located in beautiful countryside with lots of charming old farmhouses and green open spaces. We stayed for a week and explored just about every little village and lane that was close by. The accommodation was spacious and the furnishings of a very high standard - and solid too. Nothing worse than flimsy dining chairs but none of that here! The bed was the most comfortable one I have had the pleasure to sleep in and that is from over 20 years of travelling. The bed linen and towels were good quality. There were plenty of flat surfaces - maybe this is not so important to some people but to me it was bliss to have so much room to sort my purchases from nearby Lincoln and Newark antiques fairs before packing them up to send home! Nothing was too much trouble for Dean and Louise who live in the adjacent building. I can confidently predict that if you book to stay here, you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable bed, lots of space and peaceful surroundings
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C
1 review
“Really nice cottage, excellent location”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We highly recommend this cottage. It is a spacious good quality barn conversion with a comfortable bed in a very secure location in an old farmyard which is on the edge of a charming village, South Clifton, but surrounded by open country. Lincoln, with it's ancient and awe-inspiring 11th century castle and cathedral are only 15 minutes away, and Newark-on-trent with it's beautiful old market square and ruined castle even closer, only 10 minutes away.
Louise and Dean were very friendly and helpful and made our stay a real pleasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space, good quality renovation
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazieres de Touraine
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review of our cottage, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We always value feed-back from our guests and have put some additional utensils and plastic dinnerware in the cottage. We are happy to accommodate additional requirements for our guests if we are able to do so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jim L
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best value cottage ever !!!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The photos do not do this barn conversion justice (and the rental price for August had us worried that there might be something wrong )
Our fears were put to rest as soon as we arrived. The long sweeping, private driveway let us to a beautifully restored set of farm buildings set amongst the the oversized front lawn and patio areas.
We were met by Louise, who showed us round and set us immediately at ease spending time answering all our questions ( the whole of Louise's family were lovely and treated us as VIP guests)
Our accommodation was spotlessly clean, very spacious with comfy beds also very modern. It's also very peaceful with the only noise coming from my 8 & 5 year old. Our children were never bored as Louise had left games and a crate of toy animals for them to play with. We also played football on the (more or less full sized pitch) on the front lawn, played basked ball and we had to drag them off of the trampoline in the evening
There aren't any local shops ( there is a pub within walking distance in the picturesque village) but a short drive away, near Lincoln (15 minutes) are all the main supermarkets.
We went somewhere everyday (Lincoln , Nottingham , Skegness) as well as Rand Farm and Sundown Adventureland all of which kept us busy and were all very nice. Our favourite ( weirdly) was the 2 hours we spent at Sherwood Railway it was like going back to the 70,s and the people that run it obviously do it for love not profit.
On the whole we had a great time here. We have stay in allot of Cottages4u & Englishcountrycottages, this was the first time we have tried Holiday Lettings and this was easily the best value

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Price
Liked least: Could have done with a few more items in kitchen and the directions should have said 'nicest place in the village ' as we honestly thought we were at the wrong place
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2013
It was truly a pleasure to have you and your family to stay. I'm so glad that you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. It is greatly appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harasiscu...
Nairn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely people made a very pleasant stay in a clean and well presented property.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This barn was exactly as described in the ad. It was clean, well presented and very spacious. We selected it for location near to family, but it would be lovely for a holiday get away with nearby picturesque cities like Lincoln and Nottingham. The proprietors, on arrival, were very welcoming and though out our stay ensured we had all we needed. They also encouraged my three children (aged 7 to 15) to use their garden and toys, which was absolutely brilliant. It's a fairly new holiday let and did have a few niggles. For example, it would have been nice to have a micro-wave, ironing board and iron. On a plus side, great beds with plenty of bedding and a powerful shower.
I would still highly recommend this property and wish the owners every success,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Use of family's garden facilities, including trampoline etc
Liked least: Positioning of mains fuse box, in twin room above bed.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
As we are new to holiday letting, we greatly appreciate feedback from our guests. We have now put a microwave, an iron and an ironing board into the property as we want to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it, kids liked the football pitch, trampoline, basketball, chickens & parrots
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Aug 2013
Thank you for your comments.It was a pleasure having you to stay as our guests. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dolorscal...
Gava, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review woodlands cottage. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing