We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Oree des Bois

L'Oree des Bois
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the convivial atmosphere of the l'Oree des Bois, you are able to learn that the accent is put on country values and creativity. Cooking with this subtle mix, Eric Bichon will share his knowledge of flavours, and the importance to emphasize them.
Parcay Les Pins
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Fresh vegetables, with flavour, beautifully prepared and a feast for the eyes as well as the taste buds. Our first visit at lunch time and the perfect end to a busy week. Thank you LOrée des Bois for rising to the occasion and delighting us every time we visit.

A 'must visit' restaurant to add to your list of things to do in the Saumur/Bourgueil area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frenchholiday01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A return visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

First dined at this restaurant in early September 2012 and couldn't wait to return! We were not disappointed when we stayed overnight in May and had another excellent meal in the restaurant, with first class overnight accommodation and a classic French breakfast. Could not fault either the restaurant or the hotel and the only disappointment was that journey times made it impossible for us to go back there on our returne the Uk from the Lot!
A la prochaine!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancophileGalloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fussa, Japan
Level Contributor
241 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Must experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Chef Bichon, although hidden away in a small town on the banks of the Loire, is a culinary giant.
Rarely have we had meals so full of flavor and so visually pleasing! Only a truly talented Chef can bring to the fore every drop of flavor in his ingredients and blend them so very well.
No novice, Chef Bichon regularly teaches international students from top cooking schools and deserves a higher rating than the one he currently enjoys.
All ingredients are locally sourced from growers and farmers in the area and are of the highest quality. The wine list is small but with a very good selections of wines from the area that pair perfectly with the dishes offered. We were lucky being there during a quiet week as we were able to talk to both Chef Bichon and Sabine about the area in general and some points of interest.
Service is relaxed-not fussy,adding to the pleasure of the meal. Treat yourself or someone else
it is definitely worth the trip. I know we will return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prepcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parcay Les Pins
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Oh la la, la la - excellente!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had not been to L'Orée des Bois for some years and can not think why! We've missed out! The 'new' restauranteurs are as good, if not better, than the previous ones from whom we had huge regard.Well worth a visit. Beautifully prepared dishes with some original touches such as a delicious cream of mushroom soup served with the main course in a small bottle, plus straw, reminiscent of school days. However, nothing like school meals for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frenchholiday01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Closed Wednesdays”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This restaurant is closed on Wednesdays, but there is no mention of this on their website. What a shame as we were looking forward to it and, being without a phone on our travels, made the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Oree des Bois also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
 

Been to L'Oree des Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing