We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mirza K

Amazing!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jun 2017via mobile
We spent 1 week here for our honeymoon and it was a week to remember! With friendly staff, tasty food and amazing views! Lots to do on the island - snorkelling, kayaking & a offshore boat for cocktails at sunset!
We had a great time and hope to see you all again soon! A big hello to all our friends on barefoot from Azra and Mirza :)
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 1 Jul 2017
Dear Azra and Mirza, it was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Barefoot Eco Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind comments and warmest regards from all The Barefoot Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£96
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
  • Hotels.com
    £91
  • Agoda.com
    £488
0.3 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£74
Fully refundable
Easy and fast booking
    0.4 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free parking
    Room service
    guest house name board
    £97
    No prepayment needed
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      £97
    • Tripadvisor
      £97
    • eDreams
    0.8 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    • Trip.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £67
    • eDreams
      £71
    0.5 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £704
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      £106
    • StayForLong
      £76
    • Trip.com
    0.0 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    £742
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      £90
    • Agoda.com
      £63
    • StayForLong
    4.0 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    £112
    • Expedia.com
      £137
    • Hotels.com
      £167
    • eDreams
      £112
    6.5 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    £152
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
      £144
    • Hotels.com
      £152
    • ZenHotels.com
      £530
    6.7 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    £51
    • Agoda.com
    8.7 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    £85
    • Agoda.com
    8.8 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    View more hotels in Hanimaadhoo
    Reviews (773)
    Filter reviews
    773 results
    Traveller rating
    583
    135
    37
    9
    9
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    583
    135
    37
    9
    9
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews diving center marine biologist fish italian chef beach front manta rays ice cream inhabited island boat bar beachfront room sea life mosquito spray snorkeling trips diving experience barefoot team sunbeds and umbrellas sandwich
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    105 - 110 of 773 reviews
    Reviewed 17 June 2017

    This hotel offers a unique, relaxing experience, in a natural environment with a focus on conservation and supporting the eco-systems of the Maldives. You'll experience the warm, extremely friendly atmosphere from the moment you arrive. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, who work hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The reception team are outstanding, as are the chefs and waiters. Our housekeeper Asir was an absolute star, I can't praise him enough. The gardeners do a wonderful job looking after the grounds, they always smiled and greeted us as we walked about and they provide fresh produce for the kitchens, with a farm to table philosophy that helps to reduce the hotels carbon footprint. We loved the variety of wild life that you could spot whilst walking around.
    Our beach front room was very spacious, freshly decorated and with comfortable rustic chic furnishings. The bed was huge and the waterfall shower was lovely. We were literally only yards from the lagoon and could hear the surf from our beds. We loved taking our morning coffee down to the beach.
    Best bits:
    Being able to completely relax and unwind and coming away feeling healthier than when we arrived.
    Free gym- we virtually had this to ourselves, it's air conditioned and perfect if you want to keep your fitness up during your stay, with a good range of exercise equipment and weights.
    kayaks- we had so much fun despite being hopeless to begin with.
    Juice bar- try the Maldivian, it is wonderful.
    Marine Biologist- Francesco is so lovely, take one of his trips and listen to his lectures if you can.
    Spa- the Balinese massage, heaven.
    Food- don't miss the Friday night Maldivian buffet, excellent.
    Tip- mosquitos were a bit of a problem despite the gardeners best efforts, we wish we'd taken long trousers or a better bug repellent.

    Date of stay: June 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank sandraH485OT
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

    Dear Sandra, warm greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel and many thanks for posting your detailed, comprehensive and lovely review. Thanks for awarding the warm, extremely friendly atmosphere and our outstanding team always ready to assist our valuable guests with passion and competence. Please come to visit us again! We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 June 2017

    We stayed two weeks at barefoot and we really had a great and relaxing time on this beautiful island.

    Things we liked most:

    - walk around barefoot all day long :o)
    - very friendly and helpful staff everywhere
    - great food; home made pasta and curries, something for every taste. We especially loved the maldivian dinner on friday!!!
    - rooms are very big and clean, and I loved the big sized bed, which suits even tall people like me ;o). More places inside for hanging up wet clothes would be great, especially in the monsoon season.
    - I like the glass bottles for drinking water, which are reused and refilled. When you buy an extra bottle of water at the bar its plastic :o( .
    - the beach is just beautiful; so quiet, a lot of space, enough trees and hammocks to cool down in the shade.
    - For snorkeling its better to join the excursions. But you can also see a view nice fishes close to the beach in the lagoon.
    - the garden is like a paradise! Many palms and other trees and plants. Compliments to the gardener(s)
    - we joined the morning yoga classes every single day. It was a perfect start into the day and motivation to get up early; thank you very much Lindo! Only the mosquitos are a little bit (sometimes very) annoying. Even the mosquito spray failed...
    - the massage was also very nice; a bit painful and relaxing at the same time
    - its great to explore the village, which is actually bigger, then I thought. People are very friendly and its an experience to order something in a local restaurant.
    - the excursions and free snorkeling trips with the dhoni in the afternoon are great,
    - the presentations about sealife in the evenings were very interesting, thank you very much Francesco!
    - we loved the non alcoholic cocktails at the fruit bar, a special thank you to Raja, who spoiled us with his special creations.
    - also the fresh kurumbas are so tasty (and healthy), in my opinion a bit too expensive, as they grow in the garden.
    - the "pirate ship" is a really nice idea, theres a big choice of alcoholic drinks.

    We really enjoyed our stay, the hotel is well organized and there is such a friendly and calm atmosphere. Thank you very much to all staff!

    Greetings from Switzerland
    Antje and Nadia

    Room tip: We stayed in one of the bungalows (I think sea side). Theres only 4 rooms in each bungalow and we liked it to enjoy the view from upstairs.
    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank fortan77
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

    Dear Antje and Nadia, warm greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel and thank you very much for taking time to share your great review on Trip Advisor! We were pleased to read about the well organized hotel, our friendly staff and the relaxing atmosphere. Thank you for awarding our professional marine biologist Francesco, our caring barman Raja, the experienced Indian yoga teacher and our great gardeners who proudly take care of the vegetation, plants and fruits around the resort. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again to create more enchanting memories!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 June 2017

    I just returned from my holiday at the Barefoot Eco Hotel and would like to share how wonderful it was. If you are searching for a relaxed and quiet beach-holiday on a truly magnificient and beautiful island this is your place. From the moment I was welcomed at the airport until I left all staff made sure I had an unforgettable stay. The italian chef an his crew spoil you with wonderful food (make sure to keep some appetite for desserts and ice cream), an alcohol-free drink or espresso at the juice bar afterwards completes your dinner. The massages were just delightful (very strong, just how I like it, but for sure you can also ask for a soft massage), there were daily trips to join (snorkeling by boat complementary every afternoon) either for snorkling or diving or dolphin/manta watching, and there was a complimentary yoga class at the beach every morning (which I didn't join but heard it is very good). The beach and the colour of the sea are simply stunning. Make sure to bring bathing shoes because of the little stones and you will enjoy swimming so much. For those who want to have an alcoholic drink there is a Bar Boat from 6 p.m. (which I never tried, didn't miss alcohol at all). But surely a lovely place for a drink.
    My thanks goes to all members of the staff, also those behind the scenes, for making this a perfect holiday. Special thanks for spoiling me with an upgrade to a Beach Front Room... magnificant view and direct access to the beach within a few steps!
    Victoria

    Room tip: I was tremendously lucky and got an update to a Beach Front Room... stunning view!
    Date of stay: May 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank VictoriaScott
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Gangehi, Direttore at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

    Dear Victoria, warm greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel and thank you for posting such a lovely and detailed review. We were much pleased to read your nice comments regarding the amazing and beautiful holiday you spent with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 May 2017

    We enjoyed our stay at the Barefoot!
    Our holiday started with a nice welcome at the airport on bare feet ;-).

    It was a quiet hotel with nice rooms. No big luxury, but a very pleasant atmosphere!
    Everyone was very friendly and the food is good.

    Special thanks to the people of the diving center, they did a very good job :-)

    This hotel is highly recommended!

    Room tip: Choose a beachfront room!
    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank VEMAPE
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

    Warm greetings from Hanimadhoo and thanks for sharing your great comments with us and the TripAdvisor community! The entire team and I are happy to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at The Barefoot Eco Hotel and you liked the pleasant atmosphere. Thanks for awarding our professional diving center, as well. We do hope to welcome you back soon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

    WARNING: Do not book this hotel WORST holiday ever and it was supposed to be our honeymoon!! What a waste of money!! This is not the 'Maldives' as you imagine just a locals island with a shabby hotel to claim it's paradise, it could have easily be any other beach. It's false advertisement pictures leads you to believe your room is on the beachfront and it's not. You have a jungle bush view that needs chopping back and a walk to the beach front to the dated uncomfortable chairs. I wouldn't bother taking any nice shoes as the paths aren't boarded so they get ruined. There is no kiddy zone/kiddy pool so there are children running around the place causing noise and disruptions. Also it states it has a 'bar' which on arrival you find out is only a juice bar as NO ALCOHOL is served on the island! You have to catch a boat taxi to a bar boat in the sea if you fancy a drink (only opens at 6pm) not great if you suffer from motion sickness! Becareful when you sign the bills as what you sign for isn't what's on your end bill, they are very crafy as they make you sign and add on extra costs/taxes on the final bill at the end. We did argue that what we signed for we are legally abligied to pay for but the hotel were no use nor very good at understanding what we were saying.
    There is no evening entertainment nor music...a few science lesson lectures on the coral/shark..so leave your sleeping tablets at home as this will bore you to sleep.
    Water is only provided in the room, changed morning and evening which we used to brush our teeth. The water is not bottled and its only hearsay that it could be filtered. No other free water is provided, no water machines or complimentary bottles which is disgusting considering how hot the weather gets. This is a health and safety issue, water should be provided for free. If you want any water you have to pay for a bottle(which is securely capped) for $3.50 at their 'bar'.
    The food is extremely poor quality with the same foods brought back out again and again. Food isnt always covered properly as the hard crossaints and jam had flies on them. I cried on day 2 as the food was terrible and there is no where else to eat. We went full board but be warned again breakfast finishes at 9am and dinner isnt open till 8pm which is a long time to go without food.

    The room is very dated, very dirty and very basic. There is no tv/music. Our patio door wouldn't lock and the guy couldn't fix it. Our air-con broke and after a hour of sweltering with no water it was fixed. The room wasn't cleaned properly. We had dead bugs that hadn't been clean, by day 3 we complained and only the one of the bugs we mentioned had been removed.

    Be prepared to lose a hour in timing as this hotel has a different time to the island/Male?!? Which means you have to calculate your flight timings back also if you arrive after 9pm you get no dinner.

    When arriving at Male and when you get your internal flight to the island be warned again. Your hotel package may have a luggage weight, as did ours(30kg) but the internal flight is apparently only 20kg so you end up paying extra baggage costs. My husband who showed them various emails to confirm our luggage weight had to endure a lengthy argument but still had to pay the excess. Also when checking out to leave, this hotel asks for your passports and some stranger takes it to the airport with your luggage to check it in for you. I do not find this a useful service infact I find it a breach of my privacy that someone else has posed as me at the airport and taken my private belongings, that this stranger has had our passports and could have tampered or copied them.

    This holiday was supposed to be our romantic honeymoon, it cost us a lot of money that we saved for and what should have been a magical time. What a waste and what a let down! We both feel so upset and hurt by the whole experience. I have shared my story to warn others not to be fooled into going to this hotel/island. Spend your money elsewhere, we wish we did!

    Date of stay: April 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    7  Thank Sharingiscaring2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

    Sunny greetings from the Maldives! We are very disappointed to read your review because it is totally wrong. You are free to write that you did not like our hotel but you must be fair. The 20 beach front and the 20 ocean view rooms are all in front of the long sandy beach and they face the sea. All room facilities and amenities are very well described in our website along with real pictures. They are cleaned twice a day. Being an eco hotel (born on 2014) we love to keep the lush vegetation. In our website and in all tour operators brochure it is stated that as per Maldivian law we are not allowed to provide alcohol to our guests because we are located on an inhabited island. That's why we can only serve cocktails and wine on Barutheela, the boat bar, which is the best place to enjoy the sunset or stargaze after dinner. In the Maldives you don’t need shoes, especially in a place called The Barefoot! It is clearly mentioned that there are not activities for children, parents must look after them at all the times. Unlimited bottled fresh water (still and sparkling) is provided free of charge at all meals and in all room categories. We serve buffet breakfast (from 8 till 10.30 am), lunch (from 13.00 till 14.30) and dinner (from 20.00 till 21.30). The food is very tasty. Our kitchen team coordinated by an Italian Chef is very professional and proud to serve good and fresh food at all meals. There is a large variety of food. We do have a soft evening entertainment, you cannot expect disco music if you choose our hotel. It seems you did not read any information before booking. Most of the hotels in the Maldives are one hour ahead of Male in order to earn one hour (not to loose it as you wrote). You are the only guests who did not appreciate our special and fast service the day of departure. We always send luggage at the airport before the passengers in order to keep our valuable guests at the hotel longer. We send them at the airport just half an hour before flight departure. You blame us and we cannot accept what you wrote about the bills. What you signed is what we charged and you paid for. You were not be able to spend a nice honeymoon even the place is perfect for that, as you can read from all the other reviews.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews