We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place to stay and eat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant Au Vieux Moulin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Restaurant Au Vieux Moulin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Graufthal
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charming place to stay and eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We're happy to confirm other favourable reports for this charming hotel-restaurant. The hotel is at the edge of the village by a lake in a small pretty valley. Our room was more than large enough for our needs and equipped to modern standards, with a nice view. There were pleasant sitting areas both inside and outside. The dining room was spacious and airy. The food was excellent. The owners are very friendly and really know their business, running an ideal holiday and gastronomic retreat. We will contrive to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit_Abroad60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
36
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We're in in the region of Saverne, Alsace for a biking Weekend and found this nice little Hotel.

Situated at a small lakke, rooms not very big but ok.
owner are very friendly and helpfull and their Kittchen with local dishes from Norther France is really good.

Price / value is really ok in this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GF_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have stayed several times at the Vieux Moulin en route between the channel and southern Germany. The owners are friendly and welcoming and provide simple but comfortable rooms in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in a quiet valley with a peaceful walking track nearby. We really appreciate this as we travel with our dog and it is an ideal location for us It is a real pleasure to eat in the restaurant, many local specialities and an exceptional standard of cuisine for such a small establishment. This is a regular stopover for us now and we always look forward with pleasure to staying here.

Room Tip: all the rooms are equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FudgeCrangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have stayed here in 2012 and 2013 with our dog. Very dog friendly, Dizzy was allowed in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The food is excellent, the foie gras portions were too big to finish. Delicious food and very good service. Very comfortable room and in the middle of the country near a lake which is good for dog walking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkletoes400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Just a short distance from the A4, this auberge provides an ideal stop after a day's drive. It is in a very peaceful location close to the 'maisons rochers' - the troglodyte houses. we found it ideal as we travel with our dog and there is a quiet path along the river for exercising him. The dog is welcome in the auberge. The rooms are simple but comfortable and very well-prepared and the restaurant is worthy of a much larger establishment. Excellent cuisine and wines served without pretension in a friendly environment. We would highly recommend the auberge and plan to stay there again on our next trip.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NellyHaggan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Found and booked through TripAdvisor as it was close to the route we had planned across Europe.
Well worth a detour for the peaceful countryside setting with pleasant forest walks from the hotel which our dog appreciated. We were there on a Monday evening when the restaurant is only open to residents of the hotel so it was probably even quieter because of that.
Our doubts that the dinner might be lacking due to the closed night were soon put aside as the husband and wife owners, who are also the chef and hostess served us and the other guests a delicious dinner in great style. They were also very welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast was OK although the croissants which are often a highlight were rather dry and over cooked.
A short walk into the village and you can see the unusual "Maisons des Rochers" houses built into the cliff face which are now open as a visitor attraction.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

A good off the beaten track spot to stay on our way back from Italy to England - quiet, rural, lovely setting in contrast to the motorway. Well received by owners. Comfortable, clean and good value room - although bed rather short and narrow for two. Food fine, but unless you are very hungry no need to have entrée and main course.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with windows on two sides and a view of the pond - recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graufthal
3.7 mi away
La Clairiere
La Clairiere
#1 of 3 in La Petite Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.7 mi away
Silence Hotel Auberge Imsthal
Silence Hotel Auberge Imsthal
#3 of 3 in La Petite Pierre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel des Vosges
Hotel des Vosges
#2 of 3 in La Petite Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Logis Hotel Notre-Dame
Logis Hotel Notre-Dame
#1 of 1 in Danne-et-Quatre-Vents
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Auberge des Mesanges
18.1 mi away
Hotel Le Moulin
Hotel Le Moulin
#1 of 1 in Gundershoffen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Au Vieux Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Au Vieux Moulin

Property: Hotel Restaurant Au Vieux Moulin
Address: 7 rue du Vieux Moulin, 67320 Graufthal, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Graufthal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Graufthal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Au Vieux Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing