We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Millgate House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grange Hotel(Newark-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Newark Hotel(Newark-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Grantham A1(Grantham)(Great Value!)
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
54
87
48
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
87
48
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspelham streetcar parkthe ground floortown centreriverside walkone way systemroom was largegood sizetoastnight porterfull englishlovely hotelwould stay againbath showermarket squarenewark castlenext morning
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Reasonably quietly located within minutes on the town's centre, the Millgate House provided more than adequate accommodation and facilities for our 9 night stay in late April. A gated, safe haven for our rental car a nice bar which was sadly underused while the adjacent restaurant provides an excellent full breakfast daily and a reasonable choice of evening meals from Monday to Saturday.
Reception is "manned" 24 hours by the ever cheerful Sharon (the manager) and Wendy until the night porter takes over at 10pm.
Rooms are ranged over 2 floors (no lift) and are of a good size and quite well furnished including a couple of useful easy chairs. Bathrooms have all the usual and both are always kept clean and tidy. Be aware that some ground floor rooms overlook the car park and those nearer the bar/restaurant area may suffer from some evening noise from smokers outside.
Wifi is available for a small charge and newspapers are available near reception while there is also, the signs said, a solarium and conference room for those that need it.
Newark, located where two Roman roads crossed, has a wealth of interesting features, coaching inns by the score and a castle that Cromwell knocked about a bit! All these within 5 minutes on foot.
Would I stay again? Yes!

Room Tip: Be aware that some ground floor rooms may suffer a little more noise
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotspur70011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

the hotel is located in a back street but had adequate secure parking.
the reception is adjacent to the eating area and bar the whole area is clean and tidy Menu looked interesting and boasted that the could provide any food requested if given 48 hours notice!
my room I am sure was recently refurbed and was lovely again spotless
I had a good nights sleep then an adequate breakfast.
the 3 lady staff I met were friendly happy and helpful!
Hopefully I wont need to go to Newark again but if the Hotel could be moved I would use it!

Room Tip: Ask for a nice one
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed here for four nights during the week and found it quite pleasant. Rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet, restaurant food was good quality at reasonable prices although breakfast could only be described as average. The two ladies who seem to do the bulk of the serving were polite and friendly but do tend to have a laid back, no rush attitude.
If you fancy a curry in the area I would recommend "Ashers" Indian restaurant about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlugandRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I spent a very pleasant weekend in this hotel made all the better by a very good staff attitude. The welcome was very warming by Sharon and Wendy and any information we needed on the area was readily available with their local knowledge. The rooms were very cosy and clean with
tea and coffee available all day in the rooms.The breakfasts were very good and served with agood morning grin from Michael.
We enjoyed ourselves here and its my second time in this hotel, I will be back

Room Tip: Look for a room on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin1949186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The Millgate House Hotel is good hotel. Location is excellent and parking is free. Rooms are clean and well furnished. The beds are comfortable and the breakfasts more than adequate. The staff are very pleasant and a stay represents good value for money. Given all this why do I only rate it as average? Because a lack of attention to detail; prevents it from being a very good hotel. I booked an executive room so expected some of those little touches one normally associates with paying a little more, but they were sadly lacking. However, more than that I found cigarette burns in the coverlet and the carpet. OK they could have come from a long time ago but there was an air of cigarette smoke lingering in the room. Still there, after all this time? Lifting the toilet seat revealed peeling veneer and moisture-swollen chipboard. Lying in bed the TV was obscured by the lattice work of the ornate footboard. etc. Suggestions to get a better score? Rigourously enforce the no-smoking in rooms ban. Change the coverlet and when finances allow, recarpet any room where damage is really noticeable. Buy new plastic toilet seats and replace where necessary. Get rid of the pappy, pre-packed and yuk crossants and seve daily fresh bakes - even if purchased from the nearby Asda. But above all, pay attention to the detail in most aspects of the hotel. The owners should send one or two staff to a top hotel for a night to see how its done and get them to lead training sessions on their return.
I will return to the Millgate House when I next go to Newark as finding a more convenient and pleasant place will be hard to achieve, and I hope I will see improvements and change my scores.

Room Tip: I stayed in the modern extension but there is more characterful, older part.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herne848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews