We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Arunachala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arunachala
Ranked #3 of 21 Tiruvannamalai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had stayed in a Standard AC room on this property on 05/05/2014 with my wife.
The hotel is at a great location - just a few meters from the Main Entrance of the Temple.
Good clean room and toilet with a courteous and helpful staff. Value for money for Senior retired persons like us. Veg restaurant in the basement, though reasonably clean and considerate could not help in serving a Veg Jain dish for dinner - maybe language difficulty.
The negative points -
1. Fresh Towels in the room were full of dust. Flimsy reasoning by front desk.
2. Filthy bucket in a king size toilet with no provision for keeping the bath soap.
3. Clean but torn bed sheet was a sore to eye.
4. Poor response of mails by staff.

But very considerate and Highly Courteous MD. I wont mind staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASHOKMAHESHWARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_bubblez, Owner at Hotel Arunachala, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.
I have made note of the following issues:
1. The restaurant in the basement is under lease and is not under our control. We are in the process of opening our own restaurant and café in the near future. Hopefully we would be able to customize food for our guests eventually.
2. In the event of an unresponsive staff, I urge you to inform the manager or feel free to talk to me as I am around most of the time. I would have been glad to change the room and make sure you stay was pleasant. Only in the event of the hotel being fully booked we would have been unable to change into another room, however, we could still replace or change the sheets, the towels & the bucket.
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Arunachala Tiruvannamalai in the very near future.

Best regards,

Raghavendran Karthikeyan
Manager / Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    44
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
18
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
369 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Rooms and even bathrooms are so big you feel like staying in a hall. But the tariffs are reasonable and affordable . That too when you compare the location of the hotel very near to the famous and ancient temple of God Arunachaeswara. There is a restaurant that serves good food . But the management lacks supervision as no water is kept or the phone are not working.

Room Tip: Prefer the proximity to your destination.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_bubblez, Owner at Hotel Arunachala, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.
I hope you could be clearer about the water issue. I sincerely apologize if the management was not responsive over the phone. I have discussed the issue with my team and the front office staff. I assure you of better service next time you visit Hotel Arunachala.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Arunachala Tiruvannamalai in the near future.

Best regards,

Raghavendran Karthikeyan
Manager / Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I would give it 5 stars, not in comparison with the quality or luxury of a five star hotel, but because it does exactly what is expected ! I seriously couldn’t think of anything to complain.
This is my second trip to Thiruvannamalai for girivalam, the previous time, I stayed at Hotel Ashreya and I decided that I should get closer to the Rajagopuram. Believe me, it can’t get closer than this. :D
It is hardly about 50m from the Rajagopuram from where the girivalam starts. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the towels were clean, bathroom was spacious and clean, however the toiletries were basic, shampoo was missing. The AC worked well and the mattress was comfortable. We had a good sleep after the 14KM walk (girivalam) around the Arunachala Hill.
There is a restaurant inside the hotel complex and it is called Sri Arul Jyothi. The tiffin items were good.
The person at the reception was helpful and good at his job. I did the booking on phone and I was provided a reservation number. I did not have to pay while I booked. There was no problem in getting a room when I arrived. In fact, they called me twice to confirm that I was travelling as planned. Truly professional !
I have actually made an advance booking for my next visit on the full-moon day on May 14th 2014.
Would certainly recommend it to others !
IMPORTANT: I wish the Hotel authorities took measures to get a cover for the elevator fan as soon as possible. If anyone carries their kid into the elevator, it is a disaster waiting to happen. The possibility of the child reaching out to the fan blades and injuring the finger is very high.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshreedhaaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_bubblez, Owner at Hotel Arunachala, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

On an important note, we have indeed covered the lift fan as per your observations. Do let us know in whatever way we could to improve to help us serve you better.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Arunachala Tiruvannamalai in the very near future.

Best regards,

Raghavendran Karthikeyan
Manager / Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is nice. Located right opposite to the Raja Gopuram of Annamalaiyar Temple, it is in the prime location of Tiruvannamalai.

Easy to check in, get ready and leave for your darshan/ girivalam and return there. There is car parking available right in the Hotel compound and it is a good thing because you cannot find parking space for your car in such a prime location.

The rooms are neat and clean and very roomy and spacious. The AC is very effective too. The bathroom-restroom is also vast and spacious, was given to us in a neat and clean state. The towel and bedding were also good. Soap was provided. There is a wooden wardrobe, in case your stay is over one day and you need to hang a few clothes.

The service was fairly good. They helped with our bags and the check-in was quick (took only 5 minutes). The booking was very easy too, they had taken my booking on the phone. However, they did not send any sms or e-mail confirmation of the same - which made me call again after two days and re-confirm my booking.

The hotel downstairs is also decent and starts giving coffee from 5:30 am.

The only drawback of the prime location is the very crowded and narrow lane that we must use to leave the hotel. My car got a little scratch at the side from a maneuvering mishap.

Overall - a recommended hotel for families who want to go to Tiruvannamalai and have darshan at the temple.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balaji B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_bubblez, Owner at Hotel Arunachala, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.
The hotel is located in the heart of the town and abutting the road that leads to the main entrance of the Arunachaleshwar temple and hence crowded through the day & sometimes the night as well. We have an in house valet to make sure that the guests do not have to hassle with maneuvering their vehicles anymore.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Arunachala Tiruvannamalai in the very near future.

Best regards,

Raghavendran Karthikeyan
Manager / Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
275 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I would easily give this hotel 20 more stars after they overcome a few challenges. Great owner with a staff that needs a little more seasoning. Would not hesitate to stay here again. Rooms aren't quite what the picture shows but they are of a modern decor (although the furniture is not very functional) and it is very clean. Right outside a spectacular temple and great restaurant 3 doors down

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_bubblez, Owner at Hotel Arunachala, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Arunachala Tiruvannamalai in the very near future.

Best regards,

Raghavendran Karthikeyan
Manager / Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

What an amazing location, literally steps away from the main temple and a 50rupee ride to the Ramana ashram. I had a deluxe suite which was clean and comfortable, albeit pretty spartan. The staff was helpful, and the Restaraunt below was fine.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_bubblez, Owner at Hotel Arunachala, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Arunachala Tiruvannamalai in the very near future.

Best regards,

Raghavendran Karthikeyan
Manager / Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Arunachala has comfortable rooms next to the temple entrance. The marble floor makes it look like a business hotel. We stayed in an A/C room with an excellent and spacious ensuite bathroom. Service was quite good too. Unfortunately it was quite noisy. The breakfast in the adjacent restaurant is not recommended at all, we got sick afterwards (the only time this happened to us in India). But the hotel itself is very good and probably the best option in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_bubblez, Owner at Hotel Arunachala, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

I have noted that the service was not to your entire satisfaction and rest assure that we are constantly striving for improvement. The restaurant in the basement is under lease and hence quality & management of food is not under our control. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We are working towards opening our own restaurant & café in the near future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Arunachala Tiruvannamalai.

Best regards,

Raghavendran Karthikeyan
Manager / Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiruvannamalai
1.1 mi away
Arpanaa
Arpanaa
#2 of 5 in Tiruvannamalai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sparsa Thiruvannamalai
Sparsa Thiruvannamalai
#1 of 5 in Tiruvannamalai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arunai Anantha Resort
Arunai Anantha Resort
#3 of 5 in Tiruvannamalai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sai Murugan Lodge
Sai Murugan Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tiruvannamalai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Himalayaa
Hotel Himalayaa
#1 of 2 in Thiruvannamalai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramkrishna Hotel
Ramkrishna Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tiruvannamalai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arunachala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arunachala

Property: Hotel Arunachala
Address: Vada Sannathi Street, Tiruvannamalai 606601, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Tiruvannamalai District > Tiruvannamalai
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Tiruvannamalai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is located right outside the MAIN (east) entrance of the Arunachaleshwar temple.Part of the hotel and management is under renovation and up-gradation. Please bear with the management as we continue to strive to being the best possible stay experience at our facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Arunachala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing